We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quebec City vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain-Dominion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Germain-Dominion to your Saves list
Hotel Le Germain-Dominion
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off on 2nights
Ranked #3 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quebec City vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel was warm and comfy. The staff was excellent, any questions we had they answered in detail, and made helpful suggestions. Eating breakfast on the patio every morning was nice and relaxing. The nightly turn down service was a nice touch and the chocolates were excellent. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain-Dominion, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you Ron M.
Be sure you are welcome to stay with us again at any time.
Warmest regards,
Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    99
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
66
401
16
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel and it is perhaps difficult to find a place that meets the needs of a 101 year old, a lovely 10 year old granddaughter and me! This hotel has a very central location which makes seeing Quebec City very easy. The hotel staff, especially Veronique, was extremely helpful in all situations and quickly addressed our every need. The breakfast was good and served in a pleasant lounge. The "anytime" coffee machine even had speciality drinks!! We would recommend this hotel for all tourists and are sure you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a river view, but was adequate in all ways
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain-Dominion, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear SWolff,

I am so happy we were able to meet all 3 generations' needs. We hope to see you again with your 102 and 11 year old family members next year.

I will make sure Veronique sees you beautiful note. Thank you.

Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The hotel rooms are just OK but a little on the small side. The breakfast area outside is quite nice.

Compared to the Le Germain properties in Toronto and Calgary this one isn't nearly as nice.

I would try one of the other nice boutique hotels in Quebec City before returning to Le Germain.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

After staying 4 nights in Quebec City, I'm glad we chose Hotel Le Germain-Dominion for our stay. The first benefit: a parking lot that's easy to get into and out of (glad we weren't staying in the Upper part of QC). Location is perfect - a very brief walk to the steps and funiculaire to the upper town. Surprisingly quiet. Spectacular front desk service that's helpful but not overbearing or obsequious. Rooms are sleekly and thoughtfully designed, even if a bit too heavy on the espresso-colored paneling and dark ceilings for my preference. Wifi works great. Temperature control works very well. Minibar thoughtfully stocked (even gluten free pretzels!), fresh bottles of water delivered every night. Bar service available in the lobby from 3pm to 3am. Breakfast is included, and the seating arrangements allowed us to meet other guests and even get a fantastic dinner recommendation from one couple.

I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 for two reasons. First, breakfast is "deluxe continental," meaning no hot foods - this is noted on the website and reservation confirmation, so it was not a surprise, but if you're a tourist, it's great to load up on a hot breakfast to carry you through the morning, and we've had this at other boutique hotels. Second, our bed, which was a Murphy bed, sagged in the middle. Hubs and I got into bed, promptly rolled into each other, and spent the next four nights trying to sleep near the edges of the bed so as not to roll into the trench in the middle. We didn't ask to change rooms, as our teenagers were two doors away (their beds were perfectly fine). As wonderful as every other aspect of our stay was, if the bed keeps me awake, I can't give a hotel 5 stars.

However, I'd definitely recommend this hotel for tourists and business travelers - just make sure you don't get a Murphy bed!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain-Dominion, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this beautiful review and I am glad you had an enjoyable 4-night stay in Quebec City.

We are working on your 'two reasons"... Because the hotel is a fairly small and historic building, our kitchen space is very limited. We are looking at alternatives even though a lot of our guests are very happy with the offer. In the meantime, as you probably know, there are a few restaurants in the neighborhood offering a complete breakfast. In regards to your room, we only have one room with a murphy bed in the hotel, we have had it for over 10 years, changed the mattress less than a year ago and had a very limited number of comments about it. Some guests are even requesting it specifically. We are now seriously considering doing something else.

We have a passion for pampering, and because we take care of the details, please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you consider visiting us again. New York City is just a few hours away.

Warmest regards,

Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel is located in the old district, 5 minutes from "La Place Royale" and nearby many interesting art galleries. Just beside is the "Musée de la Civilisation". Despite the very central location, the immediate surroundings are very quiet, at least at the time we stayed there.

I must thank the staff for their good restaurants recommendations which proved being fantastic.
A continental breakfast was included with the room. Pastries were fresh and crispy, just as I like them, the espresso coffee was good and it was possible to eat outside on a terrace. More fresh fruits would be appreciated, but generally speaking the breakfast was very good. Rooms are modernly decorated and very quiet. The view on St-Lawrence river is unforgettable.

Room Tip: High level floors offer better views on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain-Dominion, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Merci, thank you so much for this beautiful comment.
We have a lot of good comments in regards to our breakfast and are still working on adding a local flavour to it. Thank you for your recommendation as we are seriously looking at all options to satisfy our guests even more. You will have to come back...
See you again soon.
Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights with my wife. Everything about the hotel was wonderful.

We arrived at 10am and were able to check in early. Valet parking was efficient and fairly priced...and you can access your car in the lot anytime. The concierge was very effective at securing dinner reservations and was "off the charts" helpful recommending things to do.

The room was amazing. Nice view. Super comfortable bedding. Cool contemporary design. Simple but luxurious bathroom. Plenty of space.

Location is Perfect. Easy access to everything...old town, restaurants, port, etc.

...and the breakfast is fantastic, especially when eaten on the patio.

I will never stay anywhere else than Germain-Dominion in Quebec City.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain-Dominion, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Colin S,

What a lovely comment! We will be happy to welcome you back at any time. We don't have the patio in the winter, but a beautiful fireplace in the lobby providing a warm atmosphere. You prefer coffee or hot chocolate?

Warm regards from Quebec City,

Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We couldn't decide between staying at Le Germain and the Chateau. I am so glad that we chose Le Germain-Dominion. We liked the intimacy and friendliness of Le Germain.

The standard of decor in both the bedrooms and public rooms is very high. Indeed the bedrooms are so well appointed you really don't want to leave!

Whilst there is a relatively limited choice for breakfast. It is all of a very high standard. Excellent pastries and drinks. There are lots of great restaurants within a very short walk.

This is a hotel to come and relax in. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain-Dominion, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear guests,

I am glad you are happy with your decision, our intent is exactly as you mention: intimacy and friendliness. Now, when you need to relax, you know where to go.
Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Germain-Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain-Dominion

Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Germain-Dominion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of QuebecThe hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district.The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests.Relaxing Comfort In Serene SurroundingsThe rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Germain-Dominion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain-Dominion Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain-Dominion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.