We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Au Jardin du Gouverneur

Save Saved
You added Hotel Au Jardin du Gouverneur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Au Jardin du Gouverneur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Mont-Carmel St | (Near Laporte), Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A3, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
1 review
“Do not book here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Right from check-in, the hotel clerk was so unbelievably rude. After having travelled for so long and far, his impatience and just utter lack of friendliness was not expected and completely uncalled for. After having to deal with him, we go up to our rooms to find that the single blind in our washroom is broken and won't shut. It just so happened that he came up to our because he gave us the wrong room key When we asked about the blind he told us that someone would be in tomorrow to fix it and for the time being, it would be held down by pins. The next day past and still that wasn't fixed, in fact through our whole stay no one ever came to fix it. Instead what we did find was a massive spider crawling on our floor. GROSS. I was nervous even to get in bed, I have no clue where it came from, I was scared there would be more hiding in the sheets. Suffice to say that I was very happy to leave behind this dirty hotel (more like a motel). Even the hard bread and almost rotting fruit for the continental breakfast couldn't make me stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    2
    4
    8
See reviews for
9
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Argos, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Remember this is a two star hotel. Everything was perfect for the trip for our visit to Quebec City. The breakfast was fresh and the coffee fantastic. The water pressure came and went and the hot was was gone for awhile. Everything was very nice and we had a great stay. The location is perfect so close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is perfect for the following reasons, Great location- close to every attraction ( all within <15 min walk) and very quite. It is clean and well maintained. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. I refer this one to the Frontenac because it is at the same block but much let crowd ( there are only 17 rooms). Enjoyed having breakfast outside at the sidewalk tables. Understood that the washroom is small because this is a small building. I personally didn't mind climb stairs because there is no elevator. For those who are not able to climb up and down maybe book the rooms at the first floor. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting old Quebec. Off site car parking 1 min. walk away is available for about $20 per day. Hair dryer is available a the front desk.

Room Tip: - Ask for rooms on the first floor if you don't like to climb the stairs - Ask the front desk f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

If you expect a 5 star hotel, go right next door to the Fairmont Frontenac and pay 3 times as much. But if you don’t mind “roughing it a little”…which included doing our own extra cleaning, dealing with little water pressure in the shower and on and off hot water, and people above you stomping around…then stay in this charming very old small hotel. Despite the few downsides, the upsides were the great location and great coffee made by Comrad Constantine, the concierge. Constantine was also very friendly and knowledgeable, and helped us resolve most of our issues. I would consider staying there again in the future. It is about 30-45 minutes to the airport, flat fee of $34.25 by taxi.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different sizes and configurations, so I would call first to discuss your options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Blanc, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked online for a hotel in Quebec City, but when we got there the booking had been cancelled because my husband made the booking using my card, and it wasn't accepted. So, 5 minutes before the tourist office closed for the day, we were without a hotel. Then a wonderful lady in the office found us this hotel... and we were extremely happy! Not only was breakfast included in the price, but there was safe parking for our car. And Constantine, the receptionist, was charming and helpful. So all in all, a mistake turned out better than we hoped, and we found a hotel, part of a group, which we will happily use again if we ever have the good fortune to come back to Canada. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast was very good. Also, it is ideally placed for restaurants and sightseeing. I don't know what eastcoastMontreal was on about, because we had coffee making facilities in our room. For value for money, go for it!

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the third floor if you have been sightseeing for three days and have bliste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We may have been a bit spoiled at the B&B la Fontaine a block away (where we stayed for the first 2 nights of our stay) however when we checked out and then checked into this one we could have cried. It is falsely advertised to be included as a B&B. It is not a warm environment whatsoever, unless we are speaking of the temperature of the room. The check in desk is located doen the street, the room is like a 1 star hotel room. Although you can see the housekeepers around I really wonder what they do when they clean the rooms. There was dust so thick on an obvious ledge that is so visible as it is where the exhaust from the poor portable air conditioning unit is.The breakfast is also located at another "B&B" down the block which consisted of toast machine juice and watery coffee. Anyways it was unfortunate we had to experience this but the lovely city and the B&B la Fontaine we stayed at for the 2 nights previous made up for it. This place should be categorized as a Hostel rather than a B&B.

Room Tip: Do not choose this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My mother and I planned to be in Quebec City for Canada Day. Au Jardin du Gouverneur wa in the perfect location for our stay. In the heart of the city, it was easy for my mother to navigate the hills from this location.

Room Tip: we were fortunate to face the quiet park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Au Jardin du Gouverneur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Jardin du Gouverneur

Address: 16 Mont-Carmel St | (Near Laporte), Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Au Jardin du Gouverneur 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Au Jardin du Gouverneur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Au Jardin Du Gouverneur Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Au Jardin du Gouverneur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.