We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, boutique hotel with all the right touches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain-Dominion

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Germain-Dominion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain-Dominion
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off on 2nd night
Ranked #3 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Beaufort, NC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small, boutique hotel with all the right touches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for the first three nights of our trip to Quebec and environs. It was a good choice for sure. The area is central to much of what you want to visit in old Quebec, especially the Lower Town as well as the Old Port farmers market, and the nearby streets full of cafes and bistros. The room was very large and well furnished. Staff was for the most part helpful. The continental breakfast was extensive and excellent.

Room Tip: We had 506, on the corner of the old bank building with a view over the marina and grain elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    89
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
344
13
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Hotel Le Germain-Dominion in Quebec City, celebrating our 51st wedding anniversary on September 1st. This hotel is very special -- the staff so warm and helpful, while being professional and well informed; the room outstanding -- so very comfortable in every respect; the complimentary breakfast delicious We were put on the eighth floor with a wonderful view. The hotel location is perfect. Fine restaurants are very close and it is in the quiet lower part of the city. We couldn't have asked for a nicer experience. Thank you Dominic, Sarah, Veronique and all who took such good care of us.
Paul and Karen Ryscavage

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is an excellent hotel!

First, it is a perfect location in the lower town of Quebec. It is ideally placed to wander the old style streets looking for shopping, restaurants and bars. Incidentally I lingered over a great casual lunch at the nearby Brigatine Cafe! And it is a very well placed base to explore the historic features of Quebec although, be aware, there are a few substantial hills to negotiate but the funicular is not far away!

The hotel itself is top class. In my view the hi-tech decor of the rooms and public areas create a great impression and really give the place a nice "feel". The rooms themselves are well set up with a really comfortable bed, excellent bathroom and quality in room facilities. I had a windowed room facing the waterfront and it was very light and bright and inviting and has good blinds to avoid the early morning sun if you prefer to sleep in. There is also a convenient hotel parking area - which seems essential in this busy down town area.

The continental style buffet breakfast was varied and fresh with really good pastries and coffee. Everything is replenished by attentive staff so it does not get that "tired" look. It was really nice to have a choice of dining in the lounge area or the bright dining area or outside on the patio. It was a nice touch to have breakfast included in the price but having said that I can honestly say the overall quality is hard to beat.

The staff were cheerful, polite and helpful. We had great assistance with walking options as well as ideas for dining and a subsequent reservation for dinner a short walk from the hotel. I also had an excellent response to dealing with a battery hiccup with my room safe.

I suspect that some might find the tariff a little challenging. However, for a really quality hotel in such a central and convenient location with excellent facilities and service I think this is one of those occasions were the additional cost is perhaps well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were led to Hotel Le Germain-Dominion by a colleague after we found mixed reviews of the Chateau Frontenac largely because of hotel renovations. Hotel Le Germain-Dominion is a delightful boutique hotel located just outside the walls of the old city and a short walking distance from the old city. The room was very clean and spacious, the bed very comfortable and the overall accommodations superb. Our room included free wifi and breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Any return trip by us to Quebec City will include a stay at the Hotel Le Germain, we highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent two days and nights at the Germain Dominion this past weekend. It proved to be one of the most satisfying hotel stays we have experienced. The front desk staff, young and energetic was exceptional. They are eager to help, well informed, always pleasant and smiling, and provide a level of service that is increasingly rare to find. Our room was large and the bed just perfect. The high tech modern décor was soothing. My only complaint might be to have the ability to increase the lighting a bit. The location is also outstanding. It permits exploration of the lower town and is a short walk to the funicular to enable exploration of the upper town as well. My wife and I can't compliment this hotel enough. We will be back!

Room Tip: A view of the old town on a high floor is suggested
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had heard about different issues friend's of mine experienced in Quebec and I was not prepared for what I found. Hotel Le Germaine is a great all around experience. First we arrived on 9 motorcycles and their private secure parking lot accommodated us. Later we watched people schlepping their luggage along the street to get to other hotels. the staff was polite, went beyond expectations to serve us. The appointment's at the hotel are lovely and great bed! it you are a coffee drinker you will be in heaven. at top end espresso machine available 24 hours in both regular and decaf. their continental breakfast is elegant, filling, and high quality. the location of the hotel is perfect for shopping, sightseeing, and dining.
we will always stay here when in Quebec!

Room Tip: They also have a nice fitness room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I arrived at this hotel late at night after 3 flights and a transatlantic trip. My check-in was managed very efficiently and in a very welcoming way before I crashed into bed. Over the next 2 days I learned to appreciate the very special touches provided by this hotel - a welcoming and homely lounge area, a decent and varied breakfast buffet which can be taken in the lounge, a dining area or event to the patio outside, as well as a breakfast goody bag to take away after a very early morning check-out. The rooms are comfortable (great beds), but the lighting can be a bit dim in areas and my second floor room didn't have much of a view. Excellent Wifi throughout the property. Reception staff were always ready with a friendly smile to make taxi and restaurant bookings.

The hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of the old town with many bars and restaurants within an easy walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Germain-Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain-Dominion

Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Germain-Dominion 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of QuebecThe hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district.The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests.Relaxing Comfort In Serene SurroundingsThe rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Germain-Dominion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain-Dominion Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain-Dominion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.