We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #35 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days while enjoying Quebec city. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and there was a very good room service. We had a lovely and comfortable place to rest after walking through the city during the day. In addition, the localization of the hotel was also vey nice since we just had to walk 3 min to a busstop to take a bus to downtown. When you come back you can get off at the busstop in front of the hotel.
It was an amazing and comfortable experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors and with windows facing the main street have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your great comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am happy to read that you liked your room as well as our service. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. Concerning our location, Downtown Quebec City is divided in 2 main parts: the upper and the lower part. And then, it is divided in 6 distinct districts as follows: Parliament Hill, Historic Old Quebec and Faubourg Saint-Jean-Baptiste in the higher town. Nouvo St-Roch District (where our hotel is located), Old Port and Quartier Petit Champlain in the lower town. We like to think that our location provides the best of both worlds. As we are not directly inside the walls of the old city, but near of it, we are easier to drive to because you avoid the vey singular street configuration of the historic Old Quebec. And there a still plenty of things to see and do in the Nouvo St-Roch District and it permits you to truly live Quebec City is a less touristy environment. Moreover, we are still pretty centrally located. We are near of everything: 1.2km from the entrance of the Old City, 1km from the Train and Bus Station “Gare du Palais”, 2km from the Cruise Terminal, 2km from the Old Port, 2km from the famous Chateau Frontenac and so it goes. All of those main points on interest are accessible by walk, public bus or cheap taxi ride. Once more, thank you for your contribution. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    290
    105
    32
    11
See reviews for
140
210
32
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thorold, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here with a few work colleagues while on a sales mission for work and loved it- we were upgraded to the executive wing I believe it was and the rooms were amazing. With traveling so much for work- you are used to standard rooms- and this was above and beyond.We also got a complimentary welcome drink, welcome bag and breakfast! Great location as well. There is not one thing I could complain about here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for such a positive review about your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We are glad to know that you had an “amazing” stay with us! Actually, when the availability permits it, we like to upgrade guests to either business class rooms or executive class rooms. Pleasing guests is our #1 goal! All room categories offer the same level of quality and cleanliness and offers standard high quality natural memory foam mattresses, mp3/ipod compatible radio-clock, synthetic duvet comforter to name only a few. However, Business Class and Executive categories offer you that little plus most of people are looking for! When staying in a business class room, you are guaranteed to be on a higher floor and be provided with a mini-fridge, a Keurig coffee maker, bathrobes and deluxe amenities as well. If you are looking for more luxury, an Executive room is for you. These rooms are located in a private section of the hotel and offer the same benefits as the Business Class but the main advantage is the exclusive extra-large deluxe glass shower with rain shower head. It is a must! Again, thank you for your feedback. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City for business… or for leisure! We look forward to welcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for three nights while in Quebec and found it quite comfortable and suited our purpose which was mainly to discover the old walled city of Quebec. A decent walk in and out each day to the old quarter gave us good exercise. A couple of blocks away you come to a huge set of stairs to climb to go up to the old city area, there is a elevator beside it if you don't want to take the steps but it is only working certain hours so be aware of that. Nearby there are a couple of Vietnamese restaurants which were very good and a small supermarket which was very handy. Good spot to explore from as long as you don't mind to walk a bit, if walking is not your cup of tea you would be far better off to stay somewhere inside the old walled city of Quebec which we loved.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your great review about your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post it. I am glad you enjoyed the “nice walk to Old City area”. We are indeed perfectly suited to discover the old walled city but also many other places of interests like the Convention Center (1.1 km), Old Port & Cruise Terminal (2 km), famous Château Frontenac (2.0 km), Pepsi Coliseum & Expocité Exhibition Center (3 km) to name only a few. We are very proud of our privileged location in the city making almost all of Quebec sight and attractions easy to reach for our guests by walk, or a short bus or cab ride quickly arranged with one of our staff. And you are right, be prepared to walk in Quebec City, it is the best way to discover it! Thank you also for sharing the tip on the elevator. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room was nice and clean. Other reviewers have noticed a smell in the halls. I noticed it; it reminded me of swimming pool chlorine. The hotel boasts that it thoroughly cleans each hotel room between guests and the smell may be a result of that. It did not bother me. I did not smell it in the room.
This is a not the Waldor, but it is perfectly serviceable. The minus was the location--quite far from the downtown and Old Quebec City areas. The plus was the front desk staff. They were very pleasant and eager to help.
BTW, the hotel has no laundry facility or pickup. There is a small , decrepit-looking laundromat on Rue du Roi at Dorchester, the next door down from a barber shop, about a block from the hotel. It is unattended. Buy a small box of Tide at the depanneur (convenience store) across the street from the laundromat, and make sure you birng your own change.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time to post your comments following your visit to the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I am glad you think of our hotel as “a nice choice in Quebec City” and that you appreciated our pleasant and helpful front desk staff. You are right; our hotel has no on-site laundry facility. However, we do provide a dry-cleaning service with clothes returned in 24h. Concerning the smell of chlorine, unfortunately, is it the inconvenience that comes with a hotel that provides an indoor pool. Some people smell it, some don’t. But it is true that it may smell chorine in hallways located near the pool. We thank you for your honest review and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. In general, the beds were great, the linens were new and crisp. The layout was nice and the bathroom was adequate. There was a smell of dampness in our room and noticed it right away; perhaps because there was not a lot of ventilation in the bathroom. The airconditioner was on and needed to be on to help with the air circulation. Unfortunately it was a bit loud. The guys who parked our car misplaced our key so when we had to dash down to the start of the marathon, we were unable to take our car. The reception staff remedied it very quickly by ordering us a taxi and paying for the taxi fares associated with the marathon for that day. I was impressed by her quick thinking and getting us there on time. Also there was no problem getting reimbursed.
We would stay there again. A great restaurant across the street.. a byob with great vietnamese food!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the beds and the room layout. However, the incident with our misplaced car key is very regrettable and I hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We are disappointed that we failed to give you the fine service and consideration we strive for with all our guests. Valet staffs are always very cautious but when parking hundreds of car each day, unfortunately, some issues like that may happen on rare occusion. Hopefully, the issue was quickly handled and resolved to your satisfaction. And concerning the smell you noticed when entering your room, since you are not the first guest to notice it since a few weeks, I investigate this and lately found out that we have been repainting a lot of room door in the past month and it seems that the industrial paint that was used had a untypical smell and we think that this may be the cause of the smell a few guests noticed. I apologize about the inconvenience. Since then, we have changed the type of paint to refrain unwanted odor. Hopefully, no other guests will be inconvenienced anymore by this kind of smell. Again, thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to our attention. It is through comments such as yours that we are improving and will carry out the necessary measures to ensure that the problem you experienced are refrained. We appreciate your patronage and we are glad to know you would come back to stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. I promise we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was very friendly and they even lent us umbrellas for us to walk to old Quebec. It isn't the closest, but it was close enough to walk. (Be sure to use the elevator up the street so that you don't have to walk up and over the hill to get to Old Quebec.) Their breakfast buffet downstairs was pretty good. The room was spacious and nice. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We got a corner room which was big enough for the 5 of us to stay comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you very much for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am glad that you mentioned we are not located in the Old Quebec, but within walking distance. In fact, according to Google Maps, the walk to reach the walls of the old city is 1.2 kilometers long and in part uphill. It takes approximately 15 minutes to reach the walls of the Old City from our hotel and about 10 minutes for the return. You are right, there is a free elevator located at the end of our street (de la Couronne) that you may take to avoid some of the climbing. But, it is not open 24h a day so please verify schedule prior planning using it. I am glad you appreciated our friendly staff, the comfort of your room as well as the buffet breakfast at our restaurant. So thank you very much for your contribution. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked a hotel outside of "Old Quebec" to save a little money. Hotel was great. Room was large and clean. Even though the hotel was booked solid for the weekend, we heard no noise in the hall. Location was excellent. Walk to attractions was between 10-20 minutes.

Pros:
-Clean
-Affordable
-Safe Location
-Nice Rooms
-Breakfast buffet

Cons
-Only "valet" parking was available. Convenient but expensive (22$/day)
-Coffee shop on the main level was disappointing, would suggest Van Houtte's across the street

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. I am glad you enjoyed most of our facilities as well as our ideal location. Concerning parking, I would like to precise that our valet parking is absolutely optional, not mandatory. If you prefer self-parking, you may choose from one of the many public parking surrounding our hotel. Price may vary from one to another and may involve a few minutes’ walk to get the car each time you need it. Otherwise, we believe our 22$ flat per night valet service provides the best simple and secure option for your car, with unlimited in an out access. Once again, thank you for your great review. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville

Address: 330 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located 0.5 kilometers from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.