We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but lack of attention to detail” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive to your Saves list
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   79, rue Saint Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly staff but lack of attention to detail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

cleaning of the room was very poor. Paint peeling on bathroom ceiling. Dust balls under furniture. Used coffee not replaced and mugs not clean. Breakfast was rushed. Staff pleasant and helpful when asked. Good location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Bonjour R13N,

We want to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay with us at Le St-Pierre auberge distinctive!

We are glad to know that you have appreciated the warm welcoming you received from our reception and valet staff!

Nevertheless, It was certainly a disappointment to read your comment regarding the cleanliness of you room.

Our housekeeping team always delivers clean and tidy rooms, beds and floors immaculate, renewed hospitality products and bathroom well scoured. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of cleanliness you have been experiencing during you rencent stay among us…

Rest assured that the housekeeping manager is aware of this unfortunate situation and has already took actions for this situation not to occur one more time in the future.

I assure you that we are well recognized for the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and common areas and I would appreciate if you could keep this image of our establishment.

If Quebec city is considered for another stay, please do not hesitate to contact me personnaly for a reservation so I could make the proper arrangements.

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    131
    30
    6
    5
See reviews for
97
262
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

At 3 p.m. we arrived in Québec City, which is an hour before the hotel’s listed check in time. The front desk clerk warmly welcomed us and invited to have a seat in the lobby while they finished preparing our room. The bellman/valet helped us bring in our bags. The lobby was a cozy room with fresh lemonade, tea, and coffee. While we waited we spoke with the concierge. She brought out a map of Québec and gave us great advice about the city's attractions.

When we were shown to our room, our bags had already been stored in the closet. The room was lovely. It was spacious with a writing nook, a living area, a kitchen, a large bathroom with a window, and a separate unenclosed bedroom area. The furniture was not the traditional one-style-fits-all hotel furniture, but was a mixture of antiques and newer styles. We set up the rollaway bed we had requested on the other side of the sleeper sofa and we still had plenty of room.

Breakfast is included with room. I am not a breakfast person, but the breakfast served at this hotel is amazing. It’s not the traditional buffet style breakfast. It’s like eating at a restaurant. When you arrive you are seated at a fully set table with a white tablecloth. The waitress gives you a menu with several different options including among other things, french toast, eggs benedict, and crepes. The service was better than I’ve received at many restaurants, and the food was delicious.

The hotel is in an excellent location in the lower part of Québec. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

It would be a waste of time to say the same things that the others before me said. After all, in large part it was their reviews that made me want to stay at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge with my family in the first place. For what we were looking for, it was practically perfect. I'll just agree with all of the compliments. But, I question some of the criticisms. Everybody has a misstep now and then. Just to speak to a couple of things! Although the hotel doesn't have a full service restaurant, the concierge that was mentioned by others was actually shared with a sister hotel (Hotel Le 71) and there is a restaurant named Matto adjacent to that. You don't even need to step outside to go from one to the next. It was very convenient on the one night that it rained to have the restaurant essentially down the hall. The concierge service was great and making a reservation for us on that crowded rainy night was a blessing. One of many reservations and assists they gave us. As pointed out, Le Saint-Pierre Auberge does have a cafe that serves breakfast only. I have to agree about the breakfast menu, though. While the staff was great all five days we were there, the menu was nothing special and it was the same every day. Personally, I thoroughly enjoyed the local restaurants that we disovered on our own as well as the ones recommended by the concierge. Overall, I'd have to give Le Saint-Pierre Auberge a rating of 5. It suited our tastes just fine. Old world charm, just enough modern convenience, perfectly situated in Old Quebec, excellent overall service and reasonably priced. If/when I come back to Quebec, I'm staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 305!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a suite. It was enormous. The price was comparable with other hotels we looked at. The service was incredibly friendly, professional and helpful. The concierge helped with suggestions for what to do with our afternoon in Quebec, room was clean. Bed was great.

Great location for access to the Petite Char. and you can easily reach the furnicular and/or stairs to reach the walled city above. I would say the location is absolutely perfect.

We did have to get a different sheet for the pull-out couch. It had sand all over it or something. But they were prompt and helpful in getting that resolved. It did not detract from our stay.

We would (and probably will) stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauchringen, Germany
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Small hotel right in the center of the lower town (with the entrance to the Museum of Civilisation just across the - narrow - street). The rooms are nice and clean - the higher, the better, as the upper floors are quieter. They offer all the mod cons you might want, including free Wi-Fi.

You can access the hotel by car, which is then taken care of by a valet. (Parking is CAD 25/day).

Reception is friendly and efficient, the concierge service excellent and very helpful - especially if you are looking for a good restaurant, which is not easy with the (ever-changing) multitude of places. [The hotel itself does not have a restaurant.]

The à-la-carte breakfast menu is limited and nothing to write home about, but the service friendly.

All in all a charming little hotel - though a bit on the expensive side, but that is not unusual in Québec City.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here as part of our trip through Quebec and we were very warmed greeted by the staff. We were led to a very attractive and airy suite with very tall ceilings and a King-sized bed. The bathroom was very large and had a hydromassaging tub in addition to a shower stall. This was obviously an upgrade from the standard suite that we booked for. We were pleasantly surprised by this and we were also impressed by the cleanliness and quality of the room given the price that we paid.

The hotel is located directly across the Museum of Civilization in Quebec and Vieux Quebec is a short walk up a hill. We were able to get around to the sights very easily. There were many good pubs and restaurants in Vieux Quebec and though there's no formal restaurant on the property, they do serve breakfast that is good for the value but not showstopping.

The only downside for the hotel that I can think of is that the hall ways are quite narrow and poorly lit so you have to be careful climbing up and down the stairs. The cleaning staff does a good job cleaning but had a tendency to move our belongings and luggages onto tables and beds but did not put them back afterwards. The decor in the rooms was quite old-school at the time we spent there with heavy curtains, primary colours and flowery linens.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone who looks to stay in a hotel with large, clean, well-kempt rooms for a reasonable price and close to all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for my honeymoon. We figured Quebec City was a nice historical city that would give us the flavor of Europe without the cost, and we were right.

Le Saint-Pierre Auberge is a hotel in the lower section of Quebec City. The rooms are more spacious than you would expect, at least quite larger than rooms in France for instance, with exposed brick walls, a flat screen TV, modern A/C and a radiator near the window, double windows, and a modern heater in the bathroom and in the main room. We were there in the summer so A/C was needed not heat so I can't comment on that, but the A/C worked fine for when we used it. The location of this area is superb and the coffee provided as well as the tea is quite nice. The front desk is also helpful.

However, my main complaint is the breakfast. The first day we were there, the breakfast was magnificent, with eggs benedict for both of us, everything done perfectly, coffee refilled on time, pleasant service.

However, after that, both the quality of the food and the service went downhill. On two of the mornings, we had to send the silverware back because of food particles still on it. There was some particles inside our orange juice one day. The eggs benedict was overdone on another, and when they brought fruit out with the pancakes one day, the fruit was over the pancakes making them soggy. The waiters and waitresses other than the first day were unpleasant.

Listen, I think it's great to have a sitdown breakfast and they had a great variety of choices. However, I just expect a lot more than what we were given. A restaurant hotel simply can't give out dirty dishes. Also, my wife noticed hair on the pillow that was not either of ours. That is unacceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear crazyAustin,

What a disappointment it was to read your review following your recent stay at Le St-Pierre, auberge distinctive.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not being up to par with our services according to your comments.

Rest assure that the issues you mentioned will be addressed with the proper managers for immediate actions.

We certainly aim for complete satisfaction from our guests ...If ever Quebec City is considered for another visit, do not hesitate to contact me personally so I can make proper arrangements for your stay.

Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Address: 79, rue Saint Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is no small wonder that Le Saint Pierre is one of Quebec City’s most sought-after properties. The combined beauty and elegance of its 200 year-old façade with the natural warmth of its interior with parquet flooring and exposed stone and brick walls is, quite simply, beautiful.Fine hotel elegance and incomparable, intimate Old Quebec charm make our 31 rooms and 10 Suites a winning combination for all our guests.Cozy, warm, dynamic atmosphere as well as complimentary breakfast and Internet access await you at Le Saint Pierre, Auberge Distinctive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Saint-Pierre Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Pierre Quebec
Auberge St Pierre
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.