We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel to visit Quebec City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR to your Saves list
TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   395 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 7X4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel to visit Quebec City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Pros:
- Rooms are spacious with a modern simplistic decor that stands out. The view of Église Saint-Roch is spectacular, we were mesmerized. The window is floor to ceiling (basically the whole exterior wall) and it gives a perfect view of the city, the streets and plaza bellow, and the rooftop gardens and patios on the buildings around. We spent most of our time just people watching or sitting in bed and starring at the cathedral or into the distance at the city.
- Location. Even though it's not very close to old Quebec (20-30 min walk) the location has its own charm. There's a cute little street with bars and boutiques, a plaza with a cathedral, and library right next to the hotel. It feels a bit less touristic and more local than old Quebec city. We also discovered on our last day that you can take the bus from pretty much in front of the hotel right down to Quartier du Petit Champlain, which can save some time if you don't like walking.
- Service. Very professional, kind and helpful.

Cons
- The only thing that jumps in my mind is the lack of a coffee maker in the room. But there are plenty of coffee places around the hotel.
- Parking is a bit pricy ($20/day), but it's the same anywhere in Quebec City. We parked in the library parking lot right next door and saved quiet a bit. And you can also just park on the street until 10AM.
- Might be a bit of a walk (20-30 min) to touristic points of interest in Quebec City. But it's a great way to explore the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Front Office Manager at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Bonjour kitguyy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at the TRYP by Wyndham Quebec Hotel PUR. We are very proud of our hotel location and we are happy to know that you had a pleasant experience. In regards to your comments, I have taken your observations in consideration and noted the concerning department to correct any failure on our part.

We thank you for providing our TripAdivor readers with great information of the hotel and its services. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Quebec City.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    295
    116
    48
    23
See reviews for
102
293
40
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location of this hotel is not convenient if you have kids or are planning on walking most places. To get to the city one has to walk up super steep steps. This walk is very unpleasant especially when we thought the hotel was closer to the old city.

Additionally, we thought there was going to be complimentary breakfast (seeing as we asked when we checked in if there was and the lady said yes) but when we got to breakfast it turned out to be not free and the staff wasn't the friendliest.

Furthermore, if you don't speak French bring a translator with you because most of the hotel staff speak even decent English.

The pool and suana are nice. The rooms are small but clean and it has a nice modern design.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Front Office Manager at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Bonjour Dar Y,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at the hotel. It is disappointing to hear that the location of the Hotel fell short of your expectations. The hotel is located just about 15 minutes of walking distance from the old city, however many alternative are available such as; Taxi service (10$max) , City bus (3.25$/person), taking a vehicle (parking $$) and the Hop on and Hop off bus (34.98$/person for a daily pass). In addition I have taken your comments in regards to the breakfast and language barrier in consideration and we are eager to correct any failure on our part.

We remain fully at your service and look forward to the chance of welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Staff are OK. Reception is tired and cheaply decorated. Not a great first impression. The room is basic. No tea coffee. Cheap decor. Marks and chips in woodwork. Bathroom is nice. The gym is very small and tired. The pool is big and one of the best city hotel pools I have used. Great location.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Front Office Manager at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Djnlowe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at our hotel. It is disappointing to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. The hotel design is based on a minimalist decor, inspired from the beauty of PUR simplicity. We understand that our concept might not please everyone, however the hotel offers all the necessities and services needed for a guest. In regards to your comments, I have noted the concerning department to correct any failure on our part.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel was very swanky and the rooms were very spacious and plush. I would not recommend parking at the hotel however because it is quite pricey. Instead, there is available and free (during weekends) parking on the street around the hotel. The hotel is on rue Saint Joseph which is littered with some great bistros and restaurants (esp. Le Clocher Planche and L'Affaire est Ketchup) and bars like Le Cercle. It is a few minutes from Old Quebec and there is also a transit service (costing 2$) to the Old Town very near the hotel. For fast food options, there is Mia Pasta around the corner too.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Front Office Manager at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Bonjour SMH221211,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at the TRYP by Wyndham Quebec Hotel PUR. We are very proud of our hotel location and we are happy to know that you had a pleasant experience. It is awesome to hear from guests experiences about restaurants and bars around the hotel. We may see that our staff promote interesting attractions. Thank you for sharing these information for our future guests.

We look forward seeing you again on your next trip in here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was the first time I decided to book a hotel through Hotwire. Needless to say, we were on the 17th floor overlooking the city and mountains in the background. It was the most breathtaking view I had ever saw. The pool was great. We always had a swim early in the morning when there was no one up yet. We stayed for 2 days. The room was simple no imenities, but that didn't matter. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The bed was so comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Front Office Manager at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Bonjour Judy B ,


Thank you for submitting this wonderful review of your resent stay at the TRYP by Wyndham Québec hotel PUR. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel view and you had such a great experience.

We thank you for providing our TripAdivor readers with great information of the hotel and its services. It is always a pleasure to hear that people would like to come back.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Quebec city.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The people were friendly and very helpful but the beds were not confortable at all and they give you those baby size pillows. The parking machine also doesnt work all the time so when you have to leave, you have to wait for some one from the desk to let you out.
The view is nice though but just not what you expect.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Front Office Manager at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Bonjour jshshavsbs,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at the hotel PUR. It is disappointing to hear that our Hotel did not live up to your expectations. All of us here take your comments very seriously and we eager to correct any failure on our part.

We remain fully at your service and look forward to the chance of welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at the Tryp hotel for the first 2 nights of a 10-day Eastern Canada road trip. We loved everything about this hotel, from the wonderful, spacious rooms, with minimal yet beautiful decor, to the great swimming pool (we used it in the morning, before breakfast, and again at night before heading out for dinner).

The rooms are extremely clean, the bathrooms have great towels and really nice aveda bath products, in case you're travelling light.

Staff was always friendly and helpful with suggestions.

Restaurant *Table* was inspired cooking....definitely worth a visit even if you aren't staying at the hotel! We ate breakfast there both mornings, and the duck confit, innovative smoothies, caramelized banana crepes....to name just a few....were better than our dinners in the Old City!

Since we are flying out of QC, we will get a chance to try the restaurant for dinner as well...I'm sure we won't be disappointed. In fact, we may just book this place for the last night of our tryp...

Wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Front Office Manager at TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hi dear DM_YYZ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at the TRYP by Wyndham Quebec Hotel PUR. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant experience with us. We are also very proud to become one of the best memories you have from Québec City.
Our restaurant is pretty unique as our cuisine is. It's aways a pleasure to see that our product is appreciated by our guest.

We hope to see you again !

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR

Address: 395 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 7X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above downtown Quebec, Hotel PUR's sleek and sophisticated guest rooms are a lesson in savvy design. All guest rooms are outfitted with select amenities appealing to the business and leisure travelers. Guest rooms feature floor to ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the neo-Gothic Saint Roch Church, Saint Lawrence Seaway, and Orleans Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pur Hotel Quebec City
Pur Quebec City
TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP Quebec Hotel PUR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.