We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marche du Vieux-Port desolate in November” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marche du Vieux-Port de Quebec

Marche du Vieux-Port de Quebec
160, Saint-Andre Quai, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y2, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 44 Shopping in Quebec City
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Specialty Shops, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular marketplace is located near the city's revitalized Old Port area.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Marche du Vieux-Port desolate in November”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

It's November 2012 and deliciously chilly outside. I have read on tripadvisor that the Marche du Vieux-Port is open all year long and is a fun place to buy fresh flowers and produce. I have also read that they have a wonderful and inexpensive creperie inside.
Well, I tried them out on a Friday afternoon, location is close to the apartment I was renting and I just love the idea of buying fresh local produce. Marche du Vieux-Port did not have any of this. Most of the stands were closed except for a furrier (YUCK) and a table with meats and sausages (ALSO YUCK). Even the creperie stand was closed. I thought maybe I picked a bad day to go so I went again that Sunday and the Marche was equally desolate. Perhaps they are a seasonal venue. Their website stated that they are open for business. Marche du Vieux-Port de Quebec was the ONLY thing in Quebec that was a disappointment. I would not waste my time with this Marche.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fresh produce and fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

we visited the market on a Friday. Everything was so nice a fresh. You can even have a lunch there. From crepes , sandwiches to fish lunch is lovely here. Not just food hand made soaps and some crafts also on display. Don't forget to try the homemade sweets!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best of all worlds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This marvelous, crowded market is loaded with everything an intrepid traveler or well-established resident might need. Fresh fruits and vegetables, spices, hand made soaps, prepared foods, locally sourced items - you name it, you'll probably find it at the Marche du Vieux-Port. Plus a little supermarket jam-packed with countless sundry items and kitchen utensils rounds out the shopping experience. Are you looking for people watching? You'll get that here as well. A must-see for all Quebec City visitors...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I love street markets and all French markets are superb. Marche du Vieux-Port is really fantastic. It’s charming and you can have meals, buy fresh fruits, delicious chocolates and all sorts of things made by erable (maple syrup). Some of vendors don’t charge taxes and you can buy maple syrup for less.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“high quality local Quebec products at excellent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I found this to be a charming local market with tons of gorgeous local products. We bought a liter of maple syrup for about $14 (!), some local smoked salt, a chocolate and pear croissant, a huge basket of super sweet local strawberries, apple butter, a salmon burger, cafe au lait, preserves, cheese, honey, a big piece of local fudge ($1!) and a nutella crepe. All wonderful!

The market will have more on offer depending on the time of year. We were there in late summer and could have filled our trunk with stuff if we were driving straight back to Boston (and if we could get everything across the border).

The prices are way better than Whole Foods and everything is fresh from the local farms. We were marvelling at the cost of leeks and strawberries, which cost a small fortune at our local Whole Foods. The prices are even better than on the Ile d'Orleans, just north of the city where there are many local farmstands. We bought an apple butter in on Ile d'Orleans for $5 and it cost $3.50 in the marche.

I highly recommend visiting if you are in Quebec City in the late spring - Fall. There are some really good food stalls where you can get a treat and a coffee or a lunch (burgers, quiche, crepes, etc). If you have access to cooking facilities, even better.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marche du Vieux-Port de Quebec also viewed

 

Been to Marche du Vieux-Port de Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marche du Vieux-Port de Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.