We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another historical treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Citadelle de Quebec

La Citadelle de Quebec
1, Cote de la Citadelle | Cap-Diamant, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3R2, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
+1 418-694-2815
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$27*
and up
Quebec City Walking Tour
Ranked #14 of 119 Attractions in Quebec City
Type: Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Citadelle, National Historic Site, is located on Cape Diamant. The star-shaped layout is characteristic of Vauban fortifications. Construction began in 1820 and ended in 1850. Its walls enclose 300 years of military history in Quebec City spanning the French, British and Canadian periods. The Citadelle is an active military garrison. Guided tours of the site and the Royal 22e Regiment Museum, open year-round. Ceremony and changing of the Guard in summer. Night tours in summer and fall season. 2014: A new permanent exhibition "Je me souviens" "Je me souviens" relates the 100-year-long epic of the Royal 22e Regiment, the Canadian Forces' sole French-language regular force infantry regiment. Find out about the lives of the French-speaking soldiers who have served in its ranks, from 1914 to the missions in Afghanistan. Audiences will enjoy an interactive experience exploring the built heritage of the fortress and the regiment's history through interviews, video archives, and interactive maps of battles. December 4, 2014 to May 9, 2015 In 1914, the First World War broke out in Europe. In 2014, the canadian mission in Afghanistan ended. To underline the historical, technical and human connections between these two periods Canadian Forces Camera Combat loan to the Musee Royal 22e Regiment the photographic exhibition Parallel. An activity booklet is available at the Museum for young people. Access to the temporary exhibition is included to the fees of the general admission of the Citadelle and the museum.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another historical treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We could not believe the great tour we received with the $10.00 admission fee. It was evident that the guide was understandably very passionate about the history of the Citadelle and the 22ieme French Canadian. Bravo!
Regiment

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    368
    90
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Changing of the Guard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

You may pay and visit the Citadelle only with a guided tour because it's a military installation. We really enjoyed the ceremonial changing of the guard which happens at 10 a.m. It was easy to see and enjoy because they have a huge parade field and it is completely roped off. They walk you in and there is room for everyone around the huge circle behind the ropes and you can see everything easily. It's last about 35 minutes. After that you are divided into smaller groups and taken on a guided tour of the Citadelle area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Dont miss the tour of the Governor General's House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The above says it all. This tour is complementary but you have to get tickets when you first get to the Citadel. The tours are in French and English and the guides are excellent. Besides providing a history lesson they provide information on the governing process and the duties of the Governor General. The public quarters are worth the visit as it the opportunity to view the entire area from the home's beautiful deck. Also, check out the complementary tour of the Parliament building which is nearby. The guides are not allowed to accept tips.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved the history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We visited too late to enjoy the changing of the guard but discovered we could use our tickets to return again during the same week. Our guide was Bruno and he did an excellent good. The tours alternate French and English which was nice and I believe they started ever 15 minutes so we did not have to wait long. We also learned that there is parking available to return for the changing of the guard which we did later that week. I highly recommend viewing the changing - it was very impressive - every morning at 10:00 unless weather is bad.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“History and Pomp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and brother-in-law visited the Citadelle in time to catch the changing of the guard. Luckily it didn't rain since the guard change is cancelled for rain. They loved it and learned so much about the history of the fort and the pride that the Quebec citizens have for their history.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Citadelle de Quebec also viewed

 

Been to La Citadelle de Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Citadelle de Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.