We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went on honeymoon there.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Tresor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Auberge du Tresor to your Saves list
Auberge du Tresor
20, St. Anne St., Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X2, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 124 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Detroit, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Went on honeymoon there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went on my honeymoon and stayed at this hotel. This place is excellent. We were there for 7 days, 6 nights. This hotel is situated right by the Chateau Frontenac, with a nice view of the back of the Chateau. It is also right on the street where there are a lot of artists and musicians. Right next door is the Office of Tourism, where you can buy tickets to other things in and around Quebec City. The manager I talked to gave us a sweet deal, and I don't know if it's because we were on our honeymoon, or stayed a long time. The rate we paid was comparable to staying at the Chateau, but we got a lot more - breakfast, dinner, and a parking discount. We also had breakfast every morning at their restaurant, 1640, and three 5 course meals. We were also able to get a discount on parking and parked in an underground lot not far from the hotel. Can I say, this was the best deal and the best location! The room itself was comfortable and recently renovated (including the bathroom). We had free wifi. Our room overlooked the street where people were getting dropped off by tour buses (lots of bustling especially Thur-Sun), and had a view of the Chateau Frontenac. I remember looking out over a man dressed in a clown suit making balloon animals for children.
The food is amazing! Everyone morning we had a delicious breakfast (again, included in the price). The dinners we had at 1640 also were very fancy, and at times, I was embarrased because I wasn't wearing evening wear. If you eat indoors in the fancy part, try not to wear casual. There are 3 sections to the restaurant - outdoors, which we ate every morning, indoors near where the bar/bartender was, and indoors that was more fancy. That is where we ate our dinners - and I ate really well! This was top notch French cuisine. The food was so good, and would definitely recommend even though you aren't staying in the hotel. Our meals were part of our hotel stay, but if you eat there and not stay there, be prepared for the price $$$$.
In addition, the location is ideally situated, right near one of the gates of the walled-in city, so you can easily walk in and out of Old Quebec. Not far of a walk from shopping either! We didn't use our car all week; there was plenty of public transportation for outside old Quebec. And when they down the hill, they literally the hill. There are elevators and stairs to the lower part of Quebec, which was so neat. We loved it here. The people were so nice.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are with your friends or as a couple. I would definitely come back! Such charm!

Room Tip: Stayed above the restaurant, 1640, with a view of the street. The street was busy, but we were not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    56
    19
    14
    2
See reviews for
21
87
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel has plenty of character and charm. We were in room 30 on the third floor. Room was renovated through and through with fancy new rain shower. It was on the smaller side with only double bed, but we had a magnificent view of chateau Frontenac form our window and only came back to room to sleep anyways. One thing to know, there is no elevator and the staircases are narrow, so think about the suitable luggage. This is a pretty old place after all, but we loved it for it. Restaurant downstairs “1604” serves great breakfast. Parking is off-site, but only a minute walk away. You do not need to have car there anyways, everything is within a walking distance. We had a very pleasant experience and would certainly recommend a comfort room in the hotel. Luxury rooms are bigger in size, so look for luxury rooms if you prefer roomier spaces.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed three nights at this hotel in August. It is one of the original buildings in Old Quebec City so the rooms are small. However the one we stayed in had been updated and had a very modern shower with mega-jets in all directions. Very nice. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Compared to other places, the price was very reasonable which is good because you don't spend much time in the room as there is so much to see and do and buy in the city. The staff was polite and accommodating. The best feature of this hotel is the location. It is a stone's throw from the Chateau Frontenac and right at the top of the artists' alley. The restaurant on the ground level does a lovely breakfast which was very handy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

There was a small mishap at the hotel the night I stayed. Totally not the hotels fault at all. What did the owners do? They compt everything! They drove us around in their own cars. They took care of us like we were their own family. I would recommend this place to anyone. With ethical people like this...how can you go wrong! I would stay here again and again an again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Ronco, Switzerland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We reserved rooms with castle view and ended up having rooms with a view of the wall, so be careful, before carrying your luggage up the stairs ask to see the room that is assigned to you. Rooms are small and bathrooms even smaller, very clean though and the location is perfect, right in the heart of Old Quebec, right across the road from the Hotel Frontenac. We did manage to change rooms and we were given one with the Frontenac view and even though it is on a main pedestrian road it was very quiet (after midnight of course). If you have problems walking up the stairs,then this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great location! Peolpe were wonderful. The romance package was good value and the food was very good as well. The room itself was small, but very comfortable and clean (we were only there to sleep so it wasn't an issue anyway). We arrived early so they locked up our luggage and directed us to the parking and we were off - we enjoyed everything!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel Auberge du Tresor was reasonably priced and in a great location in Old Quebec, right across the street from the majestic Hotel Frontenac. Artists were set up in the quaint alley next to the hotel and there were many artists nearby sketching portraits of visitors. The hotel has a cute outdoor cafe that is open from early morning 'til late at night and there are many other outdoor eateries in close proximity. My friend and I were in Room 32 with 2 double beds, a newly renovated tiled bathroom and a clean room. We were very satisfied with the room. The only negative was the lack of an elevator, but we had an attendant carry our luggage up, which was worth the tip! As two women in this city, we felt very safe in this small hotel and walking the streets at night....many people were out and about, likely due to the music festival that was going on. We felt we were in Europe....it is a beautiful city to walk in with flowers everywhere! Make sure you stroll across the street from the hotel to enjoy a drink at the bar or on the terrace at the Hotel Frontenac, which is about double the cost of this charming hotel!

Room Tip: when we got to the hotel we asked to look at 2 rooms and chose our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Tresor

Address: 20, St. Anne St., Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge du Tresor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Tresor Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Du Tresor Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Tresor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.