We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Botique Hotel in Lower Town Old Quebec” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Save Saved
You added Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   79, rue Saint Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Botique Hotel in Lower Town Old Quebec”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

It is easy to fall in love with old Quebec City just by walking out the back door of this charming hotel. Around you are art galleries filled with colorful art and ahead a walk up to the oldest part of the city. Take this walk early in the morning when the air is crisp and there are no tourists around. Walk up to the park below the Chateau Fontenac. Look up and see this grand dame rising aristocratically above you.
Then turn around and walk back to enjoy your delicious breakfast. The staff at the desk are the best one could ask for. The location is absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Bonjour diana95426,

On behalf of all our team at Le St-Pierre, auberge distinctive, we thank you for this review regarding your recent stay among us!

Our great location and our beautiful city are as much interesting and beautiful as the way you have described them!

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    104
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
85
198
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnsburg, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Really liked this place, located in the lower town just blocks from the St Lawarence. Step out the back door and there are pently of good resturants. Walking distance to tour boats on the St lawrence and just about anything else. A small hotel but very charming, feel like you are in old time Europe. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The free made to order breasfast was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Bonjour Bill G,

We truly appreciate your review regarding your recent stay with us at Le St-Pierre, auberge distinctive.

Our great location and our full range of service make us a must in the Vieux-Port of Quebec for a memorable stay!

If Quebec city is considered for another stay in a near future, we would be more than pleased to welcome you back again!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

During the first weeks of September we went on a Eastern Canada trip that started at Niagara Falls and ended in Montreal. Of all the places we visited Quebec City was the most beautiful and pleasurable city and The Auberge Saint-Pierre the most memorable (in a positive way) and pleasant hotel.

The historical old city location, coupled with the exposed brick finish in our room just knocked us out. We checked in very late, but the front desk clerk made us feel very welcome and quickly took care of our vehicle parking. The hotel sits next to a very narrow cobblestone street, and unloading must be done very quickly.

The feel of the area is authentically french, except for the arrogant french attitude I found so often in Paris, Biarritz and Lourdes. If you have never been to France, Quebec will do nicely and make you feel welcome. English is spoken by all those I came in contact, as well as (this really took me aback) Spanish in various shoppes. Need to practice some french? Do it here without the dismissive roll of the eyes you would get from a Paris Seine river book vendor.

This hotel has an elevator! You may not think much of this, but many hotels we checked previously in Old Quebec, don't have one. Think of this before you book in a hotel where you must carry your luggage thru many flight of stairs. Not only does it have an elevator, but a vintage one (Most likely early 1900's) with intricate grille work, but re-fitted with modern electrics and controls!

The location is nothing but fantastic! Just a few steps from the hotel are Place Royale founded by Quebec's founder -Monsieour Samuel de Champlain-, whose name also adorns the oldest continuously used commercial streets in North America: "Le Petit Champlain" street. Château Frontenac, an awesome building, is but a few steps away taking the inclined tram close by. In all my stay I never used my car, nor did I need any transportation to view all Old Quebec had to offer.

Across the hotel door is the "Museé du la civilisation", where I visited the "Samurai" exposition.

The selection and variety of restaurants in close walking distance was just fantastic! For breakfast, we used the hotel's free breakfast included in our rate. This was just the tastiest and most fresh breakfast of any hotel we stayed in Canada. I picked the omelet, that was freshly made with real eggs - not the standard pale yellow stuff you get at American hotel chains- with fromage (cheese) and Jambon (jam). The taste, quality and smell of the breakfast was every bit of good as I had in any hotel that I have stayed on in France. The place is so good, that locals stop by to have breakfast. That, my friend is a sign of quality.

This brings me to the most important part of my experience in Saint Pierre auberge; It's staff.

There were very helpful, even playful when I, or one of my friends, tried out our rudimentary and awful accented French.

The room was clean and toiletries excellent. My only beef being banging and drill noises one morning from construction workers in the museum next door at 7:00 AM.

Next time I go back to Old Quebec, I'll be staying at the Saint Pierre again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Bonjour Clirizarry,

We are very flattered by the nice comment you wrote regarding your recent stay with us at Le St-Pierre, auberge distinctive!!

Our team really wants to contribute in the making of memorable and unique stay for all our guests!

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future.

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting Quebec. Location is excellent for sightseeing and many good restaurants around, including some on the street just towards the dock. Reasonably peaceful.

Staff on the desks (the hotel shares with its neighbour) most helpful. Room large and well fitted out with all modern amenities. Good bathroom and bed. Breakfast excellent and served by a singing waiter! Efficient laundry. Good value.

However not all perfect! Room housekeeping was frankly bad. And our room, with large plate glass windows, was overlooked by a building which seemed to be a homeless hostel with some very strange characters loitering about.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Bonjour FirstclassSussex,

We truly appreciate and value your review regarding your recent stay at Le St-Pierre, auberge distinctive.

We are also glad to know that you enjoyed our friendly and courteous customer service as well as our room decor, furnitures and amenities.

Rest assured that the proper comments will be addressed accordingly to the housekeeping department.

Please also note that our etablishment is located in a professionnal and urban neighborhood surrounded by museum, restaurants and luxury residential area. None of our neighbors are a homesless hostel.

We truly hope to be your host again if ever Quebec city is considered in your plans in a near future.

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August and had a lovely spacious room on the fourth floor, with a view across to the museum of civilisation and beyond to the St Lawrence. We would have welcomed a bedside table and reading lights on both sides of the (very comfortable) bed and also tea making facilities - there's only a coffee machine in the rooms and the downstairs library/ sitting room. Top marks otherwise. We are obviously in a minority on the breakfasts though, though one reviewer does make the point that they are more suited to North American tastes and that may be the case. Even the simplest choice of cooked breakfast - variations on the bacon and eggs combo, came with a soggy pile of toast on the same plate as well as fresh fruit. Lovely to have the fresh fruit but preferably on its own plate and with all the lovely seasonal soft red and blue fruits in the markets, why serve up the same melon and pineapple combo every day? The crepes were not freshly cooked to order and rubbery and the croissants in this most French of Canadian cities were so disappointing and not from any self respecting boulangerie but what I'd buy from a supermarket in the UK. I'd also prefer to give feedback to the hotel rather than just post a review with negative comments and not tell staff direct but there was no opportunity to do so - no comment form in the bedroom that we could find and the receptionist surprisingly didn't ask if we'd enjoyed our stay when we were checking out.

Room Tip: Rooms near the top, 3rd or 4th floor will have the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Bonjour cdgraham,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay with us at the end of August at Le St-Pierre, auberge distinctive.

Your comments are truly important and valued for us as it is a way for us to constantly improve our services offer to our guests.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our room but disappointed to hear that we haven't meet your expectations with our daily breakfast. Rest assured that your comments will be addressed to the people concerned and will be taken in consideration for improvement.

Indeed, no comments paper forms were available at the front desk as being our way to be more green with our electonic logos that can be scanned on the desk table in the room that leads you to a link where to post your comments.

We do apologize if you felt we haven't met your expectations and hope to have the privilege to welcome you back so you could experience a better stay at our Auberge.

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The location is ideal and the staff is friendly and helpful. From the moment we stepped through the front door of this charming boutique hotel, we knew we had made the right choice. Located in the lower section of the old city, the Saint-Pierre is convenient to everything we wanted to do. The concierge was extremely friendly and helpful with advice about restaurants and attractions. It's location on a quiet street, yet steps away from the noise of the upper town hotels, made the stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
September 5th, 2012

Bonjour CTTravelersRus,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Le St-Pierre, auberge distinctive.

We are really proud to have a dedicated and professional team that are able to give to each and every clients a memorable and unique experience among us.

We truly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Saint-Pierre is charming and the staff is wonderful. The hotel is located in the lower part of Quebec in a great location - walkscore 100+ and directly across the street from the Museum of Civilization. Bathrobes and an unbrella are provided. The concierge was lovely, making restaurant reservations for us and getting us tour tickets, telling us about the free Cirque du Soleil show, etc. Breakfast was wonderful and huge with juice, fruits, yogurt, crepes, french toast, eggs, and omlettes to choose from.
So why only 3 stars? The room was small. The housekeeping left a bit to be desired. The grout, both around the bathtub and on the bathroom floor needs to be bleached or replaced. The black lines in the grout aroung the tub were fairly gross - one wouldn't want to use a whirlpool bath while looking at it. The tub got stopped up on the 2nd day we were there, and the response of the maintenance staff was to take out the stopper. So, I couldn't have used the whirlpool tub after that point anyway, especially since the water sitting in the tub after my shower had left a messy bathtub ring which they didn't clean. The bathroom also could use another shelf to put your stuff on as there isn't much room on the sink and the only shelf is already full of stuff.
That being said, the down comforter was wonderful the mattress very comfortable and we slept well. Since it's on a street with no traffic, it's very quiet and relaxing. Again, the staff couldn't have been more accomodating. It's an overall very nice place; it just could use some refurbishing. I'd stay there again. Not deluxe, but you aren't paying Frontenac prices, either. Also, ask how to use the remote control for the air conditioning. We couldn't figure it out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
August 29th, 2012

Dear pvexplorer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your previous stay at Le St-Pierre, auberge distinctive.

We are truly glad that you've been able to enjoy our professionnalism and our friendly staff as well as the comfort and quietness offered in our rooms.

Le St-Pierre, auberge distinctive offers 4 different room types with a variety of room size, of furnishing and with unique and sought decors. We will be more than pleased upon a future reservation to find you the perfect room that fits your needs!

Rest assured that the cleanliness of our rooms is our top priority. Your comment has been addressed and rectified with our housekeeping and maintenance departement.

We truly value your review and we hope to have the privilege to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Address: 79, rue Saint Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is no small wonder that Le Saint Pierre is one of Quebec City’s most sought-after properties. The combined beauty and elegance of its 200 year-old façade with the natural warmth of its interior with parquet flooring and exposed stone and brick walls is, quite simply, beautiful.Fine hotel elegance and incomparable, intimate Old Quebec charm make our 31 rooms and 10 Suites a winning combination for all our guests.Cozy, warm, dynamic atmosphere as well as complimentary breakfast and Internet access await you at Le Saint Pierre, Auberge Distinctive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Saint-Pierre Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Pierre Quebec
Auberge St Pierre
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.