We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history lesson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Citadelle de Quebec

La Citadelle de Quebec
1, Cote de la Citadelle | Cap-Diamant, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3R2, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
+1 418-694-2815
Website
Improve this listing
Visit La Citadelle de Quebec like an insider
Top Rated
$26*
and up
Quebec City Walking Tour
Ranked #11 of 220 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Citadelle, National Historic Site, is located on Cape Diamant. The star-shaped layout is characteristic of Vauban fortifications. Construction began in 1820 and ended in 1850. Its walls enclose 300 years of military history in Quebec City spanning the French, British and Canadian periods. The Citadelle is an active military garrison. Guided tours of the site and the Royal 22e Regiment Museum, open year-round. Ceremony and changing of the Guard in summer. Night tours in summer and fall season. 2014: A new permanent exhibition "Je me souviens" "Je me souviens" relates the 100-year-long epic of the Royal 22e Regiment, the Canadian Forces' sole French-language regular force infantry regiment. Find out about the lives of the French-speaking soldiers who have served in its ranks, from 1914 to the missions in Afghanistan. Audiences will enjoy an interactive experience exploring the built heritage of the fortress and the regiment's history through interviews, video archives, and interactive maps of battles. December 4, 2014 to May 9, 2015 In 1914, the First World War broke out in Europe. In 2014, the canadian mission in Afghanistan ended. To underline the historical, technical and human connections between these two periods Canadian Forces Camera Combat loan to the Musee Royal 22e Regiment the photographic exhibition Parallel. An activity booklet is available at the Museum for young people. Access to the temporary exhibition is included to the fees of the general admission of the Citadelle and the museum.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great history lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

There is so much history in this one place. The Citadelle can be seen from all over the Quebec City. It sits on the highest point in the city. It is so full of history. Very interesting place to visit if you like history.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    387
    93
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our tour of The Citadelle. It was very cool and informative. Our tour guide was great and was able to answer any questions we had. The view was great from the cannon. Definitely recommended.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Tour and Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Citadelle was the first thing we did when we went to Quebec City and it was a GREAT way to be introduced to the city. The Citadelle has parking available but if you are not driving, it is within walking distance of Le Chateau Frontenac but it's quite a steep walk up the streets so be prepared for a bit of a workout. Once you get there, they offer two tours in English and French. One is about the history of Quebec and takes you on a walking tour of the grounds and buildings. The other is a tour of the housing and such since the Citadelle is a working military installation. My husband and I took the historical tour. Our guide spoke perfect English, was very informative and the view of Quebec City was magnificent. When we left the Citadelle, there were a bunch of horse and carriage rides out on the street and we were offered a horse taxi ride down to the Frontenac for $5, which we gratefully accepted. This seems to be a common practice...offering a cheap ride down to people coming out of the Citadelle since the carriages are going back down anyway. It was a nice way to end our tour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Start your Quebec tour here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Citadelle tour set the standard for our entire Quebec sightseeing trip. It was filled with historical facts of the city and Canada itself. Plus it provided the best elevated views of the Old City and the surrounding area. Our tour guide even directed us to the best places to take pictures during the tour. Don't miss out on this gem.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This simply must be seen to understand the deep roots of Canadian history. That this site still exists is a marvel, and along with the rest of Quebec's wonderfully preserved buildings and churches, a major reason it is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Citadelle de Quebec also viewed

 

Been to La Citadelle de Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Citadelle de Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.