We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Universel Quebec

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Universel Quebec to your Saves list
Hotel Universel Quebec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #85 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Good but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

After a weekend of mediocre hotels, we decided to splurge and get a decent hotel somewhere wherewe can experience something different... The Info centre refered us here, called the hotel, and told us the parking, internet, and breakfast was free and had plenty of nice rooms still available

Upon arrival we decided to get a poolside "balcony" room with two queen beds for $249... a bit steep for a non-suite room at this star rating... but we wanted to spare no expense for the best experience we could ge there, the only thing different from the rate we were quoted was that the breakfast was no included (unfortunant but we decided to ignore this little issue).

When we first entered we were impressed on the size, the remodeled bathroom, and the nice beds. But we noticed the room wall was bare, the design of the bath was actually bad (faucets hit the base of tub and water ran on the floor), there was no fridge (we had to pay an extra $10 for one per night) and the worst part... we did NOT have a balcony (only a walkout to the pool/spa area).

Im sorry but when you pay $249 for a balconied room, you would expect a balcony not an entrance straight in the pool area (we even had someone knocking on our door looking for someone :( )... and having to pay another $10 for a fridge... in a $249 room... come on stop penny pinching give the guys paying the big bucks a fridge... even the Trump hotels I stayed at didnt try to gauge customers that way. People mentioned in the reviews that they got robes... well our $249 rooms did not :(... dont know why some people who paid $99 for a room got them but not us but... anyways

On the plus side... we really like the pool/spa, the beds were comfortable, rooms are really clean, service was fine. The experience was great.... its still a good place to go experience something different... The only thing is I would not recommend taking anything but their cheapest rooms... just not worth it (hence my ranking on value)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Good day,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience in our hotel. With all the details you gave, we will be able to make the room check and make some changes in the room the improve the guest's experience and to make is as perfect as possible.

It is very important for our team to have satisfied guests and we take very seriously all the comments shared. We are proud to know take your liked the room, that the beds were comfortable and enjoyed the pool and spa area

We hope your will come back to experience all our services and and take a relaxing moment in Quebec City.

We thank you again for your comments

Thank you

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    52
    55
    27
    25
See reviews for
62
51
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

At 11.30pm I contacted the front desk about the unbearable noise drifting up from the function room below.
I was informed that there was a wedding party below and the noise would continue until 1am.
I was soon joined by other guests demanding that something be done about the noise. After a great deal of shouting and arguing the desk clerk went down to the function room and had them turn the music down. The music stayed at a tolerable level for about thirty minutes after which it was cranked up to its previous level.
There was also a lot of noise from guests on our floor who were having an extremely noisy party with their doors open and had alsopropped open the fire escape door to extend their party.
After numerous calls to the front desk and a visit from the police most of the noise was gone by 1.15am. We were again woken by more noise at 4.15am. Thankfully this noise did not last long but it had done its job of waking us.
To top it all off the sheets on the bed were torn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Good day,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and comments about your stay with us.

It is unfortunate that you had to sleep with all that noise from the weeding and from the groups around you. We will do our best to improve this point because we want to take care of our guests abd we want them to have a nice and relaxing stay.

Thank you,

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is quite adequate for staying near Laval University.Getting to the old city takes about twenty minutes by bus
.In all a the rooms are motel standard.Depending on the room location the noise level can be an issue
This is created by the large groups of noisy student and tourist groups that frequent this hotel.Also the rooms near the spa would be even noisier, as well as rooms situated near the bar that is situated on the side of the
Overall staff were helpful and room servicing was good
if you want motel standard accommodation this would suit your needs

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Good day,

We thank you for taking some time to share your experience and comments about your stay in our hotel.

We appreciate that you liked your stay and we take all your comments in order to improve our services.

Thank you,

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blomidon, Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I booked this hotel on Hotwire, and got a fabulous rate. The front desk staff, although French, were extremely friendly and helpful with me an Anglophone. I left my credit card at the front desk, and they promply called me. The young manager spotted me looking for the room (the numbers weren't all that obvious) and kindly asked if I needed help. The fact she was a sweety didn't hurt either! Now, if I had been paying full fare for the room, I may have complained about the room...it was right next to the front desk, and on the main path to the elevator, and other rooms. Noise was my fear; however, it never materialized. The bathroom was a bit odd however; it's as if it was added as an after thought. It was very small, and the loo & bathtub were raised, apparently for the plumbing which obviously was added as a renovation/addition. The sink was a bowl type, with absolutely no room for a shaving kit! Now, I seriously doubt there were any other rooms such as this, and most likely this was their "Hotwire" room. As I had to come off the TC and enter into Sillery, it was a bit inconvenient if you're travelling through to Toronto/Montreal. From the Hotwire map it looked as if the hotel was along the highway. However, if you are visting Laval University, this place is perfect...Laval is across the street. We didn't eat at the restaurant, which is along side a great looking spa area, but it did look very inviting. Perhaps next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Good day,

We thank you for your comments about our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to write about your stay with us.

We take all comments seriously in order to improve all aspects of our services. We always assign the best room we can to the guests, no matter how they reserved their room, but the high occupancy rate was the reason why we anly had a few rooms left.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Thank you for your understanding.

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Fantastic. Booked it online using a 'last minute' link on hotel.com and paid only 75 a night. Room was fully wheelchair accessible (unexpected) so it was larger than the others but having seen a regular room I would have the same review. Robes are included so you can wear them to and around the amazing pool area, silk flower arrangements were a nice touch, and it was clean, clean, clean, with no smell of smoke anywhere. You must use the pool, saunas or whirlpools, or just chill out on their adirondack chairs and footstools outside the cute infrared or steam saunas. My hubby and I sat out on the leather chairs on the balcony overlooking the pools at around midnight for a little nightcap and noone bothered us; it's a very welcoming atmosphere as long as you're relatively quiet after the pool area closes. The rooms overlooking the pool area cost a little more, or are suites. Two internet computers in the lobby for our use, and at least two areas to sit by a gas fireplace if not the atriums overlooking the pools. Their motto is that the little details make the difference; they certainly do. There are a few little details they're missing, but they're minor, such as more towel racks and hooks to hang things, and maybe a painting or two on the walls. Parking is hard to find late at night but we did find one last spot both nights we were there; I think it was a busy weekend for them - there may have been overflow parking somewhere else but we didn't need to ask. Breakfast is not included but they do have one there onsite in the restaurant for purchase; had our own so can't comment on that. I briefly heard a child crying but then did not hear another soul all night. Request a renovated room. Ours overlooked a roof just next to the pool suites, on the 4th level. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Good day,

We thank you for having taking the time to give us your comments about your stay in our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed you stay.
We will take all your comments and use them to improve our services and always get better.

Thank you

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We had a room in a corner and it was very nice and spacious.The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom recent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Good day,

We thank you very much for your comment about your stay, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Thank you

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I ve been here before its always good free parking great restaurant beautiful atrium with pool and spa

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Universel Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Universel Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.