We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #39 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
St. Catharines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Got a hotwire deal and am so glad we stayed here. About a 15 minute walk to old town and very close with great parking if you go to the parking lot about 2 minutes away from the hotel which charges $12 a day. The hotel was very clean and the house keeping was very kind by giving us extra shampoo and towels. Clean rooms. Great value if you don't want to spend lots. Right by tons of restaurants so you don't have to spend tons on Old Town food if you don't want to eat spend a lot. Comfortable with free WiFi. Great deal, kind staff very nice.

Room Tip: Avoid the main floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecyr, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your generous review about your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to post it. The housekeeping service staff is continuously improving their level of performance to offer our customers the most amazing experience as possible and we sincerely thank you for your appreciation. You may be sure I was very pleased to share your good comments with our Housekeeping Manager! I would like to clarify first that we offer a valet parking which is 22$ plus taxes per night and include in and out privileges. This kind of parking is, according to us, a must in Quebec City due to the fact that streets are really small and there is not much self-parking and parking lots in the Downtown area. The valet parking is, then, the easiest and even, usually, the cheapest way to park. However, there are no obligations for you to take this service. Many public parking, as you said, are located close by the hotel. The price may vary from one parking to the other, depending on the period of usage (week days or weekend, day or night) and total time spent. Please, keep in mind, though, that those parking are couple of minutes walking distance from the hotel and do not offer in and out privilege access, which both can be less convenient. Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope you will think of us when you will be back in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    310
    113
    32
    11
See reviews for
152
241
33
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Everything that everyone has said in previous reviews is pretty spot on about the location, walk and parking. This hotel is NOT convenient to the downtown area where all the tourist attractions are, but we had a rental car, so it wasn't a problem for us. It is also true that it's not the greatest part of town, but it's not horrible either. Yes...valet parking was expensive, but....very convenient, and we never waited for our car, it was always parked in front of the hotel when we called for it.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room we had was clean. Would suggest you ask for a room on one of the higher floors to be further away from street noise.
All things considered, I would definitely stay here again, if I was able to get the same deal from hotwire.

Room Tip: try to get a business class room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecyr, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments concerning your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Center Quebec. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to always improve ourselves and create enjoyable experiences for each of our guests. According to Google Maps, the walk to reach the walls of the old city is 1.3 kilometers long. Considering the Old City walls are located up a hill from our property, it takes about 15 minutes to reach them from the hotel and less than 10 minutes for the return. However, here are some tips you may want to know! Actually, we do not recommend our guests to visit the city using their car since driving in a city you don’t know can be a nightmare for a lot of tourists and also because parking is expensive and hard to find Downtown Quebec City. In fact, a good way to save a few steps and not fight for an expensive parking in the Old part of the city is to take the public transportation for about 3$ per person or to share a taxi-cab for about 10$ to go, and then walk around and come back to the hotel by walk! We invite, as well, TripAdvisor readers to note that hotels use Opaque Third Party websites such as Priceline or Hotwire to sell rooms that would go unsold otherwise. However the hotel cannot guarantee any specific room types or room location in the hotel for reservations or bookings that are completed via those opaque third party websites. This being said, it is always a pleasure four our front desk clerks to mark down our clients accommodations preferences when calling directly the hotel. The hotel management will always try to go the extra mile to make sure we meet and exceed our guest demands and expectations, accordingly to the hotel availability. Nevertheless, there are many other websites on which you may have a room type guaranteed online and different discounts. Never hesitate to contact us directly, we are here to help and make sure your experience will be way more than enjoyable! Again, thank you for your review. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This place is about 25mins.away by FOOt to the WALL...(and not advisable if you are traveling w small kids or elderly) NOT convenient place to stay if you are a tourist... I give the HOUSEKEEPING dept. F (failed) Mark........ My daughter & me stayed for 2nights, our assigned room looked and smells OLD and DINGY... Came back from day tour to find bathroom tub with the old wet wash cloth used fr.the morning shower,( not pickup )old facial tissues on the floor by the empty trash-bin and empty packet of coffee on the floor...NEVER seen such terrible services fr. Housekeeping ..... Did valet parking for 2 nights and car delivered to us on checkout with FLAT TIRE and DONT have the decency to tell us?? We found out ourselves and complained to the hotel....STILL charged about $55-$60 for 2nights...... Waited for about 1-1.5hrs. for hotel staff to changed to SPARE TIRES.... Totally BAD experiences with BEST western ... Will NEVER Come back ...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecyr, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Québec. I appreciate the fact that you took the time to post them. We are very disappointed to read that our hotel was a bad choice for you. When we say that cleanliness and service are our priority, we are not taking these words lightly. I am sincerely sorry you had a bad experience while staying with us and I want, at first, to offer you my sincerest apologies for all inconveniences you experienced. Concerning your parking comment, I can understand how frustrating it can be to get a flat tire. Although we take every reasonable precaution to safeguard the personal property of our guests, and the valet parking being very careful while driving our guests' cars, unfortunately, nobody is immune from getting a flat tire, regardless of the condition of the tires, soil or even temperature changes. However, when an unfortunate situation like that happens, we are always pleased to help you. Concerning your housekeeping comment, I am sincerely sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations. I wish I had more details to better understand what happened. Actually, in-house rooms are being cleaned each day during the afternoon. Maybe, we simply did not have the time to clean your room before you got back from your tour? To overpass this kind of situation, we do put in every room a door hanger that permits you to ask for a quicker and personalized service at the time you prefer. Moreover, please note that if this ever happen to you here or at any other hotel, the best way to solve this situation is to advise the Front Desk immediately so we can send a housekeeper to clean your room right away. This being said, I would be very pleased if you could contact me directly to discuss further this very singular situation, and find a solution up to your satisfaction. You may do so at mecyr@hotelquebec.com or 418-649-0095 #566 from Monday to Friday, from 9am to 5pm. We appreciate your patronage and hope this incident will not keep you from returning to Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Got an excellent deal on Hotwire.com for this place. We got a complimentary upgrade to a business class floor room which was on the highest floor. Room was nice and big(king bed). Bed & comforter were very comfortable. The internet was fast and free. Room also had a Keurig coffee machine which was nice.
Old Quebec is about a 15-20 minute walk. If one is traveling as a tourist, I would highly recommend staying in Old Quebec itself, all the attractions & restaurants are located there. But if this hotel is available at a good deal and one doesn't mind a walk, then there is no reason not to stay here.

Room Tip: Parking is expensive, $22+tax = $25 a night(unlimited in and out). Couldn't really find a cheape...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecyr, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for such a positive review about your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We are glad to know that you enjoyed being upgraded to one of our business class room. Actually, when the availability permits it, we like to upgrade guests to either business class rooms or executive class rooms. Pleasing guests is our #1 goal! All room categories offer the same level of quality and cleanliness and offers standard high quality natural memory foam mattresses, mp3/ipod compatible radio-clock, synthetic duvet comforter to name only a few. However, Business Class and Executive categories offer you that little plus most of people are looking for! When staying in a business class room, you are guaranteed to be on a higher floor and be provided with a mini-fridge, a Keurig coffee maker, bathrobes and deluxe amenities as well. If you are looking for more luxury, an Executive room is for you. These rooms are located in a private section of the hotel and offer the same benefits as the Business Class but the main advantage is the exclusive extra-large deluxe glass shower with rain shower head. It is a must! Moreover, it is true that FREE parking are difficult to find in the Quebec downtown area. This is why we are offering a Valet parking to provide you a simple and easy way to park in the average cost of the area. Once again, thank you for your great comments. I am glad you took the time to share them with the Tripadvisor readers and I hope my answer will help their travel shopping experience! We look forward to welcome you again when you will be back in the city and please note that our customer’s satisfaction is our priority and all ideas are always more than welcomed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western for a week at the end of October as we were attending a Conference at the Conference Centre. The hotel is about 1/2 hour from the airport. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were average, clean and well kept. The beds were lovely, soft and comfortable! The hotel had a nice breakfast buffet. If you drive parking was $22 / day (a little on the pricey side but comparable to Toronto). Some of us used the pool and hot tub and enjoyed the experience.
The only draw back for staying at the hotel was the fact that it was out of the way of the Conference Centre and Old Quebec City. They say it is about a 15- 20 minute walk but the walk is up hill and at times steep, so more like 30 minutes... very exhausting. We used a cab which cost approximately $7-$10 one way.
Some nice restaurants in the area ... Piazetta, their pizza is to die for!!
As for site seeing the carriage ride is a must do. It takes you around the Plains of Abraham and through Old Quebec, we had Chloe as our driver and she was wonderful!! Very knowledgeable.
We did not leave until Friday evening and checkout was 1130AM, so the hotel stored out bags in lock up. Overall nice experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecyr, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. We are effectively located 1km from the train and bus station and 15 km from Jean Lesage International Airport, which permits a lot of travelers to enjoy the Old Quebec City easily. There is also a flat taxi rates from the airport which is 34.75$ taxes included that you may request. The hotel is effectively located 1,2 Km from the old Quebec City. There are, though, much public transportation options you may use instead of taxis or walking to get to the old Quebec City. The bus ride is 3$ each way and brings you from the door of the hotel to the Convention Center directly, or to the St-Jean main entrance. This option is easy, quick and more affordable than the taxi and passes every 15 minutes, which is really convenient. Finally, Quebec City carriage rides are, for sure, a good way to discover our beautiful city even during the winter. Covered by warm blankets, the snow coming down, lovely Christmas lights bring you the dream and the magic Quebec City may offers. I do recommend this activity to all lovers or even friends and family that do want to discover the city by its own and not use the regular tours. Once again, thank you for your comments. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here late October. The hotel is a solid three star, which means its a very good stay. Its a bit dated, but very clean. We enjoyed it. Its just a bit out of the way from the downtown, Old Quebec area, but a nice walk (20-30 mins) if you like that. We got a great rate from Hotwire and didn't know we would get this hotel. it was fine for us.
The indoor pool area is very nice for quick dip. There's a hot tub too. The small gym is very basic and I did manage a workout.
We didn't use the Cafe/Restaurant attached. Find a place called A Thousand and One Pizza, but the name is actually in French. Its not too far from there. Delicious.
The Valet Parking was right next door, $22/day.
The area it's in is not a very "main" area. There are some nice cafes and shops, but for us we much preferred to stay a bit closer to downtown. If you Google Map it, you will see where it is in relation to Downtown.
As far as the hotel itself, I would certainly recommend it. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Contact me if you have any questions.

Room Tip: We were "upgraded" to the Executive part of the hotel, but not sure what that meant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecyr, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review concerning your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Center. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to recreate “outstanding stays” for each of our guests. I am glad that you liked discovering the Nouvo St-Roch District. It is a new tourist destination born in dynamic sector of the Capital, on the sidelines of Old Quebec. Our sector was the old working class neighborhood now reborn as center-stage for the city’s artistic events and as a cultural hub. Restaurants of all styles and prices in addition of a host of different boutiques are located on the popular St-Joseph Street, within five minutes walking form our hotel. Since then, Nouvo St-Roch is a premium destination in Quebec City due to its central location. The front desk may effectively offer our guests an upgrade upon check in depending on the hotel availability. I am glad you enjoyed our Executive part of the hotel, which offers, among other, an amazingly huge deluxe glass shower! It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we are sincerely happy to know that you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in October by using Priceline's "name your own price" and got a very good deal.

The location is pretty good, not in Old Quebec but still close enough to stores/restaurants and Old Quebec if you don't mind walking for about 15min.

Parking was pretty expensive (25$ +/day) and we were using the car a lot and so we decided to park on the street during the nights for free and use a public garage not too far away. This ended up costing us 12$ instead of the 50$ it would have.

Guy at check-in was efficient and helpful. Girl we asked suggestions on restaurants, on the other hand, was not so helpful as she apparently suggested pricey restaurants after we asked her for affordable ones.

The hotel and room itself are old but clean. The rooms need to be renovated and although you could see the carpet was a bit stained and old, you could see/feel that it was thoroughly cleaned.

All in all a great stay. Nice comfy beds, clean, nice staff and good location. Would recommend for a good price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecyr, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Bonjour!
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. Your feedback is very much appreciated as we take this information in consideration to analyze our performance and, eventually, take measures to recreate an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. I am glad that you liked our great location. We are effectively close by a great restaurant area. Although, the Bistro Le 330, our brand new restaurant, offers within the walls of the hotel a good and affordable north American meal . With or without reservations, it is always our pleasure to welcome you with the traditional Quebec hospitality! I want, as well, to point out that we offer a valet parking to accommodate our guests. The 22$ fee plus taxes per night is in the average parking prices around the hotel. Although, you may always choose the parking option you want, the front desk clerk is always available to show you all the available possibilities in the area. Finally, concerning your renovation suggestion please be aware that we continually renovate and renew our decor, part by part, every year, focusing on comfort and practical classic features for travelers in order to always improve ourselves. Again, thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre the next time you are in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville

Address: 330 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#33 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#40 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located 0.5 kilometers from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.