We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #37 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Two things I didn't like: the price of the parking and the cleanliness of the swimming pool.
But if I'll visit Quebec city again, I will definitely consider to stay in the same hotel.

It would be nice though to have the two points above improved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Bonjour, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to share and post your comments. We use feedback from our guests to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Thank you to bring our attention regarding the pool issue, your comments was transmitted to our Maintenance Director.Quebec City parking situation is very similar to what is happening in downtown of most of the large cities: there is more demand than parking spaces available. To accommodate our guests, we got as many spaces as possible in the surroundings some of which are located 10 minutes walking from the hotel. Valet service is available for 20.00$ per car, per night, plus taxes and your vehicle will be delivered next to the main entrance of the hotel within 15 minutes.It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and I am sincerely happy to know that you will visit us again with your family the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    294
    106
    33
    11
See reviews for
145
212
32
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed 2 days for a lover's week-end booked via Hotwire at a more than reasonable price.
Upon arrival i asked for a room on the upper floor and or corner room and was offered to upgrade for a ''Plus'' room for only 10$ a night, very happy i was.
It was a spacious room, clean and exactly what i was expected.

Pros :

- Staff very competent and nice
- Great location, rue St-Joseph is just around the corner and 1km from Old Québec
- Very reasonable prices
- Clean rooms
- Keurig's coffee machine, big LCD TV, small fridge in the ''Plus'' rooms, good pressure and hot water in shower

Cons :

- In the morning there were loud ''bang'' noises as if we were under the gym, but we never knew what it was (neither did the staff)
- Small windows (and frozen in winter)
- The view from the room on the ''De la Couronne'' corner street is more than ordinary, even on the 5th of 6 floors.

I would have given 4 stars in this review but the noise in the morning disturbed me enough so that i don't think that i will go back soon.
Maybe i was very badlucky and the noise is not always present. I have to mention that i am very picky about silent rooms in hotels, so i would still recommend anyone i know to try it out.

A definitive go for budget minded travelers that are looking for cleanliness and good location in Québec city, and are not waiting for more than a standard hotel room.

Room Tip: Ask for the ''surclassement'', giving you a ''Plus'' room for only 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments concerning your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Center. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to always improve ourselves and create enjoyable experiences for each of our guests. It is always a pleasure four our front desk clerks to mark down our clients preferences concerning the bedding preference when calling directly at the hotel. We will always do our best to meet the demands of our guests, accordingly to the hotel availability. Again, thank you for your review. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western City Plus Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-Daniel, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel.
When we went to check in right around 3:00, we were informed that our assigned room was not ready yet and were asked to wait about 15 minutes and check back with them (this was being asked of others as well). After about 10 minutes a receptionist called us over and informed us that our room was still not ready, but would give us another room and given that we had to wait would give us a room in a quiet section of the hotel (accessible only by key card). This suited us both well as we were tired.

The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Given the room was in a locked section of the hotel it was very quiet. During my previous stay it was a bit louder given the room overlooked the restaurant.

The bathroom had a very large shower.

The spa and pool look much larger and nicer in the photos that the hotel provides. The pool is quite small compared to other hotels - as is the spa. Apart from some obnoxious people there that night - the pool and spa were still enjoyable.

Although the hotel lists parking - note that there is only valet parking available. From walking around a bit and seeing the hotel valet people, it seems that they park the cars wherever they can find a spot. There is indoor parking right across the street, but you must be out by 7 AM.

I do look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Bonjour, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to share and post your comments. We use feedback from our guests to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We provide traditional rooms, business class rooms and executive rooms. When staying in a business class room, you are guaranteed to be on a higher floor and be provided with a mini-fridge, a Keurig coffee maker, bathrobes and deluxe amenities as well. If you are looking for more luxury, an executive room is for you. These rooms are in a private section of the hotel and offer the same benefits as the business class but the main advantage is the large deluxe glass shower with rain shower head instead of the regular bath with shower. Our heated indoor pool (25 feet long by 16 feet wide and 1.1 meters to 1.2 meters deep) it is surrounded in a hand painted decor of landscapes representing the Quebec region. It is open every day from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Valet service is available for 20.00$ per car, per night, plus taxes and your vehicle will be delivered next to the main entrance of the hotel within 15 minutes.
It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and I am sincerely happy to know that you will visit us again with your family the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just got back from spending 5 days at the Best Western in Quebec city. We booked last minute through priceline and ended up with a great room. Rooms were clean and you could not hear the neighbours. It is about a 15 min walk to the old city, very doable. Parking is $20 per day with in/out privileges. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks and Happy New Year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Bonjour,
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful that you let us know of your satisfaction. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. I am sincerely happy to know that you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel is located a walking distance from the old town and this is very convenient . All the staff is friendly, room and bathroom clean. I am not impressed with the room size. The room we got was definitely too small for two people staying for five days. There was only one armchair and one desk chair. After a busy day we wanted to rest in the evening reading or watching tv. One of us had sit on the bed or desk chair. The other disappointment was no fridge in the room. When we asked for it , we were told there is additional charge. The Best Western plus website lists the mini fridge as a standard and still this location wants to charge an extra fee for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Bonjour, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to share and post your comments. We use feedback from our guests to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. As you have mentioned, our property is located close to Historic Old City 15 – 20 minutes walking going uphill. According to Google Maps, our hotel is located 1350 meters (1,3km) from Old Town. Our goals and objective is to continually renew our features to be up with our guests expectations. We understand that fridges become a key amenity in a hotel room. Compact refrigerators are available in our Business Class and Executive rooms. Otherwise, it is totally fair to say that our decor is classic. We invite Trip Advisor Readers to visit our property web site in order to gather information on our various room types and services available within our property. Again, Thank you. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope you will visit us again at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights while visiting Quebec. Rooms were clean, but I felt they were outdated. Bathroom was clean, and modern. The hotel itself had a very classy feel to it which I liked. A few things I didn't like were: there was no microwave or fridge in the room, pool was very difficult to find, our room wasn't cleaned when we came back at the end of the day. Overall, okay place to stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to share and post your comments following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec City. We would like to take this opportunity to point out our property offers three (3) room types, Traditional / Business Class and Executive. Different amenities (i.e. Fridge available in Business Class and Executive, not available in Traditional) is offered in our room categories. We invite travelers to visit our own property web site, contact our reservation agents or your own travel agent since some of our room types may not be available on all Online Travel Agencies (OTA). We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec City next time you are in Quebec City. We can assure you we will do the extra mile to make your stay a comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Everything was good apart from:
- had to pay for valet service same price as for local covered parking (~CAD 20) while car appeared to be parked on nearby gravel lot
- window in my room on the first floor where I stayed was locked and there was no central AC. So I woke up in the morning with severe migraine. When I was back to the room after going outside I realized what was the reason: NO fresh air inside.

Room Tip: Check if you can open the window or if there is central AC bringing fresh air from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
First, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding your past stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-ville. We use comments like yours to improve our overall service level to our guests. Parking is an ongoing challenge in City Centre especially if you are not fully aware of the City rules and regulations. We feel our valet service is an alternative if you are driving to Quebec City. We invite Trip Advisor Readers to be well aware of this when conducting and comparing hotels. We suggest to include 20.00$/day plus all applicable taxes parking fee when considering what you are looking to pay for your entire accommodation stay in City Centre Quebec. Our property offers quality accommodation with various room types including rooms that are located on the first floor. Each and every room offers individual AC unit and thermostat. Our reservation, front desk and maintenance services are always available to assist with any issue you may encounter during your stay. Again, we thank you for your comments and patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville

Address: 330 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located 0.5 kilometers from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.