We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room & staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ALT Quebec

Save Saved
You added Hotel ALT Quebec to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel ALT Quebec
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Avenue Germain des Pres - Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 3M7, Canada (Formerly Germain des Prés)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
NYC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice room & staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Walked into our room on the 8th floor and felt like we were walking into a movie set! The most modern room we have ever stayed in, especially the amazing bathroom and shower! Loved staying here, even though we were not in the old city. Great views of the city and the mountains in the distance. We kept our car in the hotel's parking lot the two days we were there and took the bus into the old city. Great way to see the neighborhoods of Quebec City - a nice place to live!

The hotel is across the street from one of the largest malls in Quebec City. Purchased a discounted bus ticket in the mall. At night we ate in the food court, which was excellent. Had breakfast and lunch in the old city, and brunch one day at the Beaux Artes Museum.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend for a comfortable and amazing stay in Quebec City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra V, Director of Operations at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you for another ALTernative stay in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    72
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
69
8
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Originally booked because we were planning to travel with our dog but at the last minute found a sitter. The hotel was a bit further away from the historic sights than we would have liked (hence the 4 not 5 star rating) but still conveniently located near bus routes. More than anything, the staff were super friendly and the rooms was very stylish and well maintained. Great visit. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A very friendly staff. Clean and crisp. Well connected to the public transport system to go to the old city. Easy commute. Breakfast is very good though a bit on the costly side. Virtually across the street from a prestigious mall. Reasonably convenient parking arrangement.
There are plenty of restaurants within walking range. Overall it was a pleasant stay. Toiletries were good but not wasteful.
The concierge helped us to plan our trip with proper maps and identifying places of interest. They were very helpful and friendly and most of them speaks English.
We loved the trip.

Room Tip: we requested a room with outer view and they did the rest.We were in the sixth floor and had a decen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

As usual a great stay, the bed is very comfortable, the pillows are wonderfully fluffy, well located and easy to travel and commute to various locations in and around Quebec City.

As usual the staff is friendly and if you are a repeat guest checking in and out is a breeze.

Room Tip: The Bistango restaurant is great and offers a special for hotel guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel was very tastefully renovated. Quiet environment. Very pleasant staff. We were there for one evening after being at Monte St Anne for the World Cup mountain bike races. Close enough to the Old City area by a short drive. It was a well decorated room, nice bedding with the best sheets and pillows, elegant bathroom with make up mirror, little refrigerator, Bose radio. Only could be improved by adding an Ipod dock and a little microwave. No AC noise; thermostatically controlled. Would definitely choose to return. Best value for price, location and amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights to attend a conference at Laval University, which is at a convenient walking distance (through huge shopping malls if you prefer!). Friendly staff with a smile, always ready to help with any question or concern. For example, they lent me an ambrella in my last day of stay because of the rain (obviously!). I also tried dinner at the hotel's restaurant "Le Bistango", which was not bad, but a bit pricey (even with a 20% discount that you get if you are staying at the hotel). The reason why I am not giving 5 stars is because in one day I left my room at around 3:15 pm in the afternoon (I was working all morning on my presentation) with a sign to make the room on the door; however, when coming back in the evening I found the room was not made up. I guess may be it was too late, but, I remember seeing the housekeepers on the same floor near the elevator when leaving my room, and obviously they saw me (we even say "bon jour"!).
Will I stay here again? Yes, if I visit Laval University again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The lobby is colorful, the room was beautifully designed, the shower was gorgeous, nice comfy bed. A bed and bowl with cookies where there for our dog. Awesome experience, we'll stay there again for sure. I would have give that hotel a 5 but I'm giving a 4 because they only accept 1dog (no matter the size) and you can't leave your dog in the room if you're going out of the room. So if you're planning to have a dinner out, you'll have to bring your dog with you not always a possibility. We were lucky enough to have a nice weather that have allowed us to leave her sleeping in the car while we had dinner at the wonderful Bistango just beside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ALT Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ALT Quebec

Address: 1200 Avenue Germain des Pres - Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 3M7, Canada (Formerly Germain des Prés)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ALT Quebec 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being ALTernative means moving in new directionsALT is the balance between modernity, a dynamic and colourful ambience, comfort, and well-thought out location.At ALT, eco-responsability means doing away with room service, valets and doormen: ALT focuses on your needs, on the essential things that bring added value to your stay.Our "service light" approach allows us to offer guests a unique rate: the same price, every day, all year round!When you choose ALT, you are opting for a hotel with centralized free WiFi access and much more!The ALT Hotel banner belongs to Groupe Germain Hospitality, a Canadian family owned company, pioneer of the Hotel-boutique concept, with its headquarters in Quebec City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel ALT Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alt Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Alt Quebec City
Alt Hotel Quebec City
Hotel ALT Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ALT Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.