We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sorry, but a lack of integrity” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain-Dominion

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Germain-Dominion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain-Dominion
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“sorry, but a lack of integrity”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The room itself was fine, except the lighting is poor and you would never be able to prepare a presentation or a brief with no lighted work area. But that was not the problem since this a vacation. The air-conditioning was not working properly--which caused a complete lack of sleep for my wife and me. Since sleeping is the primary reason for a hotel, this hotel was a zero. I called the front desk early in the evening who then sent a nice young man who had no idea how to address the problem--and then subsequently was told by the front desk that the AC had been shut down for the season! So obviously no fix that night--despite being told that the front desk was attempting to contact anyone for assistance. I was told by the front desk that "No other rooms were available" for a switch--despite being told by the young man that indeed other rooms were available. A distinct pattern in conduct was becoming evident--to me, inexcusable.
So I met with the general manager-who did sit down with me to hear me out the next morning. She confirmed that she had received an email the night before, but did not read it until 6:30 am so could not address my problem--and total lack of sleep--all of this for just $300 per night. The GM found the building AC man who was helpful and proceeded to fix the problem for the next night--in fact, they do have AC it turns out.
When I requested that the bill be adjusted for a terrible night, I was sent a bottle of jam. The bottom line is that the hotel, the staff and the GM did not deliver on the basic purpose of a hotel--and then did not make it right--an express disconnect between advertised service, their stated business of lodging, representations of quality, and the actual results.
If you are trying to decide which hotel to stay in Quebec City, my strong suggestion is that you try another. I know there must be good places there because my uniform experience over the years in Montreal has been exceptional. We certainly will go elsewhere when we return to QC. P.S.: If you are wondering why we didn't just check out, the only reason was that my wife was too tired to move for one more night and I deferred. I truly hope that the folks at the hotel have a similar experience so that just maybe they rethink their responses. While I expect that I may receive some sort of tepid response here--because I believe they do read TripAdvisor and want to appear to be responsive-it certainly would not salvage a lost night and their opportunity to rectify the situation. Good luck on your travels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvieD492, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain-Dominion, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,

I am deeply disappointed with this review.

When we met in the morning of your second day, we went to your room to look at the thermostat (showing 21 C – 69.8 F), Our focus was to find a solution so you would be comfortable in your room for your second day and night. When I followed up with your wife an hour later and after confirming that the temperature was going down, I was under the impression that you were totally satisfied.

Our main goal is not to adjust bills but to satisfy our guests by finding solutions. I sincerely thought we had succeeded.

Should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me. Very sincerely,

Sylvie Dionne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    541
    94
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
59
369
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn,NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Hotel Le Germain Dominion was a wonderful home base for our visit to Old Quebec. Our room was very spacious, with a modern and luxurious bathroom. The bed was comfortable enough – but could have been better. The staff was very friendly and helpful –which we appreciated since we are English speaking and needed some help. The breakfasts were wonderful –good coffee and delicious and healthy assortment of yogurt, fruit, cereal, pastries, bread, cheese, etc. which we enjoyed on the outdoor patio. The hotel is in a quiet area but a very short walk to all of the sights and restaurants in the Lower Town. It is a workout to get to the Upper Town, but we appreciated the opportunity to work off all of the calories from the great meals in Old Quebec.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel and its staff. Its location was so convenient; we finished our cruise in Quebec City and were able to roll our luggage a few steps to the front door. The staff was exceptional; all were bilingual and so personable! They gave us great recommendations for restaurants and events which were all close by and they made our reservations for dining. They also arranged for us to take a taxi to the train station upon departure. We couldn't have been more pleased with their services!

Coffee, tea and apples were always available to guests. The breakfasts (which were included) were very French and very good. Loved the chocolate croissants! There are several areas for eating including a cozy patio outside.

Our room was very attractively decorated; the elevators were quick and large. Everywhere in the building was exceptionally clean. We were impressed with the decor.

le Germain-Dominion is well located; you are close to shopping areas, historic sights, the funicular, the train station, the cruise ships, and the farmers' market. We always felt very safe in Quebec City.

We loved our stay and would return to le Germain-Dominion any time we can arrange to be in Quebec City!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Caldwell, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our very quiet and upgraded corner room on the 4th floor offered a stunning view of the waterfront and the street below. Room was well-designed, attentive staff, great concierge who recommended a superb restaurant (Boulay! - so good we went back the next night). Buffet breakfast in the lobby was fresh and excellent, lots of variety. Loved the neighborhood, an easy walk to everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everything about this hotel was fantastic. I had a room on the top floor with a view of the Frontenac which was very quiet and comfortable. The bed was amazing. Breakfast is served in the lobby each morning in a buffet style and you can take it sitting on the couches or at the table in the lobby area. It's a typical continental style breakfast. Pastries, bagels, granola, fruit etc.. There is also a coffee machine in the lobby which is complimentary and they have carry out cups for you to take your coffee off sight seeing with you.

The staff were also very helpful. In particular, the concierge who was working on Wednesday and Thursday afternoon of this week was fantastic. She recommended a number of good restaurants and helped me with bus times to the Montmorency Falls. Nothing seemed too much trouble for her.

You can't go wrong with this hotel. It is superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We found our 4 night stay superb as measured by
Service- delicious breakfast on the ground floor, attentive staff, fantastic concierge who can get you into the most sought after restaurants which happen to be within walking distance
Decor - beautiful comfortable rooms and beds, upscale bathrooms, tasteful art in the lobby area
Location- apex of everything, free Cirque du Soleil performances down the street in the summer , walking distance to upper city, citadel area, promenade, ramparts, historic buildings, etc

Only downside is that you won't want to leave...

Room Tip: ask for 5th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We left the cruise ship and found the hotel one block from the port. It is in lower Old Quebec and was in a great location to the shops and eating spots in Lower Quebec. It was a short walk to the elevator to upper Quebec. The staff and services were beyond great! The morning continental breakfast was great. They had tea and coffee all day long in the lobby and had afternoon tea sent to the rooms as well. Great stay and worth the cost.

Room Tip: We had three rooms in our party and all were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Germain-Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain-Dominion

Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Germain-Dominion 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of QuebecThe hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district.The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests.Relaxing Comfort In Serene SurroundingsThe rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Germain-Dominion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain-Dominion Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain-Dominion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.