We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive to your Saves list
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   79, rue Saint Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Merrick, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Our stay in your hotel was simply fantastic.. The location was great the service was fantastic, each and every person that we came across in the hotel was pleasant, friendly, and helpful. The room we had was number 118, it was so beautiful, my family was very happy with it. My children loved the jacuzzi tub and the cooked to order breakfast was huge bonus. They were extremely accommodating even with my family's food restrictions such as gluten intolerance. Overall I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there when our next visit is too Quebec City

Room Tip: Room 118 was GREAT, however no elevator access. You must be able to go up several flights of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    124
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
92
240
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

During our recent travels to Quebec City, we stayed for two nights at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, situated in the heart of the Lower Town (Basse-Ville). We were very excited to stay at this enchanting boutique hotel located inside a historic building. While visiting a city that felt straight out of Europe, it appeared as though this intimate hotel was equally as charming as Old Quebec itself.

Our hotel room was a “Classic Room” on the fourth floor – room 408. The room faced towards the back of the building overlooking Rue du Sault au Matelot and the Séminaire de Quebec up on the hill. When we both walked in the room, we both uttered, “Wow!”

We adored the brick walls and stone throughout our room and bathroom that were kept from the original Insurance building. The room was tastefully decorated with plenty of storage space for clothes and personal items. The bed and pillows were very comfortable at night, perfect for getting a good night’s rest before heading out on the town to explore. The air conditioning kept the room at the perfect temperature, especially during these hot summer days.

There was a Keurig machine in the room for coffee and tea, and an additional Keurig machine down in the lobby for more hot beverages if we required them. In the cupboard, we found two robes and an umbrella to borrow, which we definitely would have used had we not brought our own!

The room had a wall-mounted flat screen HD television with plenty of channels, though we didn’t end up watching any TV. There was a desk that could function as a great work area. Plus, the hotel came with free Wifi, which we used on our smartphones without any problems. The walls were decorated with old photographs of the heritage buildings and Old Quebec, very fitting for the style and history of the hotel.

The layout of the bathroom was incredibly unique. When we first entered, we could see the toilet to our left, and a sink in front of us with a long shelf for storing personal items. Then, there was an archway leading to a separate space with the bathtub and shower. We later discovered that the reason behind this design was to maintain the original structure of the historic building as much as possible: this bathroom was originally a part of the safe room of the insurance company! We loved that the hotel was designed by integrating these original components of the building

When we reached the hotel around 6:30pm, we parked in front of the building and were greeted by a friendly staff member who carried our suitcase up the steps. We handed over our car key to the valet so our car could be parked in a safe area until we needed it. The lady at the front desk welcomed us to the hotel and told us some small details, such as the time for breakfast the following morning. Overall, we were very pleased with the staff at the hotel and the traditional vibe of the front lobby.

A la carte breakfast was included in the price of our hotel room and was offered in a separate dining area between 7am and 10am. There was a full page of menu options listed for breakfast. Unfortunately for us as vegans, these meals consisted mostly of meat, eggs, and dairy. We do not fault the hotel at all as these are breakfast meals that would be served at any fine establishment. However, our server was incredibly accommodating when we explained our dietary restrictions and we requested some bagels and fruit. The bagels were served with fresh fruit jam, and the fruit was artfully arranged on the plate. We also enjoyed orange juice and coffee to drink.

We fell in love with Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive. This hotel was charming, comfortable, and felt like our home away from home. The hotel merged effortlessly with the historic sights of Old Quebec as the building is a part of the history. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again and would book in an instant upon our return to Quebec City!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

In Vieux Quebec across from the Museum of Civilization on Rue St. Pierre. Very convenient to everything in Vieux Quebec and reasonably priced for location. Very helpful staff who fix things quickly should anything be amiss and who actively work to make stay most pleasant. Connected to sister and upscale Hotel 71 so you have access to there top floor (great views) fitness room and concierge who is outstanding & extraordinarily experienced. Comfortable rooms and bath facilities. Not on a heavily trafficked street, yet within a block or two of where everything is happening. Few blocks from roadway/sidewalk to upper part of old Quebec and three short blocks from funicular if you'd rather not hike the very steep hill.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed in one of the suites for 4 nights on a trip to Montreal/Quebec. As is the case with most everyone we met in French Canada, the staff was beyond friendly and certainly helpful. The customer service from the front desk was exceptional; merci' en particular, Vanessa and Joliette. We mentioned that the bathroom door squeaked and it was fixed in an hour.

The location in lower town is quieter than the upper town with many fine places to eat and a nice selection of shops. The suite had stone walls, windows that opened, a queen bed, pull out sofa and a small table.

The distractions, depending on your needs may not matter to you. The internet in the rooms worked fine, then not at all; if you tried to use it in the morning or at night when people were in the hotel, a non-starter, better in the middle of the day. The "kitchen" is really a sink, refrigerator and Keurig machine, don't expect to be able to cook or even heat up food

The breakfast was of very good quality and no-charge, but interminably slow. We did not go there after the first morning. Two servers, no bus person and what appeared to be one cook; the dining room is small, you wait to get in and then the wait to order and for food leads to a 45 minute or more breakfast. Most people will want to get on with their day in the AM.

Silly stuff like a computer in the lobby but no printer?
I suspect that most people want to print boarding passes or tickets. We e-mailed the file to the staff who printed out immediately but it would be simple to just have a printer there.

They do allow you to use the business center and work-out room of their sister property next door, hotel 71. If you want more of a traditional hotel experience, hotel 71 is the way to go. If you are looking for a small inn with assistance in seeing the sights, definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for higher floors facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed there two nights to celebrate a milestone birthday for her, and that's all I'm saying about that. After a harrowing drive down a narrow sightseer festooned one way street more reminiscent of a spacious sidewalk than a road suitable for four wheel motorized vehicles, we took a turn onto Rue St Pierre and presently arrived at the Inn. A valet soon dispatched our car to a nearby lot and we registered and went to our spacious, clean, and perfectly decorated room. We especially admired the expanse of brick highlighting the decor. The staff was always cordial and readily helpful. The included breakfast was a la carte, delicious and efficiently served in a lovely dining room. Step outside either the front or rear door and all the history, architecture, and culture of this slice of Europe 180 miles from our Maine home was at our feet.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique C, Sales Representative at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Bonjour Cyndave111,

What a pleasure to read your review! I am thrilled that we were able to meet all your expectations and that you enjoyed your experience at Le Saint-Pierre, auberge distinctive. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our property, the breakfast restaurant and the area.

Please do not hesitate to write me at dclaveau@hotel71.ca when you plan to return. Again, thank you for your gracious words, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Dominique Claveau
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Very friendly staff, but I would have expected much more for the price I paid.
We had to wait 35mins for breakfast on our first morning (the dining room was full at 9.45am).
We had to pay 21cad for valet parking every night (there are no other options to leave your car in town)
Wifi was spotty at best
No mini bar in rooms
We had asked (2 months in advance) for a room with a view (top floors), but didn't get one. Instead got a very small (though clean and comfortable) room.
All in, a good experience though way too expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Lovely Auberge in the heart of Old Quebec in Quebec City. Nice breakfast included and the staff most delightful. Cute, cosy but a tad tight. Ok for the summer but it maybe too tight if I want to go in the Winter months for a stay. Rooms did not have wifi only in the dining room or hotel reception area. Otherwise, we were satisfied with it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique C, Sales Representative at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Bonjour Ocharmie,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Le Saint-Pierre, auberge distinctive. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your experience with us.

WiFi internet access usually work very well in our guestrooms. We may have experienced some issues with our connexion during your stay, I apologize about that. Although I am glad that you were still able to reach our WiFi in our public area.

Regarding the size of your room, I would maybe recommend you try a superior type of room for your next stay. Those rooms are a lot more spacious and comfortable for only a little extra. Please contact me if you are planning a next stay at Le Saint-Pierre, I would be pleased to accomodate you with a different kind of room if we have availability.

We are looking forward in welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Dominique Claveau
Sales Representative
dclaveau@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Address: 79, rue Saint Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is no small wonder that Le Saint Pierre is one of Quebec City’s most sought-after properties. The combined beauty and elegance of its 200 year-old façade with the natural warmth of its interior with parquet flooring and exposed stone and brick walls is, quite simply, beautiful.Fine hotel elegance and incomparable, intimate Old Quebec charm make our 31 rooms and 10 Suites a winning combination for all our guests.Cozy, warm, dynamic atmosphere as well as complimentary breakfast and Internet access await you at Le Saint Pierre, Auberge Distinctive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Saint-Pierre Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Pierre Quebec
Auberge St Pierre
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.