We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“class act, staff a cut above the rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Manoir Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Manoir Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Manoir Victoria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Cote du Palais, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4H8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“class act, staff a cut above the rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

The room, grand luxury, spacious, hotel staff were exceptional. You can tell by the staff that this hotel is well run. Special thanks to Rooms Manager Francois Bedard who went beyond his obligation to intercede for me with travel company to make reservation changes, especially as they were being obstinate. The restaurant food was exceptional and reasonably priced. Yes it has the famous 23 steps but the staff are always on hand to help. This was a very busy time for the staff but they never showed the stress. i would recommend this hotel, centrally located, period stlye,very quaint. Well done everybody and thank you for your courtesy,we had an enjoyable stay with you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    305
    66
    21
    13
See reviews for
235
261
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Manoir Victoria after visiting Toronto and Montreal over the previous few days. [We travelled Via Rail – Business Class between cities. Between Toronto to Montreal and Montreal to Quebec we received first class hospitality and service. But our next journey – the 18 hour overnight trip from Quebec to Halifax was disorganised and with VERY poor food, zero hospitality and a cramped and uncomfortable sleeping cabin – a massive (& expensive) disappointment.]

Hotel is very well sited – fairly near the rail station and right in the old town. Excellent room with two separate sleeping areas each with a large double bed (our only criticism is that the beds have VERY sharp corners at shin/knee height. We propped spare pillows against them to minimise injury!!)

Breakfast usual hotel fare – service was a bit disorganised. We ate well in the hotel’s bistro (St James) but were not impressed by the nearby L’entrecote Saint-Jean. Go for afternoon drinks at Le Chateau Frontenac and sit and watch the boats.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

The hotel is fairly large and has a nice historic atmosphere. We got a large room with two queen size beds and more space than is the norm. It appeared to be renovated not long ago, and the swimming pool with life guard in the basement was also a plus. The service at the reception was very friendly.

The hotel is conveniently located right in the middle of the old town of Quebec. Our room on the fourth floor faced a busy street with many restaurants and bars, with happy people shouting and singing late in the night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Pros: quiet, good location and nice decor. Free Wi-Fi.
Cons: not the service you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. Little value for money

Rooms: decent size but the carpet was dirty with visible spots
Bathrooms: Tiiiiiny, you had to close the door to access the sink, that’s how small it was!
Lobby: nicely done, but don’t expect any water, fruit etc that you may get at nicer 4star hotels.
Housekeeping: below average for a hotel of its class. I found hair on the bathroom floor behind the door; the table tops were not dusted. disclaimer: i forgot to leave a tip for the housekeeping staff.
Problems: 1. Free WiFi didn’t work the first day. Front desk said they would send instructions to log on but never did. The next morning, the Wi-Fi miraculously started working.
2. Our AC unit in the room stopped working about 1am at night and the front desk clerk said they can only have it corrected in the morning. 5am I called again, after a night of no sleep and a guy came up to check who basically said the same thing- it will be fixed during the day and they need time. I went to the lobby where the clerk finally suggested that we move. We went out during the day and returned at 5pm and were informed the AC is fixed. An impersonal apology is all the hotel offered!!

We won’t be staying here again. If you expect good service for the money you spend, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

The beds and pillows were so comfortable. Excellent location very close to shopping food, and night life. Summer festival was going on ,the street performers were right outside the hotel room window facing rue St Jean. The pool was nice for the kids. Paillard very close by and a great grocery store next door with excellent cheese,wine and local beer.
However the Quebec City passport was not available and it has been an exercise in frustration trying to get my money back from Expedia . Expedia has the WORST customer service process and staff . I have been put on hold for upto 26 minutes, no one has called me back or returned emails from Expedia . I will NOT book a trip with them again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Wow, real traditional hotel service with door bellmen and lots of excellent service. This historic hotel is located in the heart of old town and is a real treat. Step back in time to this very old historic hotel. Be advised that old town Quebec is hills, stairs and more hills and stairs. Be prepared. Not for the handicapped or anyone who can't climb stairs. There is a very steep set of stairs from the street to the lobby inside the hotel so you'll work off your big meals just getting up to the lobby or down to the street. Free Wifi in the rooms but the lobby computers are $5 per 1/2 hour. Elegant lobby area, great hotel staff who can tell you about any events in the area. Std cab or minivan to the airport is set price of $32.50 and approx 1/2 hour. You only need 5 min advance notice. Full restaurant on site and another one adjacent to the lobby. Hot breakfast buffet is $8.50. Other meals run around $35+. Meals in old town Quebec are very pricey even at the outdoor cafes. McDonalds is a landmark at the corner street. Small sandwich restaurant next door. Internet Cafe next door $2. per 20 min. Rooms have TV with a few English stations, Mini bar, desk 2 chairs, iron, ironing board, hair dryer. Elevator is extremely slow so allo extra time. Make sure you walk about 2 blocks past the hospital to see the 10pm Tues-Sat very unique 50 min light show that is projected on the silos. Circ du Solei was giving free performances under their tents about a 10-15 min walk away.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We recently stayed at Hotel Manoir Victoria and I believe it made all the difference on our fabulous visit to QC. First the hotel is lovely, but more importantly it is in the heart of old Quebec. The location is excellent and near many great eateries and shops. The second and most important thing to us was the staff. They were the most courteous and helpful I have ever encountered. They never hesitated to answer our many questions about the city, restaurants, sight seeing etc. in a cheerful, informative manner. They really went above and beyond what I expected. I would not hesitate to stay at this wonderful hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Manoir Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir Victoria

Address: 44 Cote du Palais, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Manoir Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic, culturally vibrant and gastronomic activity of Old Quebec, Hotel Manoir Victoria extends a warm and friendly welcome in an inviting decor that was recently renovated and upgraded. With its unique European style, the 4-star hotel offers 156 rooms and suites, some of which are high-luxury units with ambiance fireplace and whirlpool bath, eight meeting and function rooms that can accommodate up to 175 people, two restaurants including the inspired cuisine of "CHEZ BOULAY - BISTROBOREAL", free wireless high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool, a sauna, a fitness centre, an Internet lounge and indoor parking with valet service. In addition, the << Spa du Manoir>> offers a full range of beauty and well-being services which, combined with an expert advice and a relaxing environment, will wonderfully complement your stay: Therapeutic massages, body treatments and esthetics care are provided with first class expertise, effective products and warm human contact. Eight (8) treatment rooms are at your disposal to relax and rejuvenate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Manoir Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Victoria Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Manoir Victoria Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Manoir Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.