We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel for hobits!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“hotel for hobits!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here for carnival this past weekend. I was shocked!! my girlfriend had to get on her knees to put the key in the door knob! It was a lipstick job reno! the bathtub was child size. you had to check in next door at the next hotel. the ceiling was leaking onto my friends face in early morning, there was no one there to help you, lots of stairs to climb. it was very expensive for what we got! the location was good but thats it! I think the hilton is more for me!

Room Tip: if you really have to stay here, choose a room on the first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
18
47
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Paid US$150 ($182 with tax) per night for double, no breakfast in late September. Reception desk is in hotel next door (guests at that hotel got breakfast). Room OK, large, but old, with chipped tile in in wash basin. Common areas had peeling paint and stains in carpet. While check in was friendly/helpful, remaining encounters with staff were very disappointing. Maid was folding linen on only table in TV room in lobby, made no effort to acknowledge guests, much less ask if she could move so that they might sit down. 1970s-vintage TV in room, didn't work, staff did not respond to request to fix.
I understand that Old Town Quebec City is desirable and expensive; this hotel just prices itself $20 less than much better ones. Spend the money and keep your self-respect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is a decent budget hotel located in the heart of Old Quebec, perfect for walking around and exploring the major sights of the old city. Rooms are clean and reasonably priced. Breakfast included at a nearby restaurant and a discount for dinner at the same restaurant. Check-in desk located at the Champlain Hotel 2 doors down and the service was good. Free parking in front of the hotel from 2100 - 0900 or $21 for valet parking. Will stay there again if I visit Quebec City again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Decent hotel perfectly located for a walking tour of Old Quebec. Staff were very helpful. Steep stairs to our 2nd story room. Be prepared. Quaint steps out the window/door to a balcony with a view of Chateau Frontenac. Reasonably priced. Discount to a very good local breakfast spot.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Where to begin??? This hotel is like a ghost town, situated in front of a old jail that had, I believe, 10 hangings. I say that's it's like a ghost town because, the reception desk is not located in the jardin hotel, it is in the hotel next door, very weird! As if that wasn't strange enough, considering there is a reception area at the hotel, only it's completely sealed off, my room door, room 20, was made for someone no taller than 5ft6, perfect for me, but my son, and cousin had to bend to enter the room. My room was also the only door in between floors, it's so strange and spookie that I can't even describ it. The inside of the room was nothing special, for the amount of money I paid, I at least expected a coffee machine! I got a room with two double beds, one bed located in the back, and the other in the front of the room, separated by the washroom. Eventhough, I wasn't impressed by the rooms appearance, I did enjoy the extremely great location, as well as the lovely backyard terrace. Since my room was the entire length of the hotel, I was able to see into my room from the backyard terrace, as well as from the front. I would recommend this hotel, only if you stay in a room that does not have water pipes above your head because garuanteed if someone takes a shower at 6:30 am you will wake up, because I bloody well did! Other than the price, and noisy shower pipes, this hotel is located on a peaceful street, and can be a relaxing experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for two nights and were placed on the 4th floor. Nice room, it was small, but we didn't plan on spending too much time in the room. The back window of the room faced a courtyard, but all we saw was a white wall. I had to keep the shears closed because it was thowing my balance off to just be staring at a fuzzy white wall. The other wall in the room separated the bed from the bathroom. The wall was glass and looked directly into the shower, which was a clear shot of the toilet. I thought it was really strange to have someone laying in bed and then be able to see someone in the shower or sitting on the toilet...or vice versa-be going to the bathroom and watch your roomate sleeping...I would recommend this room (I believe 407) for a solo traveller or for a couple who doesn't mind watching their mate um...relieve themselves ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I enjoyed a two night stay at this little two-star hotel during the summer of 2012. It's important to compare the price to other hotels in the old part of the city and not to other rooms you can get for the same price in other towns. That's because hotels in this part of the city are pricey due to the fantastic location. If you can separate the apples from oranges, you will appreciate the relative value and comfort offered by Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne. You would struggle to find a more conveniently located hotel from which to explore the sights of the old city, for the same money Though you hear a few creaks and bumps from other guests entering this historic building, I appreciated the renovations that had been done to our second-floor room, which improved the space without detracting from its character. The bathroom was small, but very clean, and the shower was excellent. I enjoyed two sound nights of sleep thanks to the comfortable double bed. The ground-floor terrace out back is also an excellent spot for enjoying a beverage at the end of the day. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne

Address: 109 rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.