We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ALT Quebec

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel ALT Quebec to your Saves list
Hotel ALT Quebec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Avenue Germain des Pres - Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 3M7, Canada (Formerly Germain des Prés)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 105 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

My wife and I booked our stay in Quebec through AAA in the US. As the other reviews have mentioned Hotal Alt is about 4-5 miles outside of Old City Quebec. It is, however, well worth staying there when in Quebec. The rooms was very clean and the amenities were comparable to that of a much more expensive hotel. My wife and I both travel regularly for work and consequently stay in some of the nicer hotels in the US; Hotel Alt is, while short on amenities outside the room, a very, very good hotel to which we would gladly return.

What sets Hotel Alt apart, though, is the service. All at the hotel went out of their way to help us plan day trips (Quebec City is very nice and I highly recommend spending some time downtown but the true beauty of Quebec is found in nearby national parks, the St. Lawrence, Ile d'Orleans, etc...) and we had a great overall trip thanks, in large part, to the recommendations and reservations made by the hotel employees. We were accommodated thoroughly during our stay and would return to the Alt without hesitation.

As for the hotel being outside of the more touristy areas, this is true. The older parts of Quebec City are very, very touristy (tour busses, travelling groups, overpriced t-shirts and beer, etc...) but very easy to reach from Alt. There are two busses that will take you to Old City for a few dollars, a taxi is less than $20 and parking is abundently available for $5-$10 a day. While I agree it is often nice to be able to walk home, we felt that the advantages of Hotel Alt fair outweighed the minor inconvenience of hailing a taxi. The price difference between Alt and, say, the Marriott more than makes up for the additional cost of taxies and parking. On the flip side of the location conundrum, being a little bit outside of the city makes it very easy to leave when one tries out the more outdoorsy or spa options Quebec province has to offer.

I am also slightly confused as to reviewers giving a hotel a low rating based on location. If location is important to you, look at a map before you book. The hotel isn't hiding. You can score it on "location" relatively poorly but how this makes the entire hotel experience poor is beyond me.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank screenname6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Stayed here two nights in August 2009 while sightseeing in Quebec City. Old Quebec is a 15 minute drive from hotel. Parking and wifi included at no additional charge. Complimentary water bottles in room. Very comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Located across the street from a big shopping mall. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashDCFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

My husband, baby and I stopped here for the night (unplanned) on a drive from NS back to Ottawa. We called ahead to see if they had any rooms and a play pen to accomodate us last minute. We didn't provide a credit card number or anything, we just confirmed we'd be there within the hour. When we arrived they had a room ready and a playpen with bedding already set up for us. Checking in took no time at all. The hotel is very stylish, has a great bistro for meals, and salmon (and beef) tartare on on the room service menu. It's also across the street from a gigantic mall. The bed was extremely comfortable, the wifi was free, and there was a good sized work space for business travelers. Also - great bathroom, amazing (Fruits & Passions) toiletries, and "the best" shower ever (according to my husband). We will be returning to stay longer next time. We paid $129 CAD and parking was free

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanceFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

I just spent 2 nights at Alt Quebec and was very pleased with this hotel. The room was very comfortable, the bathroom super-modern and well appointed with products from "Dans un Jardin." The hotel was quiet, the staff friendly and the complimentary underground parking was a nice bonus.

All in all, I really enjoyed my stay at Alt and would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadianquebecer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

This boutique Hotel in Ste-Foy has great service and nicely decorated rooms. It's next to the shopping mall. The metrobus is located across the street and brings you to the old Quebec in about 40 min. The restaurant Bistango that is attached to the hotel is one of the best in Quebec. HIghly recommend both the hotel and restaurant.

  • Liked — the decor
  • Disliked — a bit far from old quebec
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sushidance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We enjoyed this hotel a lot-- very comfortable king size bed, flat screen tv and trendy ambiance and clean. I booked this hotel for its proximity to the airport, and would not recommend staying here if you want to spend most of your time around Old Quebec, unless you have a car or are bus-savvy. The hotel restaurant closed at 10pm on Saturday night, so we had to go to this place across the street, Cosmos, which was decent. There is a Starbucks next door, but other than that, not too much else in the immediate walking area. I would recommend this hotel- great value and experience.

  • Liked — Ambiance and free wirelss internet
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kristenberker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitestone, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

Really nice room, good price but a long way to Old Quebec you must have a car. If you don't mind taking the bus or driving 20 minutes it is great!

  • Liked — Nice rooms
  • Disliked — A long way to Old Quebec
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank whitestoneny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#36 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Quartier
Hotel Quartier
#82 of 105 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#63 of 105 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
#24 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ALT Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ALT Quebec

Address: 1200 Avenue Germain des Pres - Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 3M7, Canada (Formerly Germain des Prés)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ALT Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being ALTernative means moving in new directionsALT is the balance between modernity, a dynamic and colourful ambience, comfort, and well-thought out location.At ALT, eco-responsability means doing away with room service, valets and doormen: ALT focuses on your needs, on the essential things that bring added value to your stay.Our "service light" approach allows us to offer guests a unique rate: the same price, every day, all year round!When you choose ALT, you are opting for a hotel with centralized free WiFi access and much more!The ALT Hotel banner belongs to Groupe Germain Hospitality, a Canadian family owned company, pioneer of the Hotel-boutique concept, with its headquarters in Quebec City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel ALT Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alt Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Alt Quebec City
Alt Hotel Quebec City
Hotel ALT Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing