We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive to your Saves list
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   79, rue Saint Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The location is ideal and the staff is friendly and helpful. From the moment we stepped through the front door of this charming boutique hotel, we knew we had made the right choice. Located in the lower section of the old city, the Saint-Pierre is convenient to everything we wanted to do. The concierge was extremely friendly and helpful with advice about restaurants and attractions. It's location on a quiet street, yet steps away from the noise of the upper town hotels, made the stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
September 5th, 2012

Bonjour CTTravelersRus,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Le St-Pierre, auberge distinctive.

We are really proud to have a dedicated and professional team that are able to give to each and every clients a memorable and unique experience among us.

We truly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    115
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
87
220
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Saint-Pierre is charming and the staff is wonderful. The hotel is located in the lower part of Quebec in a great location - walkscore 100+ and directly across the street from the Museum of Civilization. Bathrobes and an unbrella are provided. The concierge was lovely, making restaurant reservations for us and getting us tour tickets, telling us about the free Cirque du Soleil show, etc. Breakfast was wonderful and huge with juice, fruits, yogurt, crepes, french toast, eggs, and omlettes to choose from.
So why only 3 stars? The room was small. The housekeeping left a bit to be desired. The grout, both around the bathtub and on the bathroom floor needs to be bleached or replaced. The black lines in the grout aroung the tub were fairly gross - one wouldn't want to use a whirlpool bath while looking at it. The tub got stopped up on the 2nd day we were there, and the response of the maintenance staff was to take out the stopper. So, I couldn't have used the whirlpool tub after that point anyway, especially since the water sitting in the tub after my shower had left a messy bathtub ring which they didn't clean. The bathroom also could use another shelf to put your stuff on as there isn't much room on the sink and the only shelf is already full of stuff.
That being said, the down comforter was wonderful the mattress very comfortable and we slept well. Since it's on a street with no traffic, it's very quiet and relaxing. Again, the staff couldn't have been more accomodating. It's an overall very nice place; it just could use some refurbishing. I'd stay there again. Not deluxe, but you aren't paying Frontenac prices, either. Also, ask how to use the remote control for the air conditioning. We couldn't figure it out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
August 29th, 2012

Dear pvexplorer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your previous stay at Le St-Pierre, auberge distinctive.

We are truly glad that you've been able to enjoy our professionnalism and our friendly staff as well as the comfort and quietness offered in our rooms.

Le St-Pierre, auberge distinctive offers 4 different room types with a variety of room size, of furnishing and with unique and sought decors. We will be more than pleased upon a future reservation to find you the perfect room that fits your needs!

Rest assured that the cleanliness of our rooms is our top priority. Your comment has been addressed and rectified with our housekeeping and maintenance departement.

We truly value your review and we hope to have the privilege to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

As an experienced traveler - we found this hotel to be perfect in every way
Great location-helpful staff with arranging dinner reservations-side trips away from the city and directions to places of interest in the city
The full breakfasts were wonderful with the quality,originality of the food and service were a great day to start off our 6 day stay
We loved the suit room 401 - with a view of the river and a extra large whirlpool tub
I would recommend this hotel to my friends without hesitation

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
August 28th, 2012

Bonjour Donw765,

It was a real pleasure for us to read your review following your recent stay at Le Saint-Pierre, auberge distinctive.

We appreciate your feedback and will pass on your great comments to all the members of our team!

We enjoy the fact that you took full advantage of the tasty daily breakfast , of our unbeatable location and of our recommendations for restaurants and activities.

To the pleasure of welcoming you back for another great stay with us,

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Arriving on the VIA train from Montreal, this hotel is just a short taxi ride from the station. The hotel is charming but with a modern twist. We had very modern bedrooms in the wing connected to Hotel 71. The reception staff were very kind and helpful especially Louise and Rosemarie who helped us find fantastic restaurants for dinner.They made us feel so welcome and gave some super background to the area.The location is ideal with the old town just outside the door-the tourist information is at the top of the town and we would recommend a walking tour to fully appeciate the history and reconstruction of the buildings. Our only disappointment was the cancellation of the Cirque du Soleil at St Roch due to bad weather (high winds). Breakfast were delicious and a variety of options to suit all tastes. A great stay !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
August 24th, 2012

Bonjour Libby37,

Thank you for your great review! Your excellents comments towards our team will be addressed to all of them for sure!

We would be pleased to welcome you again soon at Le St-Pierre, auberge distinctive for another pleasant stay!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was a great find many thanks to an extensive search for a last minute hotel. My husband and I tend to do everything last minute and almost couldn't find a place to stay. We were very lucky to fall upon Le Saint-Pierre and enjoyed our stay tremendously. The staff was excellent, the service was great and the location in the lower town was perfect -- it's in a quiet cobble stoned street away from all the hustle and bustle but yet easily accessible to all the sites. Our room rate included a very generous breakfast with an excellent and friendly waitstaff.

A tip for drivers: Although the hotel offers valet service for $21/night, do yourself a favor and park the car yourself and save about $7/day. Municipal parking is literally around the block.

Room 205 is really lovely -- you'll feel like you landed in a Paris apartment.

Wear comfortable shoes! Forget fashion, you will walk everywhere and plenty of hills and staircases to challenge you.


Enjoy!

Room Tip: When booking your room ask if breakfast is included. Some room rates might not include it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
August 23rd, 2012

Bonjour DRoman,

Thank you for selecting Le Saint-Pierre, auberge distinctive upon your recent visit to Québec City as well as for sharing your review!! Those trips booked last minute just like yours are always the best ones!!

We appreciate your great feedback and are looking forward to have the privilege of welcoming you back soon for another great stay with us.


Au plaisir,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

It was a fine experience, very helpful staff, a comfortable and attractive room, a lovely breakfast room and delicious menu items, and close to the old city area. Our room had white French Country furnishings. One wall was brick. There is a small reception area in the hotel not really conducive to group interactions such as card playing. The shops nearby were amazing. Beautiful clothing shops, gift shops, churches, museums, and of course the Chateau Frontenac.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
August 23rd, 2012

Bonjour jhb1967,

We are glad to know that you have been able to experienced and enjoyed all the Auberge's comfort, its services, its great location and its shopping options nearby!!

Thank you for your great review!

Au plaisir,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This lovely Bed & Breakfast is situated in the heart of Lower Town in Old Quebec. Our "suite" was was well decorated and updated and included a separate sitting room and kitchenette. Valet parking was very handy. The breakfast was located in the lovely front dining room and featured a good variety of choices. The staff were very friendly and cheerful, especially in the dining room. The hotel is located among fabulous galleries and many antique shops, boutiques and restaurants as well as the historical buildings and structures common to Quebec City. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
August 17th, 2012

Bonjour Toronto McInnis,

We truly appreciate your review!!

Rest assured that your excellent comments concerning our team will be adressed to all of them.

Au plaisir,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Address: 79, rue Saint Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#23 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is no small wonder that Le Saint Pierre is one of Quebec City’s most sought-after properties. The combined beauty and elegance of its 200 year-old façade with the natural warmth of its interior with parquet flooring and exposed stone and brick walls is, quite simply, beautiful.Fine hotel elegance and incomparable, intimate Old Quebec charm make our 31 rooms and 10 Suites a winning combination for all our guests.Cozy, warm, dynamic atmosphere as well as complimentary breakfast and Internet access await you at Le Saint Pierre, Auberge Distinctive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Saint-Pierre Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Pierre Quebec
Auberge St Pierre
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.