We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels Like Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Town (Haute-Ville)

Upper Town (Haute-Ville)
Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 119 Attractions in Quebec City
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The hilly section of the city known as Upper Town developed later than the original settlement it overlooks.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Feels Like Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It's like a flew and landed somewhere in Europe. Upper town gives you some great views of the river and beyond. Lots of excellent places to eat and shop in. Great board walk although it does get windy so bring a jacket in the spring time!

Loved that all the buildings are snug together and painted different colours. You can do tours but wandering around the city adds its own charm.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    55
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
122 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“French Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The upper town in Quebec bears the French charm and for some time you would really forget that you are in Canada and not in any French town. The buildings are all French styled and many of them are Heritage structures. The Chateau Frontenac outshines them all. Its not only huge, it's imposing as well. The visit to the citadel is awesome and you get to have fantastic views of the Chateau and the St.Lawrence River lazily flowing in front of you.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I enjoyed the Upper Town's beauty. I preferred the feel of Lower Town, but it was worth the ride up the funicular to Upper Town. The boardwalk gave great visibility to the lower section, and the horse & carriage rides are available in this section

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“European Feel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Walking the streets of the Upper Town is like being in a town in France. You do not need a car because all the sites, hotels and restaurants within this walled city are so close to each other. The must see Chateau Frontenac, the Citadelle, Terrasse Dufferin, Basilica of Notre Dame, etc. are easily accessible to each other. It is magnificent in the summer but also in the other seasons, and the Carnaval de Quebec in February is a truly unique and fun event.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Unfortunately the weather was not on our side this visit, so we did not get to walk as much as we had planned. We took the funicular up to the Upper Town and spent a few hours wandering around. It was very interesting and unique. I am sure we missed a lot of things, but will definately go back. It was recommended that we park at the bottom of the hill and walk up because it is easier to walk down the hill when you are tired. It is a recommendation worth taking. We parked close to the ferry terminal which is just across the road from the town. Parking was $10 for 12 hours which is well worth it. If you are taking a vehicle into the Upper Town be aware that the streets are very narrow and there are many one way streets.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Town (Haute-Ville) also viewed

 

Been to Upper Town (Haute-Ville)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Town (Haute-Ville), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.