We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Concorde Quebec

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Concorde Quebec to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 Cours du General-de Montcalm, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4W6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Chelsea, Quebec
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel was clean and well kept (except for some black mold in the bath). However, it is old and does not appear to have been upgraded, so the bathroom (for example) lacks a fan, the room heater controls worked poorly (resulting in tropical temperatures in the room) and there are very few accessible plug outlets. The parking lot was often full, causing us to resort to valet parking (which is slow). The hotel accepts dogs so there were quite a few of those about.
One evening there was a great deal of noise outside the room as a party spilled out into the hall. The hotel dealt with this when it was reported.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    283
    147
    61
    33
See reviews for
179
258
20
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Loews is extremely well situated, within walking distance of the old city as well as behind the famous historic park Les plaines d'Abraham and on a street chock full of bars, restaurants and cafés. Everybody is extremely polite and helpful, quite extraordinarily so i would say, from the reception to the doorman to the concierge to the chambermaid and the room service personnel.Not sure how they trained them but it is working. The view from the hotel was spectacular, the bed extremely comfortable, the room large and tastefully decorated. I should say we booked their most expensive room, but the value for the price was excellent. For the same price I have stayed in hotels infinitely inferior. The restaurant is pricey but good. But you can just walk out the door and get excellent breakfast or dinner, so no need to spend the money if you don't want to.. The only caveat: the pool is outdoors, thus closed in the winter, and the work-out room not very well-equipped. Also wi-fi is ridiculously over-priced. I loved our stay in this hotel and would return in a jiffy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coomera, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hotel is in an excellent location and easily walkable to many bars, restaurants, cafes, etc. Very easy to find your way around from here & most attractions & sights could be seen by walking. The room was very comfortable (2 x double beds, top floor) & enough space even for myself, wife & 14yo son to move around in comfortably. the view from our room was magnificent, and the staff very helpful, friendly & polite. We ate brunch one morning at their revolving restaurant (disc. voucher for in-house guests) and the food was superb, as well as providing a good selection. And the views around Quebec City were amazing. Taxi's are always at the front door waiting should one be required. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel was in the perfect location. The staff were all very friendly. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable. The decor was a bit outdated - modern furniture but beige walls, beige bathroom..could use some modern decor updates.
We ate upstairs at L'Astral for breakfast one morning. The food was good although quite overpriced. We asked for tea and got red rose tea but it turned out they had Starbucks Tazo tea for the same price although the waiter never asked what we'd like. The view at the restaurant definitely made it worth the trip. WOW. Those views are incredible - make sure you go when it's nice weather though, otherwise it won't be worth your trip.
We came in the winter so the pool was closed (it is outdoors), although they do have a small hot tub indoors. Although we didn't use it, the gym facilities seem pretty up-to-date with several different machines, weights, matts...
We got a great deal off of hotwire so we can't comment on value for money (although what we paid was worth it!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Large hotel just outside Old Quebec City wall. Perfect location if you plan to stay around Old Quebec - within easy walking distance for all Old Quebec attractions. New Years celebrations take place on street outside this hotel. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Coffee shop across the street and Starbucks a few doors down. Rotating restaurant handy -enjoyed evening drinks looking out at the 360 degree view. Disappointed in their New Years Day brunch. Had booked months in advance and was seated right beside the buffet area - noisey and people bumping up against our table. Food was fair but not worth $50 a plate. Wouldn't do the buffet again, but would stay in the hotel. Clean. We checked for bedbugs and found none. Linen clean. Staff at the desk and lobby very helpful. Bar on main level off the lobby was comfortable and had great drinks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

As a previous review states, this hotel is a hidden gem within Quebec City. The staff and service are great and the price is very reasonable. Don't forget to check out the revolving restaurant on the top floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked 2 hotel rooms in Quebec City on Priceline, and were given the Loews Le Concorde Hotel for $90.00. Upon arrival we went up to our rooms, and discovered that part of both rooms had a big portion behind a wall, which turned out to be the elevator. Very noise when the elevator was working ! I called the front desk and politely asked to be changed to another room due to the noise. She said " YOU BOOKED AN ELEVATOR ROOM and if you want an upgrade it is $20 ! ". I said I did not book an elevator room, and I would not like an upgrade, I don't care the size of the room or the bed, I just don't want to be next to the elevator. After getting nowhere with her, we went to the manager, who also claimed "you booked an elevator room". After an hour of discussing this, the hotel was not budging from their claim. A hotel with proper customer service would have changed our rooms, and swallowed the $20, to keep 2 couples satisfied, and not write a negative report on trip advisor. Nowhere on Priceline nor any hotel website is there a box to tick off that says "ELEVATOR ROOM" !!!! I would advise you not to book Name Your Price 4 Star in Quebec City. This is the only hotel you will get. There are not any other 4 stars on their site. We spoke to Priceline who was very understanding and gave us a refund. We then went to the Hilton Hotel on the edgo of Old Quebec, and had a stunning room, with amazing views of the water and of Old Quebec, and dealt with extremely nice staff. I highly recommend the Hilton. Ask for a room high up, with a view. You will not be disappointed. That's the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Concorde Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Concorde Quebec

Address: 1225 Cours du General-de Montcalm, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4W6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#42 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Concorde Quebec 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec offers over 400 rooms and suites, located in the heart of beautiful Quebec city, nearby museums, activities, attractions and major events of the region. It is the ideal place for an urban getaway or a business stay in Quebec city. Its imposing structure offers a beautiful view of the majestic fleuve Saint-Laurent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Concorde Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Quebec City
Quebec City Loews
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Concorde Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.