We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious elegance of bygone days.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Clarendon to your Saves list
Hotel Clarendon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
CARROLLTON
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gracious elegance of bygone days.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Excellent location and quiet place. Old but well maintained and one of the cleanest places I have stayed lately. Free and fast wi-fi. They charge $25 for valet parking in the underground garage across the street. For $16 you can park yourself in a space of your choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning the parking, the price difference is indeed for the valet service, which is in order to save you the trouble of driving around in the one ways which can be sometimes be confusing. Our price also covers unlimited entrance and exit to the parking. It is cheaper if you self-park, but you will have to pay every time you go back in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    370
    153
    63
    29
See reviews for
191
406
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

One month ago, I made a phone reservation specifically asking for a Superior corner room with a King bed that oversees the Desjardins and St-Anne street like the one in the picture they advertise on their web site. The room was confirmed and the lady on the phone even told me all superior rooms are on the corner of every floor. When we arrived at the hotel, the clerk at reception said that the room was not available and that he could offer the 534 instead " which is at the other corner of the building". When we entered the room it was very disappointing. The room had a King bed yes but there were no windows. Instead there were two pigeons holes at 5 feet from the floor. The room had to much furniture and even though the furniture was very nice it was to bulky for the size of the room. One window was not even accessible as there was a work table in front of it . If we wanted to close the drapes we had to climb on or move the table. The only good point of the room was the quality and comfort of the bed. When discussing with the manager about the room the only compensation she offered was to write-off the parking. Very disappointing in deed.

Room Tip: Never accept outside rooms on the 5th and 6th floors as they don't have real windows only pigeon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your last stay.

I would like to explain the Superior rooms location, we do have Superior room on every floor at the corner of Des Jardins and Ste-Anne. The room that was first offered to you was indeed a corner front room (finishing by 09) on the first floor. All the other floors were, at that moment, already occupied by other guest. You asked my Front desk agent to change room because of the close location to the Live Jazz playing in our Bar. We gladly offered a King size bedroom, on the opposite corner as you mentionned.

We have 8 room types and they are spread out in different location of the Hotel. You must never hesitate to contact us to ask for another room if the "34" wasn't up to your expectation even after an other room change. We could of made you visit other rooms for you to pick your favorite one.

We are always doing all that is possible to make every stay a memorable one for all our guests.

I am sorry you were disapointed, but I invite you to contact me directly on your next stay and I will gladly make you an offer on rates and room types.

Thanks again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend trip. Hotel is in an amazing location right in the heart of Old Quebec, within walking distance to everything. We took the VIA train and the hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the train station.
No problems at all with the hotel. Room was clean and comfy, although on the smaller side (no room for a desk so was a bit tough to use laptop).
Front desk and concierge staff were very friendly and helpful. On the last day my wife wasn't feeling well, so we asked for a late checkout time. They allowed us to stay an extra couple hours with no extra charge, which was greatly appreciated. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning the desks in the rooms, the executive or superior all have one, as some of the regular ones. Make sure to ask for one next time you come stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver (Canada)
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for a conference recently. I had no issue with the service overall, staff seems friendly enough. The location is great if you are here as tourist and want to enjoy what the old town offers. This hotel fits right in with its historic and cozy decor.

However, the down side is that it lacks the amenities that modern chain hotels offer. There's no gym or pool in this hotel. With all the delicious cuisine offered around town, the only option is to running, which I guess is not a bad idea if the weather permits. Also, I was very lucky to be upgraded to a superior room, so no complaint from me. But my colleague's room was so small that there is not even a closet in the room.

Room Tip: avoid rooms 25 and 26 (e.g. 425 or 526, etc.). Rooms so small there are no closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest
We are glad that you enjoyed the service at the hotel. I understand the lack of a pool or a gym can be disappointing. However due to the age and the location the Clarendon, it is nearly impossible to have a pool. However, there are some pools close by if you were to need one. As for a gym, some plans are currently studied to see its possibilities. Moreover, it’s true that we have different room sizes; we have a wide range of different rooms at different prices in order to accommodate all our guests. It is also true that 3 of our rooms do not have a closet, but that should be remediated in a near future as we are halfway through the renovation process of our hotel. Thanks again for staying with us. We’re looking forward to have the pleasure to see you again at our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I set waiting in the lobby for over 3 hours while guests after guests arriving after me received their rooms. The people we were traveling with received their room at 10:30 in the morning. Our reservations where made at the same time over two months ago, 8-17-2013. By the way I am sitting in the lobby using their computer and still waiting. It is now 3:50PM and was just told the room is still not ready.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Our check-in time is guaranteed for 4pm. However, it is very unfortunate that you were kept waiting that long. We try our best to ask that the rooms for people arriving early are made in priority. You can contact me personally to see what we could do for making up for you when you come stay at our hotel another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanton, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We drove 4 hours from Lincoln, White Mountain New hampshire to Quebec. Our first reaction to old town Quebec was: WOW. What a charming place. Our hotel Clarendon is right at the heart of the old city. We just parked our car in front and walked in to check in. It was 1pm and our room was ready. The elevator is so small and took a while before we could get in. We booked superior two queen beds room on 5th floor and the room is roomy with two gorgeous window overlooks to a church and a few beautiful narrow streets (with cobble stones). The staffs there were so friendly and helpful. We paid $25 Canadian dollars for vallet parking which is a little stiff but I guess the way it is.
After a quick rest we walked around town. Local people are so friendly. The old town is so elegant and we fell in love with it right away. We got back to the hotel to get the car. Within 5 minutes the car arrived right in the front of the hotel. We were on our way to see the Chute Montmorency Fall. The fall didn't impress me that much. We wanted to get back to the old town to explore more.
It was a sunny afternoon with gentle wind and clear sky. The old town was full of tourists. The fall foliage was still at early stage (unlike the white mountain in new hampshire already peaked) but old town Quebec was nothing else but a gorgeous place. We had italian food for dinner and it was quite good. After dinner we walked around town a bit more, bought a littke cake and came back to our hotel to celebrate my mom 84th birthday. My mom was so happy and so were we. We had a good night sleep and were so ready to get on board on the Emerald princess the next morning. The best part was after we checked in our rooms on the ship we still have 1 1/2 day to explore Quebec more. What a treat!

Room Tip: strongly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
As I can read, you felt in love with Quebec City! For your information, Quebec city has been considered the10th best city in the world according to the magazine Condé Nast traveler! As you said we are pretty well located in the middle of Old Quebec and it is so pleasant to walk around. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service efficient. You are most welcome to come back! Happy Birthday to your mom! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel Clarendon is an old hotel with modern amenities. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is centrally located in the old city, near everything. The view from our window was great. We enjoyed walking around the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. Indeed our hotel is old but modern at the same time. Did you know that the hotel Clarendon is the oldest hotel in Canada? We are pleased to know as well that you enjoyed the location and that you spent a good time walking around. Thanks again for the reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#47 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clarendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.