We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Belley in Old Quebec City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel Belley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added L'Hotel Belley to your Saves list
L'Hotel Belley
249 St-Paul St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3W5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
DeLand, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel Belley in Old Quebec City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

Having read about this little hotel on Trip Advisor, we booked a room here and I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was. It reminded me of a stay in Paris, even the train station is magnificent , complete with fountains and we could look out of windows (which actually open onto a tree-lined little boules courtyard) onto folks sipping wine after dinner and playing bocce,or boules to comments from the others at the bar. It is so convenient - we walked everywhere in to the walled area and ate croissants and pressed coffee every morning in the bar/ cafe. I heartily recommend this place and Quebec City for a trip that will stay in your memory forever. PS: We rode via Rial from Montreal and that was a lovely way to get here - you do NOT need a car; we took a small bus tour out to the country side, which included Saint Anne de Beaupre and a stop at a Sugar Shack for bread and maple butter. Everything else is within walking distance of this hotel and we walked from the Train Station (two blocks!).

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
35
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

The Hotel Belley was perfect for a couple visiting Quebec City. This is truly a charming spot at a great price. The lobby bar (now smoke free) was fun, the service friendly, and staying on the second floor we experienced no noise from below (though some street traffic was audible with the windows open). The mattresses were thin, but the rooms were clean and well-serviced each day. The hotel is situated just blocks from the Old City and right next to interesting galleries, shops and restaurants. Nearby parking is convenient and reaonable. Taking into consideration the price of this hotel, it's a gem.

  • Liked — Clean, no frills, great location
  • Disliked — bed
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for the second floor
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2006

This is a very comfortable, small hotel, in a perfect situation just on the edge of the old town in Quebec City - only a few minutes walk from most of the historic attractions.
It now offers non-smoking rooms, and has obviously undergone a recent refurbishment. The room I had was small, but well-equipped with TV, radio, iron and ironing board and a compact shower-room ensuite. Each room has individual air-conditioning (important in Quebec because it can be very humid). Even though the hotel is adjacent to a fairly busy road, there is not much traffic noise. On the ground floor of the property there is a cafe bar which serves breakfast - excellent croissants and coffee, and is not expensive. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is good value for such a central location - my room was just over $100 Canadian, including tax (breakfast is extra).
The only disadvantage is noise from other rooms - this is an old building and walls are not well insulated. You can hear just about every move that's made in the room next door.
Otherwise, a really good choice for an inexpensive stay.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2005

My wife and I just returned from a weeklong vacation to Montreal and Quebec City, and we intended to stay 2 nights at Hotel Belley. Well, that's what we intended anyway. We are non-smokers. Although our 2nd floor room was designated non-smoking, upon arrival we found out that the stairway leading up to the second floor was very smokey. When we opened the room door, stale smoke smell was present in the room. It didn't come as a surprise after we found out the hotel operates a bar on the first floor. The room was clean, pleasantly decorated, and the hotel was in excellent lower-town location, but sadly we only stayed for one night and we had to switch to another hotel for the next night, even though we had already paid for both nights (Hotel Belley makes you pay in full upon check-in).

In summary, I would recommend this hotel if you don't mind smokey rooms. Otherwise, I would highly recommend Hotel des Coutellier instead, which is located right next door to Hotel Belley. The rate is only about $25 more per night at Hotel des Coutellier, but it is worth it since they include free breakfast while Belley doesn't.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2004

We spent three nights at Hotel Belley and could not have found a better spot. Four mornings of their beautiful coffee and croissants were not enough! The hotel is located in a great spot, one can walk anywhere and yet is in an area that remains quiet in the evenings. The room was extremely spacious with lots of character and very clean. One could sit out front on the patio with a beverage and watch the locals play "petoncle". A most enjoyable short holiday and when I return, I hope I'll be able to get a room at the Hotel Belley.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hotel Belley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Belley

Address: 249 St-Paul St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3W5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your L'Hotel Belley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel Belley Quebec/Quebec City
l Hotel Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hotel Belley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.