We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in Upper Town...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Town (Haute-Ville)

Upper Town (Haute-Ville)
Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 118 Attractions in Quebec City
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The hilly section of the city known as Upper Town developed later than the original settlement it overlooks.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“We stayed in Upper Town...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have visited Historic Quebec on a number of occasions and I always marvel at how it moves me. I have stayed both in Upper Town (Haute-Ville) and Lower Town (Basse-Ville) and both offer so much to you...I enjoy Upper town for restaurants and shopping. The proximity in upper town, allows you to walk to everything. It is so convenient you can park the car and leave it or simply arrive by taxi from the airport and stroll wherever your interests take you.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    55
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tourist trap but a must-see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's essential to visit Upper Town, namely to see the walls, the gates and the Plains of Abraham. But if you want real culture, descend to Lower Town and go to Grand Allee for the cuisine.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Are we in Paris ???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Romantic with all its little cafés, boutiques, the Upper town has a definitely european cachet ! and don't worry, you can be served in english without problem. We simply loved it !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ancien Canadiens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We joined Canadians who came to the Northern Hemisphere four centuries ago and shared the beauty of the city they founded. It is an experience akin to being in Europe!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
133 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in North America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I knew Quebec City was special, but I didn't know it was so extraordinary. I've just fell in love with this city.
Charming, beautiful, vibrant, cool, full of history, art, culture, architecture, rich gastronomy and many other things one could say about it.
And the people...
Ah! people are amazingly nice, friendly, good-humored and all the time ready to help. One doesn't even have to ask. They realize when you're in need of something and just come to offer information, directions and, most important, insider tips.
Upper Town, with its nice streets, elegant façades carefully ornamented with flowers, its churches and imposing buildings in several styles, is an overwhelming delight.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Town (Haute-Ville) also viewed

 

Been to Upper Town (Haute-Ville)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Town (Haute-Ville), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.