We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to go in the old city in Quebec” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Manoir des Remparts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Manoir des Remparts to your Saves list
Hotel Manoir des Remparts
3 1/2 rue des Remparts, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3R4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 124 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“THE place to go in the old city in Quebec”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We went there end of July. The booking, directly et the hotel, was a nice experience. And there is a discount of you book directly at the hotel. It's an old house on 3 stories with no elevator. Some rooms are small but everything is perfectly clean. There was a frige in our room. We have acces to Wifi and the is a phone at the office for free long distance calls. There was a breakfats included. 5 minutes walking to the cathedral and the streets where everything is.

The only problem (and it is more a drawback than a problem) is the parking but it is the same for most hôtels in that area. We had to go to park to the city parking. AGain 5 minutes walking. And there is a discount if we buy the parking tickets at the hotel.

In our next trip in Québec, no doubt we will go back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the harbor side and we enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
23
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Travelled solo to Quebec and stayed at Hotel Manoir Des Remparts for 4 nights. Stayed in economy room with shared bath on the 3rd floor. The hotel does not have an elevator so you have to use stairs to carry luggage. The bedroom was small and contained a dresser w/mirror, two chairs, lamp, fan, two twin sized beds and sink w/mirror. The basics. The windows open which is nice. Hotel supplied towels and washcloth (2 sets) which were refreshed daily. The bed was comfortable. The shared bathroom was not a problem. There was never a wait for the shower or toilet. The breakfast was continental and included: coffee, tea, cereals, muffins, sliced bread, croissants, bagels, fresh fruit. There was also butter, jams and peanut butter. Again basic fare, to get you started. The Hotel is in a great location. I was able to walk to all areas of Quebec - Avenue Cartier, the Art Museum, Market in Vieux Port, Train Station, Grand Theater, Rue Petit Champlain. For someone who is a walker, the distances are not long. And there are wonderful sights to see along the way. On some days I would come back to the Hotel a couple of times and head back out to do more sightseeing. Restaurants, bars, shopping and sites are in walking distance. The rooftop deck (3rd floor) is a nice spot to relax and checkout a wonderful view. The trip to/from the airport is no more than 25 mins. I would definitely return again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for three nights and really liked it. We stayed in an economy room with shared bathrooms. The room was clean and had a great view of the water, including a lovely view of the Image Mill light show every night. The bed was very comfortable. We had no problems with the shared bathrooms - there were two toilets and three showers on our floor, and there was always one available when we needed it.

A simple but satisfying breakfast of croissants, muffins, cereal, fresh fruit and coffee is included in the tariff.

The Hotel Manoir des Remparts is great for couples on a budget - we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. We enjoyed a great breakfast ,the location was excellent and the owners were friendly and helpful . This hotel is good value for money with a lovely front waiting room with spectacular river views.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I loved this place. Owners incredibly accommodating, gracious. Bathroom sparkling clean. Simple, very reasonably-priced, charming, quiet room (as though we were the only guests in the whole place, which was far from true). Comfortable bed. Nice view. Adequate closet space, drawers. Excellent TV reception. Felt very secure. Delicious croissants, fruit, coffee my favorite breakfast items. Within walking distance of so much we didn't need a car. You could hear horse-drawn carriages outside every once in awhile and even open the windows in the room! If we ever return to Quebec, we would stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My friend and I booked a room with 2 beds for our 5 nights in Quebec City. The room and bathroom were incredibly clean. The owners/staff were friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable, and we had a great view across the harbor. Too bad the Image Mill had stopped playing for 2013. However, you could view the illusion of a swaying curtain on the buildings across the harbor.

Room Tip: Ask for a window facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We drove into Quebec city without a map and were overwhelmed with finding a hotel in the up and down streets, lots of one way streets. We picked the first place we drove past, even though it was only a 2 star. Being a 2 star I wasn't expecting much of anything but to endure one night here. Surprise, surprise. I would go back again for sure. The owner is great and the room was a bargain as far as I'm concerned. It was small, but very clean and had the basics, plus a fantastic view of the harbour and in easy walking distance to all the places we wanted to go. Continental breakfast was fresh, had a good variety, and there was plenty. I think we got more than our monies worth considering the fantastic location. The lights on the elevators across the river at night were beautiful. Reminded us of Niagara Falls at night. Thanks for a great stay!!

Room Tip: Choose a harbour side room, the view is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Manoir des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir des Remparts

Address: 3 1/2 rue des Remparts, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3R4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Manoir des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Des Remparts Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Manoir Des Remparts Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Manoir des Remparts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.