We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great half-day trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Glace

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Glace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Glace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9530, rue de la Faune, Quebec City, Quebec G1G 5H9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great half-day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel de glace is super cool. I did not stay the night but had the behind the scenes tour. A bit dry at times but cool to understand how it all pulls together. If you love winter and cold temperatures this is a sight to see. I am more of a summer person but i would definetely consider spending a night for the experience. It is only 10 minutes driving from centre-ville and you get to make your own ice glass.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    61
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
39
114
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sask Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here on Jan 30-2013, it had rained most of the afternoon and was actually cooler inside the hotel than outside. The intricate work and detail that goes into making of this hotel is incredible, pictures do not do it justice at all. We had a dog sledding package but were unable to go dogsledding due to the weather , but the staff at the hotel de Glace and the staff at the Four Seasons Sheraton were fabulous and helpful and they rescheduled it for another day. We recieved unlimited shuttles back and forth from the Four Season Sheraton with our package. The four course meal we recieved with our package was outstanding, we had the Filet Mignon. The breakfast we recieved with the package was served at the four seasons hotel and I must say it was one of the best breakfast I have ever tasted!
We used the hot tubs and the sauna before going to bed, and found that we were actually almost too warm. The only thing was they are not the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on they are very hard, but that is to be expected.
It is definitely worth a visit, I would recommend booking a package and recieving all the perks that go with the package.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodlawn, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Well, mixed feelings about this one- of- a- kind hotel. It is a novelty to stay in an extravagant igloo but a novelty one can do very much without. The work and detail going into creating this ueber igloo can be appreciatet and touring it is great fun. To stay overnight is not so much fun. The adjacent brick and mortar building one registers, changes, showers and eats is more impersonal than a train station hall. The building has no atmosphere whatsoever, it is utter disappointing. One has to prepare for sleeping in mummie sleeping bags and this necessiates locking ones suitcases in lockers. If you forgot something for the night, it means going back and forth between cold and warm. It is a glorified winter camping. The breakfast leaves much to be desired for. One would expect a nice breakfast after a cold and uncomfortable night, but all one gets is a self serve breakfast with plastic cutlery. The rates are very unreasonably high for what the hotel offers. Save your money and only tour the hotel, forget about staying overnight.

Room Tip: Just tour the hotel, don't stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is a must to go and visit! Amazing sculptures and concept! Fun place as well with the slippery dip and bar to enjoy a drink in a frozen glass! Dress well as it is cold but everything is very enjoyable!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went in the evening, which I recommend. It's lit up and becomes very magical. Bundle up...even thought it's only -4C inside, it's damp, which makes it feel colder. Some of the more expensive rooms have wonderful ice carvings. Truly a work of art. The chapel is a great idea for weddings, which we were told they do about 24 each year. Drinks in the ice glass was a neat idea. We were told that we should keep the glass as it melts and therefore makes the glass larger...aka...you can fit more drink refills into them!! Not sure if I would want to sleep there, but definately worth seeing.

Room Tip: Couldn't imagine sleeping here, but I hear that many people do enjoy the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My second time at the HOTEL DE GLACE in Qc.

DO pay the extra to get a special room with a theme. We were lucky to have room 10. The Avalanche ! ouf ! What a place ! Magical ! Candles and Blue lights... and the impression of being in an avalanche.

And DO go in the spa before bed time. It will help you warm up your sleeping bag after. Making the rest of the night warm !! GO GO GO ! I know crazy ! I made the mistake not 2, first time around and the night was cold !

DO go with someone special ! :)

The staff sucked this time around. However, you mostly make the experience yourself so @@##@%3 the staff !

Timing was not good because the hotel wasn't complete. But Hey !

Peace xooxoxox A great experience !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My son and I drove up from Drummondville and had a nice afternoon touring the hotel. Our tour guide, who spoke English, was able to give us a lot of facts about the hotel and he had a great sense of humor. Although we did not stay at the hotel, I would like to go back and spend one night. I think that is a great place to spend the night with a husband/wife/boyfriend/girlfriend. My son and I had a great cup of soup prior to our tour and we also liked trying the maple syrup on a stick! Although it probably goes without saying, you should dress warmly!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Glace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Glace

Address: 9530, rue de la Faune, Quebec City, Quebec G1G 5H9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de Glace 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 minutes from Québec City, the Hotel de Glace is open from January until March. Enter a magical world where snow and ice are transformed into fabulous decors. Come to live a magical night in one of the 36 rooms and suites. Enjoy a cocktail and relax in the exterior hot tubs and sauna. The Hôtel de Glace is a must see attraction to be discovered in family, in couple or between friends this winter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel de Glace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Glace Hotel
Ice Hotel Quebec
Ice Canada Hotel
Ice Hotel Canada
Ice Hotel Montreal
Hotel De Glace Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Glace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.