We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful relaxing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Capitole de Quebec

Save Saved
You added Le Capitole de Quebec to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Capitole de Quebec
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   972 rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1R5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very good service. Classical music was playing in the room when we got inside. The room was very nice and clean though a little small. I reserved the Capitole for Xmas with my wife and we both enjoyed. There are two restaurants nearby; an Italian restaurant inside the hotel and a French brewpub next door). Only thing I would recommend if you want to go to the Italian restaurant, reserve when you book the hotel, because the restaurant seems to be quite popular.

Room Tip: Italian restaurant must be reserved early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie-eve g, Manager at Le Capitole de Quebec, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
What a nice review to start the year! Thanks so much for your kind words. Just a little note to let you know that the two restaurants you mentionned, Il Teatro and Brasserie Chez L'Autre, are part of Le Capitole complex and it is always a pleasure for our front desk agents to take rexervations for either one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    24
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
39
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is very charming and perfectly located, close to all quebec city attractions. We had room 207 and 204 which are closer to suites than rooms (including very charming jacuzzis and great views). Service was very warm and welcoming. The bistro next door was excellent. We had an excellent experience in this boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room 207 or 204.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie-eve g, Manager at Le Capitole de Quebec, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments! Those rooms are also some of my favorite since they are both mini suites de luxe, they are cosy and charming and the views which are very different from one another are both beautiful. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at L'Hôtel du Capitole!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth Falls, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We travelled to Quebec in September, 2012 and were looking for a charming restaurant for our last night, in the heart of the old town. The food was fabulous, very reasonably priced, the alcohol was cheap and the service exceptional. Our table right next to the road was lovely giving us a nice view of the town and passersby.

I can highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Room Tip: N/a - restaurant review only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie-eve g, Manager at Le Capitole de Quebec, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Mrs. Sygrave, thank you for your comments, it's very appreciated that you take the time to write about your experience at the Capitole! Your comments are very appropriated, it is true that Il Teatro is charming and a great value for money. Thank you for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

we booked this hotel using hotel.com and we were not disappointed.
we arrived in quebec city by train and took a taxi to the hotel. it was evening and the hotel was all lite up and busy with people going to the theatre. the building is magnificient. the lobby is small but quaint. a problem is that many people going to the theatre use the hotel entrance instead of the theatre entrance. they should address this inconvenience. the reception was friendly and efficient. they charge a $ 100. to your credit card, in case of expenses charged to your room. this is very strange, i have not seen this procedure in years. we were on the 4th floor (top floor) facing the street. the room had a king bed as requested. the room itself was of good size, with two small round windows looking out to the main street. the bathroom was very small, the width of a bathtub. it also had sliding shower doors that opened to the bedroom.?
it also had one (1) bathrobe???? for 2 people, i guess we had to share.
the bedroom was fairly large, but had no dresser, just an armoire, with 2 shelves at the top, which were small and hard to reach. there was not one but 2 tv in the room. we suggest that you remove one tv and add a small dresser, this would make the room more user friendly. this hotel was probably the quietest hotel in which we have ever stayed. it was clean and well maintained. the staff were very helphful. in fact they allowed us to visit the theatre. the hotel is located next to the vieux quebec, making everything accessible by walking. we would highly recommend this hotel.
we would not recommend the restaurant and will speak more of this on a separate review.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie-eve g, Manager at Le Capitole de Quebec, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear justustravellers, thank you for your very nice and sincere comments. I understand your concern about the hotel's door that was blocked at the moment of your stay. We keep it close from October to April because ot the colder weather, we don't want our guests to be cold while being in the lobby. The $100 that you thought was charged to your credit card was in fact a pre-authorization for that amount. Nothing is charged until the end of your stay, that amount is frozen on your card for the lenght of your stay and then released fully if nothing has been charged to your room. The only one bathrobe is our mistake and I like the idea of transforming the space the TV unit into a dresser.
I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at L'Hôtel du Capitole!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a great 3 course lunch table d'hote -- had a choice of 2-3 items for appetizer and main, then dessert and coffee. I had the salad + duck confit risotto, and my hubby had the salad + beef tartar. We shared our meals and enjoyed both. I think it was the best coffee we drank in Quebec City. Service was also excellent. Highly recommend dining here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie-eve g, Front Office Manager at Le Capitole de Quebec, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Bonjour Tabatha,

Thank you so much for your great comments! I will pass it on to our restaurant team as well as our chef, Serge. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Capitole!

Marie-Ève Galipeault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel makes a first great impression. It's beautiful and the room that has a whirlpool in it is so spacious (totally worth it)!!! If you're a CAA member you will get a discount. If you don't have a CAA membership get a friend of yours to send you a scan/photo of his card and you can use it as well.The staff is incredibly friendly. My girlfriend and I were on our way to PEI from Toronto and she couldn't believe how pretty the city was and when I parked the car and the hotel was located right in the middle of all the streets you'd want to walk by it was awesome. We walked for 6 hours straight walking into little stores, having some French pastries, watching some shows in the street and sitting by the water. Everything was so close you don't need a car. I carried my DSLR and the backpack and it wasn't an issue. We didn't have dinner or breakfast at the hotel, so I can't comment on that. There's Tim Horton's around the corner, cafes as well as restaurants, so you don't depend on the hotel food at all (which I read was expensive). The room has a fridge stocked up with pop, liquor, etc (of course you have to pay) but if you need to put in the fridge any of your stuff you can take some of theirs out.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was super quiet. Our view was to the plaza and it was quiet. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie-eve g, Manager at Le Capitole de Quebec, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your incredible comments! We're glad you fully enjoyed the hotel and its surroundings. The room you stayed in with a whirlpool is a deluxe mini suite and I agree, it is totally worth it! We hope to see you again at L'Hôtel du Capitole!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms, great location at the entrance of Old Quebec. Being an older building, there is probably no insulation in the walls, so you can hear your neighbours. Parking is $20/day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Capitole de Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Capitole de Quebec

Address: 972 rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1R5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Capitole de Quebec 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small four-star 40 rooms hotel will charm you with its warm and personalized hospitality. At L’Hôtel du Capitole, we always roll out the red carpet to pamper our guests with special attention. Discover the warm ambience of our hotel located in the heart of Old Québec.Whether for a romantic stay or for a business meeting, you will be delighted by our wide selection of packages, which include lodging, meals and dinner shows.Small and large meeting halls are also available for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Capitole de Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Capitole De Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Capitole De Quebec City
Le Capitole De Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Capitole de Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.