We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still under construction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Glace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel de Glace to your Saves list
Hotel de Glace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9530, rue de la Faune, Quebec City, Quebec G1G 5H9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Still under construction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were a little disappointed as the place was open but obviously not finished and still a construction zone.

We pre-purchased fast track tickets off the website but when we arrived there is no fast track queue so you still need to queue up.

We promised our little one a ride on the ice slide (as per the hoteldeglace-canada.com website) but it was still being built so that resulted in major disappointment. There were lots of workers running around running power cables and only about half the place is actually open with the rest roped off.

The ice bar, cathedral and all the rooms that were open looked really cool though.

If you are going to stay here then pay the extra for a suite which are superb as the standard rooms are really quite small and ordinary (no decorative ice sculptures or anythings) and would be just like sleeping in a cool room.

Jump on the guided tour too if you get a chance as the guide is very knowledgeable and will answer all the questions you have

Still well worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    86
    18
    6
    11
See reviews for
53
164
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

First of all, bundle up. And I mean, way more than you think you'll need. This place is COLD...and, if you get a wild hair like we did, and find yourself on the ice slide, you'll want some extra padding because a frozen bum when it's below 0 is no fun.

This place is incredible. We did not stay here (they were sold out), but we did come for a visit late one night and we spent hours taking pictures of the place. Almost all of the rooms have an ice carving inside, and each one is worth a picture. The bar is fantastic, the chairs and love seats of ice are fun for a few minutes at a time, and the whole place is like a magical wonderland.

It's kind of how I imagine a princess castle (but warmer).

Take your camera, take your kids, take your loved one, and have a blast. It's a one-of-a-kind experience that can't be missed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were there in January and had the best time. The hotel itself is specatular and the staff were very friendly. We enjoyed the ability to take a hot shower and catch a snack in the heated building, but also enjoyed sleeping in the room (after a very helpful orientation on how to prepare to sleep in a room made of ice!). Hitting the outdoor hot tubs before bedtime was simply awesome as there was a slight snow flurry.

Room Tip: We [ersonally did not pay extra for a decorated room, since you spend so little time in there and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A very unique experience. It's expensive, but it's a truly beautiful creation. My partner and I stayed there with a 2-night package - one night in the ice hotel and the other at the lodge and we felt it was well worth it. The package allowed us to use the facilities as well, to cross country ski, hike, sled, etc. The service was terrific, the staff help you get prepared for your night and they even brought hot chocolate to our room in the morning.
It's a a unique and fun way to enjoy our Canadian winters!
If you don't want to spend the night, you can buy a day pass just to go in and look around.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I splurged for our 38th wedding anniversary, and stayed a night in this hotel made entirely of ice and snow. :) It was very, very cool--in more ways than the obvious. We enjoyed having the hotel grounds rather private. It was made available to only those spending the night. It had been very crowded during the day, but all non-resident visitors had to leave at 8:30. There was an ice skating rink, ice slides--inside and outside, an ice chapel, an igloo to climb in for fun, a bar serving drinks in "ice glasses."
We slept rather fitfully--but it wasn't the hotel's fault. We had an orientation to teach us how to stay warm in our liners and sleeping bags. We literally slept on a sheet of ice covered with a mattress. My body was warm but my eyes were so cold, it kept me awake. It was 5 degrees. In the morning, we used the hot tubs and saunas. The hot breakfast was great. We laughed so much and had a great time. Many memories!!

Room Tip: Spend extra money and get a room with fancy ice sculptures and fireboxes...if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Probably a once in a lifetime experience but probably one of the most fantastic nights I have ever experienced! Each room is individually themed by invited artists/designers. It is breathtakingly beautiful - an ice palace really. Everything is ice! I imagined a night of bed melting passion however it is well worth following the advice given by the staff prior to settling in for the night so that you can remain comfortable at -5 degrees until morning.

Room Tip: book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here in Janurary of 2012 as a weekend getaway.

First the service - The service is very friendly and helpful, and strangely a bit informal (which is not neccessarily a good or bad thing). They were very accomidating and all were young with great positive energy.

The rooms - Clean, obviously! The suites are amazingly beautiful, however we stayed in a regular room which is rather basic, not a big deal, as you don't spend much time in the room as it's really just an ice cave.

The bar is spectacular. It's all backlit by colored LEDs that give it such a cool look.

The hotel offers free coffee, tea and hot chocolate (via a huge kuregge machine). Outside hot tubs and a dry sauna is free for all guests to use.

It's hard to describe really, the whole thing was just a magical experience, and something you really must do for once in your life. It's a hotel that's worth going to for it's own merit however being in Quebec City (which is by itself, one of the most romantic cities in North America) is just icing on the cake.

It's great for a night, but no need to stay more than 1 night.

Room Tip: The suites are definately more beautiful than regular rooms, but beyond the obvious activities, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Glace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Glace

Address: 9530, rue de la Faune, Quebec City, Quebec G1G 5H9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#40 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de Glace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 minutes from Québec City, the Hotel de Glace is open from January until March. Enter a magical world where snow and ice are transformed into fabulous decors. Come to live a magical night in one of the 36 rooms and suites. Enjoy a cocktail and relax in the exterior hot tubs and sauna. The Hôtel de Glace is a must see attraction to be discovered in family, in couple or between friends this winter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel de Glace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Glace Hotel
Ice Hotel Quebec
Ice Canada Hotel
Ice Hotel Canada
Ice Hotel Montreal
Hotel De Glace Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Glace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.