We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changing of the Guards - A Must See” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Citadelle de Quebec

La Citadelle de Quebec
1, Cote de la Citadelle | Cap-Diamant, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3R2, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
+1 418-694-2815
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$27*
and up
Quebec City Walking Tour
Ranked #13 of 119 Attractions in Quebec City
Type: Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Citadelle, National Historic Site, is located on Cape Diamant. The star-shaped layout is characteristic of Vauban fortifications. Construction began in 1820 and ended in 1850. Its walls enclose 300 years of military history in Quebec City spanning the French, British and Canadian periods. The Citadelle is an active military garrison. Guided tours of the site and the Royal 22e Regiment Museum, open year-round. Ceremony and changing of the Guard in summer. Night tours in summer and fall season. 2014: A new permanent exhibition "Je me souviens" "Je me souviens" relates the 100-year-long epic of the Royal 22e Regiment, the Canadian Forces' sole French-language regular force infantry regiment. Find out about the lives of the French-speaking soldiers who have served in its ranks, from 1914 to the missions in Afghanistan. Audiences will enjoy an interactive experience exploring the built heritage of the fortress and the regiment's history through interviews, video archives, and interactive maps of battles. December 4, 2014 to May 9, 2015 In 1914, the First World War broke out in Europe. In 2014, the canadian mission in Afghanistan ended. To underline the historical, technical and human connections between these two periods Canadian Forces Camera Combat loan to the Musee Royal 22e Regiment the photographic exhibition Parallel. The Museum has adapted the exhibition with some photographies from its archives and objects from its collection. Photographies from the Great War and from Afghanistan are aesthetically presented together. An activity booklet is available at the Museum for young people. Access to the temporary exhibition is included to the fees of the general admission of the Citadelle and the museum. *Please note that we answer only in english or in french to the comments. Thank you.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Changing of the Guards - A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We really enjoyed the Citadelle Changing of the Guards. Get there early to get a good view of the parade ground. There is a military band with precision marching during the guard changing ceremony. Be sure to bring your camera. After the ceremony I suggest walking down the Promenade des Gouverneurs starting just outside the South Citadelle wall and following a high cliff above the St. Lawrence River North into Old Quebec. Great views of the city and the river.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    368
    90
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St-Polycarpe, Québec
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“military history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

truly enjoyable if you are a military fan... well presented and interesting, I could appreciate the value of what I saw, but I , personnally, tend more towards the arts. Still, a major educationnal value

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“See the changing of the guards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The citadel is easy to access and very well looked after. The young guide was knowledgable, very proud of her history and approachable, handling a large group of people from different countries with ease. The changing of the guard was much more accessible than the equivalent in London, England.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“For history buffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

As other reviews have mentioned, this tour is excellent for history buffs. Tours are offered in both French and English. Our tour guide was absolutely excellent. Disappointed that there was no changing of the guard in winter and that we didn't get to see the goat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good for military buffs, history lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I enjoyed our tour of the Citadelle. We went in winter, so there weren't many people around; our tour only had two other people on it.
I found the tour interesting, and the guide provided a lot of good information, but if you're not fairly interested in military matters, I wouldn't recommend doing the tour. You get a couple of nice views of the surrounding areas, but other than that it's a lot of history and well done but not particularly impressive museums.
That said, if you DO like history, it's very interesting, and well worth doing. The explanation of the powder house was fascinating.
If possible, I recommend getting there before noon, so you can see/hear the noon gun. We barely missed it, which was disappointing.
It's probably better to visit in the summer during high season; as I said, we went in December, and there was no changing of the guard or any other activity. The place seemed pretty shut down.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Citadelle de Quebec also viewed

 

Been to La Citadelle de Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Citadelle de Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.