We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious well placed hotel fits the bill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Manoir Victoria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Manoir Victoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Manoir Victoria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Cote du Palais, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Staffs, England
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Spacious well placed hotel fits the bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Hard to fault this hotel - large rooms, well equipped, comfortable beds, quiet, and close to the centre - and the train/bus station. Access starts up some hefty stairs, but the porters are very helpful. Lifts are a bit slow. Free internet access is good.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    246
    57
    22
    9
See reviews for
180
199
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Manoir Victoria for 3 nights over the long weekend in August. Overall it is a nice hotel with friendly front desk staff, clean updated rooms and an on-site restaurant. The hotel also has an indoor pool, which we did not use, but its a nice ad-on should you go during a heat wave. We were surprised to see the pool also had a lifeguard on duty. This was our first visit to Quebec City and prior to going I was very focused on the location of the hotel, while this location is great, I now know that really any location within the walls of Old Quebec would be good. The tourist area is quite small and easily walkable (note it is very hilly). This hotel is close to the main street with lots of shopping and eating options and fairly centrally located between the Citadelle and the Old Port. This hotel is a good choice, it isn't anything special but it works for a vacation that you spend walking outdoors, we did notice that we could hear other hotel guests more than usual when they were in their rooms and coming and going from the rooms. Note that there is a large staircase about 20-30 steps to climb from the road to get to the lobby, so it is not really an accessible hotel. When we arrived on Friday evening there were no bell boys in sight and my husband had to carry our two bags up the steps. We did notice on Saturday and Sunday there were bell boys...but many guests were lugging their own luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

In mid July I was looking for somewhere "French" and decided to try Quebec City for a new adventure. I was fortunate in both my timing and my selection of this hotel as I ended up right in the middle of the annual city festival. On any given day, the hotel is, in my opinion, perfectly situated in the old city, walking distance from all the great restaurants and historical sites. At least during the Festival, the adjacent Rue St. Jean was restricted to pedestrian use after 5:00 PM, with street performers and tourists in abundance. The hotel itself is attractive, clean and comfortable, with a variety of lodging options depending on one's budget. The workout room was well equipped and, although I tried neither, the indoor pool and spa facility were inviting. The staff was incredibly helpful and attentive. Last, though hardly least, I enjoyed the convenience of fine dining in "the house" restaurant. Even as a solo traveller, I felt very much at home. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights here on the 6th floor. Great location in the center of the city. Staff were very helpful. I forgot my passport in the car and had it retrieved in less than 30 minutes. The breakfast was very filling. There are a few steps to reach the lobby and had several landings to rest. The door men were great to carry up our many bags. As is in all the city locations this was about average. You could get a cheaper price if you stayed out side the inner city but you would miss the experience of it's life. We had room 611. Other than some noisy guests at night it was good. The AC did make a bit noise at times but soon stopped. We got the AAA rate with free parking and full breakfast. A bit hesitant about letting my car go but they were wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great hotel perfectly located in old Quebec. Short walking distance of everything in the old Quebec area. Keep in mind that's all you will be doing as you tour the city is walking. Was greeted at front door and our bags and car were taken care of immediately. We got a standard room at a more affordable rate vs the suites, Which look nice online. Had a queen bed, room itself was nice, all the amenities you would expect. Had free Internet because of the deal we signed up for. Everything was clean, including bathrooms, which were tight. Air conditioned room plus windows that opened.

The front desk staff was great, especially Bernard. Our house cleaning staff was very attentive to our needs as well.

We did check out the pool which was ok. They have a small training room as well. We did enjoy the spa treatments. Would recommend reservations as soon as you arrive in order to get time that you desire. Between sightseeing, wonderful restaurants in the city, it's hard to remember to relax too.

Although available, we did not eat at the hotel. We chose a great crepe place around the corner for breakfast. They do have a very high end restaurant attached to the hotel too.

Great stay overall, wouldn't hesitate to stay there again for an 4 star affordable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I should write two different reviews of this hotel. We were first at room 405, extra small double bed, air conditioner loud and smelly, the shower had a really tiny water string that made you take ages to shower. They said thisroom was for two, but I do not recomend it, it just have one bedside table withone lamp. As it is beside the elevator it was really noisy too. We tried to change room the first day we arrived but the hotel was fully booked. We tried again next ,orning but nothing. During the afternoon, Mr. Bernard gave us a double bed bedroom that was huge, the air conditioner worked ok with no noise and the showerwas good. This was another experience.
The location of the hotel is excelent and all the staff is friendly, specially Mr. Bernard. You can walk everywhere, including the train station. I will stay again but make sure you book a large room with a large bed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in July with high expectations. Room 308

Pros: Extremely good central location, with short walking distance of all attractions, large clean room, clean public areas, helpful efficient check in, valet parking $25.

Cons: small uncomfortable double bed, extremely noisy A/C unit in room that had to be turned off of a night, noisy A/C unit just outside room in hallway, poor view with A/C units on top of roof.

We purchased continental breakfast each of the three mornings of our stay. The first two mornings were very good as what was included in the price was explained to us. On our last morning different serving staff were on duty. We had already taken a cereal each, but were informed that continental breakfast did not include a cereal. We were told to stay seated and that they would bring us some fruit and toast. They brought up two small plates of fruit that included 3 berries, 2 grapes, and 3 slices of orange, which came from the kitchen area. This was a shame considering there was a large bowl of fresh fruit that we had selected from the previous two mornings.

I don't know which team of serving staff were correct, but they need to clarify the situation.
The Tour party that were staying at the hotel appeared to get more attentive treatment than independent travellers.

To cap it all on check out we were charged twice for the last mornings breakfast. We were informed that one was an automatic entry, and the other one was manually entered in error.

Overall, very disappointed with our experience at Manoir Victoria considering the very good reviews that it continues to receive, which was a shame.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Manoir Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir Victoria

Address: 44 Cote du Palais, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Manoir Victoria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Quebec, Hotel Manoir Victoria extends a warm welcome in an inviting decor that was recently renovated now offers a smoke free environment in its 156 rooms and suites. Fine dining at "La Table du Manoir," the relaxed atmosphere of the resto-bistro "Le St-James," free wireless high speed Internet access, an indoor pool, a sauna, a fitness centre, an Internet lounge and indoor parking with valet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Manoir Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Victoria Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Manoir Victoria Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Manoir Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.