We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of all worlds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marche du Vieux-Port de Quebec

Marche du Vieux-Port de Quebec
160, Saint-Andre Quai, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y2, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 shopping in Quebec City
Type: Specialty Shops, Flea/ Street Markets
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This popular marketplace is located near the city's revitalized Old Port area.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best of all worlds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This marvelous, crowded market is loaded with everything an intrepid traveler or well-established resident might need. Fresh fruits and vegetables, spices, hand made soaps, prepared foods, locally sourced items - you name it, you'll probably find it at the Marche du Vieux-Port. Plus a little supermarket jam-packed with countless sundry items and kitchen utensils rounds out the shopping experience. Are you looking for people watching? You'll get that here as well. A must-see for all Quebec City visitors...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I love street markets and all French markets are superb. Marche du Vieux-Port is really fantastic. It’s charming and you can have meals, buy fresh fruits, delicious chocolates and all sorts of things made by erable (maple syrup). Some of vendors don’t charge taxes and you can buy maple syrup for less.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“high quality local Quebec products at excellent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I found this to be a charming local market with tons of gorgeous local products. We bought a liter of maple syrup for about $14 (!), some local smoked salt, a chocolate and pear croissant, a huge basket of super sweet local strawberries, apple butter, a salmon burger, cafe au lait, preserves, cheese, honey, a big piece of local fudge ($1!) and a nutella crepe. All wonderful!

The market will have more on offer depending on the time of year. We were there in late summer and could have filled our trunk with stuff if we were driving straight back to Boston (and if we could get everything across the border).

The prices are way better than Whole Foods and everything is fresh from the local farms. We were marvelling at the cost of leeks and strawberries, which cost a small fortune at our local Whole Foods. The prices are even better than on the Ile d'Orleans, just north of the city where there are many local farmstands. We bought an apple butter in on Ile d'Orleans for $5 and it cost $3.50 in the marche.

I highly recommend visiting if you are in Quebec City in the late spring - Fall. There are some really good food stalls where you can get a treat and a coffee or a lunch (burgers, quiche, crepes, etc). If you have access to cooking facilities, even better.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

At the market, you can get all kinds of fresh fruits and vegetables. These are also places for souvenirs, candy, soda, great selection of loose beer. It's all the way down by the water, so it's quite a walk back up to the main area of old Quebec.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is a very nice place to taste and buy some typical things of Quebec. I enjoyed to visit the Marche.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marche du Vieux-Port de Quebec also viewed

 

Been to Marche du Vieux-Port de Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marche du Vieux-Port de Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marche du Vieux-Port de Quebec to your Saves list