We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty tanks” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarium du Quebec

Aquarium du Quebec
1675 des Hotels Ave | (Highway 73, exit 132), Quebec City, Quebec G1W 4S3, Canada
418-659-5264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 119 Attractions in Quebec City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come and experience Parc Aquarium du Quebec! Travel into the ecosystems of the St. Lawrence River and Canadian waters and discover northern plant and animal life. This 16-hectare site is the only one of its kind in Quebec. As you make this amazing journey all the way to the North Pole, you'll have the chance to observe 10,000 fresh- and salt-water fish specimens, reptiles, amphibians, invertebrates, as well as marine mammals, such as Atlantic and Pacific walruses, seals and polar bears. Happy discoveries!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Greenfield, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty tanks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I went to the aquarium this weekend, it was not a good experience.The pools for the outdoor exhibits were not clean and had algae in them. The space provided for the animals seemed inadequate.
The inside tanks were poorly lit and had a brown algae growing inside them so you had trouble seeing the fish.
I have been to many aquariums and this was the worst.
The restaurants were closed and there are not enough bathrooms.
Save your money and do something else.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    101
    35
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not so great...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Although the jelly fish exhibit is spectacular I can't say anything else positive. Sad polar bears pacing....

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent, time well spent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I went to Quebec on a business trip and had a day spare. It had snowed quite a bit so there weren't many options for us. My colleague was particularly excited about visiting the aquarium and I just joined him along.
Turns out I got more excited than him once we entered!
The jellyfish tanks are incredibly beautiful, the Walrus, Seals and Polar Bears we don't get to see in India, so it was really an exciting 2 hours.
The Aquarium is clean, well organised, help and guidance is available and there is a restaurant as well.
Do visit for sure if you have children, they will be very thrilled!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Nice Afternoon. Recommended, though Better in Summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We spent a very enjoyable couple of hours at the aquarium with our 2 young children (7 & 5 Yrs Old). If they were a bit older, we could likely have spent another hour, as there was a seal show coming up later. The polar bears were a real highlight. One of them only walked alongside the water the whole time, but the other swam right up against the glass for a long period, which was very neat. There was a Polar Bear exhibit while we were there, but there wasn't a whole lot to it. They fed the polar bear by dropping down some fish from up above and talked about the bears, but it was 90% in French so I couldn't understand too much.

The jellyfish display was also very interesting and beautiful.

It is a short ride from downtown. We went just after lunch so that we wouldn't have to buy a meal there (I heard it was quite expensive) and hoping it would be a bit warmer. The weather was acceptable (mid-April), but you can tell there would be more stuff going on in the summer time.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth a short drive from Old Quebec”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were tourists staying in the center of Quebec, so visiting the Aquarium required a 15-minute taxi ride each way. However, even though some of the outdoor attractions and restaurants were still closed for winter in mid-April, we appreciated what was open to see. The indoor exhibits are well designed and engaging. We also saw the two adorable arctic foxes being fed and caught most of the morning seal show. The polar bears are always a favorite animal and so we were glad to see two of them interacting with their handlers. As other have said, wear warm clothes if you visit in the winter, but it's worth the trip and the admission price is more than fair.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarium du Quebec also viewed

 

Been to Aquarium du Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarium du Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.