We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Clarendon to your Saves list
Hotel Clarendon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Hotel was lovely and accomodations just as expected with the exception of the beds. Might as well have been sleeping on the floor. I've never experienced such a hard mattress in a hotel before.
Other than the fact that a tray of dirty glasses remained on the floor by the elevator for two of our three day stay, the hotel and service was great. The location couldn't have been better. Lots of restaurants and sights to see! I would highly recommend it. Quebec City is a beautiful city!

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor on the front side of the hotel and was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. More than half of the hotel’s mattresses have been changed for brand new one last spring and the remainder will be done in the next few months. I do not know which room you were in on your last stay, but we are taking your comment seriously. Don't hesitate to contact us prior to our next visit so we can make sure we offer you the best available room at the best available price.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    384
    156
    63
    31
See reviews for
198
417
40
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is a historic hotel that has character. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is excellent, with much to see within walking distance. The lounge was a nice place to end an evening and listen to live entertainment.

Room Tip: We had a superior room, located on a corner with excellent views on two sides. Quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for your good words about our staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Le Cladendon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

You couldn't ask for a better location, so close to the center of Old Quebec. Rooms are a bit small; the hotel is old but charming, and the staff very gracious. They're nicely appointed and very comfortable. A special extra was the jazz bar on Saturday night, with a wonderful female jazz vocalist. We had a nice dinner at the restaurant and a nice small wine tasting at the bar with a very accommodating bar tender while we waited for our room to be ready.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you were able to live the full Clarendon experience; your stay, our dining room and the Jazz. We have live Jazz shows every Friday and Saturday nights. Hopefully we will welcome you again soon at Le Clarendon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were very pleased when we arrived at the Clarendon. It is old and very European. The room was clean and quiet. We did not try the restaurants as we found so much in Old Quebec City. It is close to everything. The staff are very nice.

The only thing I would suggest is to wait an hour past check in at 4:00. The line was long, thankfully we were 2nd in line.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay. As you mention, it can be busy around 4pm as it is the check-in time. It is however possible to do a pre check-in earlier in the day. We can keep your luggage with the concierges. Then, once you come back later in the day, all you have to do, is to get your keys to your room, and the concierge will help you bringing your luggage up to your room. That way, it enables you to arrive earlier and your belonging is safe until the room is ready.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Wonderful location. Room was very comfortable , staff was very courteous and helpful. Dining room food was very good and reasonably priced. Internet connection a bit slow, but workable. Highly recommend as a good value and pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay at Le Clarendon, as well as our dining room. We hope to greet you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We could not ask for a better location for our trip to Quebec City. Our hotel was located in the middle of all of the action. It was a 4-5 minute walk from the Château Frontenac and all of the fantastic boutiques and restaurants. We did not even take our car out of the parking garage for 2 days. We spent our days exploring the beautiful, historic and romantic city. Although our room was quite small, it was still clean and quite charming. Also, all of the staff members were all very pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Your good words will be forwarded to our staff. They will be glad to know they were able to heighten your stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We couldn't have enjoyed this romantic and charming hotel more for our 10 year anniversary.
While it is a little 'old', that is what is so charming about it. It's central to everything you want to be around. Footsteps from the Chateau, shopping, cafes, churches etc...
One night we enjoyed the jazz music in an intimate setting in the bar. During the late morning you can hear the church bells and it is just a really surreal experience in Old QC. Highly recommend it! But certainly not for travellers on a tight budget.

Room Tip: We could hear the music from the bar in our room; so if you're looking for a QUIET night, perhap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are honoured you chose us for such an occasion. Happy anniversary and many more years of happiness to you!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#25 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#41 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#14 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#8 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#30 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#5 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clarendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.