We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not just a hotel - but a really spectacular visitor attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Glace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Glace to your Saves list
Hotel de Glace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9530, rue de la Faune, Quebec City, Quebec G1G 5H9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Kington St Michael, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This is not just a hotel - but a really spectacular visitor attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Looking for something extra to do in Quebec City when you are visiting during the winter?
Then this has to be on your itinerary along with winter activities such as skiing, snow boarding, ice skating and ice fishing, plus the many other usual sight seeing opportunities available in and around the city. A great location as only just outside the City.
We visited during Spring Break and the queues were so long that we came back a few days later - and earlier in the day. The whole site was spectacular, from the themed rooms to the chapel (someone was getting married when we were there!).
We were not residents, but could appreciate what an great experience a stay in the hotel might be like - the bar and spa areas were very appealing!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    65
    10
    3
    9
See reviews for
43
121
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I think the issue that many people have with Hotel de Glace is that the word "hotel" is in the name and as such they expect a hotel-like experience. It is not a hotel experience, much more of a high-end camping one. We had signed up for the option to go snow tubing and snow shoeing, which I would highly recommend, as the additional costs are minimal and both activities are a fun way to pass the time. Snow shoeing can be done 24 hours a day and is a really fun way to explore the grounds (which used to be a zoo!).

I was a bit disappointed with the training that they gave for how to prepare for bed because (1) standing outside the sleeping bag and showing us how to velcro & zip it is a lot easier than doing it from the inside, and (2) they made it seem like you would catch hypothermia and die if any part of your body was even slightly damp... which was not the case at all.

If you enjoy or are comfortable with high-end camping (e.g. cabins, not tents, and a sleeping bag on an air mattress) it is a great experience to stay there. If you are not someone who is interested in sleeping this way, you should still go for a visit - it is a unique and special place, but not a place that you should spend the night.

One last note for those who plan on spending the night - I was exhausted for days after my return. It makes sense. Even though I live in a cold weather climate, as a 21st century person, I spend - at most - an hour in the cold on a daily basis and this was 18 hours of sustained exposure with only a few breaks. Something to keep in mind.

Room Tip: Only sleep there if you are comfortable camping. No need to pay extra for a room upgrade as you spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

They advertise a family ticket for $45, but it is only good for 3 kids 12 and under! We ended up paying more than TWICE AS MUCH: $93 for 2 adults and our children (8, 13, 15 and 16). Absolute rip-off and not worth the money.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

What an amazing place. We went in January when it was still being built. Defiantly worth experiencing once in your life. We went to the bar had our drinks but then it was so cold went to bed. We went to the pavilion first though to warm up and drink some hot chocolate before dashing back to our suite. This is not for everybody, it is COLD. however once we were in our bags it was surprisingly easy to sleep and it was a good sleep. Certainly something to do once, just to say to your friends , oh yeah done that ,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This place is amazing. Ok, everybody uses that word but this hotel really is amazing. It's made out of snow and ice. The snow walls, roof and floor are 3 feet thick. The carvings and theme rooms are beautifully decorated. All the furniture is made of crystal clear ice and illuminated from behind giving you that cozy, igloo, nest-like feeling. Each bed has a 6 inch thick mattress and you'll stay warm and toasty in your sleeping bag. On the down side, the washrooms are far from your bedroom and having to get up in the night to pee might be a problem because it is COLD inside the hotel. You will be given sleeping bags and getting layered up in thermals and hoodies is suggested to keep you warm all night long. There are showers, hot tub and a sauna. The breakfast is served at a cantina-style restaurant onsite but it is not great. However the whole experience of staying in the Ice Hotel is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and really cool (no kidding) if you with family or as a honeymoon couple.

Room Tip: If you're not a party animal and want to retire early, get a room far away from the bar/disco wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here with my husband and another couple on February 22 2014. We had gotten a deal from Groupon that included a free drink at the ice bar and breakfast.

We really enjoyed our stay here, and it was exactly what we expected. We took the last english speaking tour which was worthwhile as they told us some facts about the making of the hotel that were interesting. We had plenty of time after to go grab dinner, take some pictures, and ride the ice slide. We had to attend a meeting that night where they showed us how to use the sleeping bags, and they were pretty easy to use.

The free drink at the ice bar was a nice touch but we did not think it was worth the $$ to purchase the drinks as they are shooter size and $9-$12.50 each.

Hot tubs - excellent- there is an adjustable temperature gauge so we had it at 104 and we were very warm. We went in around 9:30 and it wasn't crowded at all. We also used the sauna which was very hot as well; we only lasted a few minutes in there.

Sleeping - my husband wore thermals. He was able to sleep through the night and said he wasn't cold. I found the sleeping bag to be warm but my nose in particular kept getting cold. I wore thermals as well as a hoodie and that really helped me stay warm, especially my ears. I think without that on I would have been really cold though, so be sure to wear enough layers!

We woke up at 7am and it was very quiet in the hotel. To my surprise the shower area was completely empty, which I had been worried about since there are only 3 showers. Note that the lockers are in the main coed room so plan accordingly. They also keep the locker keys at the desk and you have to ask for it every time you need it.

Breakfast- This was as bad as all the other reviews say: weird eggs benedict, empty crepes, sausage that looked like uncooked hotdogs. They did have home fries that were good so we all ate a plate of that.

Check out my blog: http://get-off-that-couch.blogspot.com for a more detailed review and pictures.

Overall, this is 100% worth doing once!

Room Tip: we had regular rooms 42 and 43 and they were far from the bar and very quiet, so I recommend them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I traveled to Hotel de Glace in late February and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. From the moment we traveled the wooden walkway through to the hotel itself, we knew we were in for a unique experience.

The hotel itself is gorgeous. We had to take a few minutes to marvel at the outer design before heading in, and the art throughout was incredible. We thoroughly enjoyed walking through each of the suites to view the creativity of the people involved with creating the hotel. We also found that the hotel staff were very helpful in teaching us how to maximize our experience. As a once-in-a-lifetime experience, we'd absolutely recommend staying a night.

A few things travelers should be prepared for:

1) As others have mentioned, the hotel is cold. This should be a given, but few people realize it will be colder inside the hotel than out on some days. This was the case when we were there, but we had packed appropriately. You'll need to do the same. Your room will be about 20 degrees F. If you follow the recommendations the hotel gives you for packing when you make your reservation, you'll be fine. In reading the other reviews, it feels like the negative ones were written by the same people who read the recommendations and thought they didn't need to follow them.

2) Food on the campus is limited to a kind of cantina-style setup. For restaurants, you'll want to find a way out of the hotel.

3) Drinks are expensive and small. Keep in mind that you're paying for the experience - this is not a budget-friendly accommodation. That said, keep your eye out for a Groupon. But...

4) The suites are absolutely worth the additional money. We thoroughly enjoyed staying in ours.

I'm sure there's more, but this is the important stuff. If you're not sure you're up for a night in a cold place - though you won't necessarily be cold while you sleep - the Hotel de Glace allows tourists to visit and tour the rooms until 8:00 p.m. One way or another, this is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Go for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Glace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Glace

Address: 9530, rue de la Faune, Quebec City, Quebec G1G 5H9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#35 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de Glace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 minutes from Québec City, the Hotel de Glace is open from January until March. Enter a magical world where snow and ice are transformed into fabulous decors. Come to live a magical night in one of the 36 rooms and suites. Enjoy a cocktail and relax in the exterior hot tubs and sauna. The Hôtel de Glace is a must see attraction to be discovered in family, in couple or between friends this winter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Glace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Glace Hotel
Ice Hotel Quebec
Ice Canada Hotel
Ice Hotel Canada
Ice Hotel Montreal
Hotel De Glace Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Glace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.