We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and service but very LOUD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savini Resto-Bar Vinotheque

Savini Resto-Bar Vinotheque
680 Rue Grande-Allee Est, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
418-647-4747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 1,202 Restaurants in Quebec City
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good food and service but very LOUD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was in Quebec City on business and was here twice for dinner in a few days. The first time was by myself since the rest of my party had not yet arrived and I walked over by myself. I wanted to sit outside since it was very loud inside. I waited for a short while and had an excellent meal of mushroom risotto and a salad. The server was very pleasant and the atmosphere lovely on a nice early Fall evening.

I returned with a very large group a few nights later and we had several tables upstairs in a separate room. Due to the size, the service was much slower but everyone raved about their food. It was a bit loud again as there is some very loud music with a lot of bass that is played all the time. Then there was some kind of a show with a woman hanging and dancing on some sort of a cloth rope over the bar.

Overall, the food was great but this is not the place to go for a family dinner or a quiet meal. It has a lot of energy and it loud.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenieralexandre, Gérant at Savini Resto-Bar Vinotheque, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for the time you are taking to make your advise! We trully wish you and your friends will come back when you'll return in Québec city!! Next time, if you are looking for more quiet ambiance, think to ask for one of our private room and we will be glad to reserve it for you if it's available!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    62
    36
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good, not great, and noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you're the right side of 40 and looking for a trendy restaurant, with loud music, but little need to have a reasonable conversation, you might well rate the Savini from very good to excellent.

But if you're looking for a place where you don't need to yell to be heard, with better than average food, you may well find that this spot to not quite what you're looking for.

The service was very good. The antipasta was very good as well. Other choices, like the pasta with lamb sauce, was heavy and rather ordinary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for young stupid kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Waiters were busy drinking champagne with diners. Our food was delayed as others around us who arrived later were served. It's maddening to sit and wait to be served while your waiter yucks it up pounding champagne. I've never seen anything like it. Food was passable once it finally arrived. Overpriced. Poor value. Loud thumping house music playing. This place is meant for kids with more money than taste.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre G, Gérant at Savini Resto-Bar Vinotheque, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience and you can be sure that we will take the actions to make sure that this kind of situation will not happen again. But I think your adivise, especially the title, is kind of insulting for all our guest who likes our place and who's coming back everytimes they are in Quebec city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Great Place for Drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go here for after dinner drinks on the recommendation of our waitress at the Conti Cafe. She did not steer us wrong as we had our choice of a sidewalk table with heaters on the beautiful Rue Grande Alle. The drinks were good as so was our waiter whose name was Vincent. When I teased him about having two ears so he must not be Vincent Van Gogh, he looked at me like I was crazy. He had no idea who Vincent Van Gogh was....this is definitely a younger clientele place, but we senior citizens still had fun and ended up closing the place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre G, Gérant at Savini Resto-Bar Vinotheque, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Glad to read that you liked our place!!! Make sure that we will teach Vincent who's Vincent van Gogh! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The food was good ~ BUT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed across the street at the Chateau Laurier and it was obvious that this is the most popular reataurant along the block. Their patio was packed while other restaurants had only a few guest. So, we went in Saturday morning to make areservation for that night ~ even picked out a booth ~ "no problem!" But when we arrived on time, the reservation didn't matter. We waited while they seated two young girls who arrived after us; and then we were taken inside, to find"our" booth was occupied. We went up stair but refused the high traffic area table first offered. We were finally seated at a quiet table, but it was no bigger than one you will find in a coffee shop. Not a good start at all to my birthday celebration. The service was efficient. The food however ~ outstanding! Pesentation, Portion, and Taste were all Excellant. To be fair we were the oldest people in the restaurant which is obviously catering to a much younger crowd. We are glad we went ~ but will not return as there are just too many other choices available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savini Resto-Bar Vinotheque also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Savini Resto-Bar Vinotheque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savini Resto-Bar Vinotheque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.