We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with modern amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Clarendon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Bairnsdale
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old world charm with modern amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely old hotel. We had a superior queen-size bedroom which was spacious, had good and comfortable furnishings, as well as lots of storage space. Situated right in the centre of the old city, it was in easy walking reach of all the sights, information centre, restaurants and shopping streets. We had wi-fi access that worked well in our room as well as public areas. The meals in the dining room were very good. The costs for the accommodation and the meals were on par with what was offered in other restaurants in the area. Overall the costs and the quality of the hotel were value for money. The staff were also most helpful and welcoming, and their English language abilities were very good.

Room Tip: Choose a superior queen-size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Good day,

Indeed, our location is very hard to beat. We only hire bilingual staff because communication is the basis of all good relationships and we want to make sure that our staff can be as attentive as possible.

Thank you very much for this wonderful review and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    304
    121
    53
    24
See reviews for
145
298
29
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel may be Quebec City's oldest but it is badly in need of some updating. Many of the rooms are ridiculously small and badly furnished. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable enough. There is no business centre, and, though they do offer free wireless, I could not get online for the three days I was there. Another positive is its location; right in the heart of the old city and just a short block from the fabulous Hotel Frontenac and the lovely promenade that overlooks the river.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

We are glad that you enjoyed the benefits of our location and that you had a good night of sleep. Next time you come, it will be a pleasure for us to make you visit and discover our larger rooms.

We are sorry that you had problems with internet. Thanks to feedbacks from our customers, we have taken actions in order to improve this service. Also, for those who do not bring their computer while traveling, there is one available in the lobby for our guests.

We hope to see you back soon and thanks again for your stay

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Centrally located within the walls of the old city. Close to the chateau Frontenac, the plains of Abraham, Cartier Champlain. The food at the restaurant is excellent, although expensive. Staff was overall excellent. The room was really small with two double beds, one of which was leaning and I had to prop it with a phone book. It was hard not to hit the furniture. The carpet was not clean and was patched. The bathroom was really small, and the faucets were installed backwards. Singles or couples with full mobility may not mind such small rooms. The heating/cooling system takes a little time to figure out how to adjust and get used to.

I requested a quiet room and the hotel did oblige by giving us a room in the center of the hotel. There was a lot of construction at the front of the hotel, with the city repairing their underground parking lot.

Complaints are: we were always provided with two towels although I was paying for 3 and toiletries(like shampoo) were not replenished.

I am glad that we experienced the old city and we enjoyed the convenience of being able to walk everywhere from a central location. However next time we go back to the old city, we will stay at a more modern hotel outside the walls. It is the oldest hotel in the old city (143 years old) and some folks may enjoy that.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center of the hotel are quieter, but there is no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello,

Management and staff thank you for sending in your observations. It's always nice to have input from our guests. We do have many different room sizes due to the fact the the Clarendon is a very old hotel. I am sure that if you had called the frontdesk, it would have been a pleasure for them to send as many towls as you needed.

I'm glad to see that the staff did their best to try to accomodate you and that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope that you'll include us in your next travel plans.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, September 4 and 5. We arrived very late, after 11 pm and the front desk gentleman was very helpful and got us checked in and to our room quickly.

The room on the 6th floor, overlooked Chateau Frontenac and the Old City. The window in the room was oval shaped, which was quite unique, and framed the view. The furnishings were very nice and the bed comfy.

Very good location for visiting the city and close by to many nice restaurants. Wish we could have stayed in this beautiful city longer.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the Chateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us.

We are very well located indeed. Three minutes from the Château Frontenac, St-Jean street and the Petit Champlain district.

Once again thank you for choosing the Clarendon Hotel and all of our staff is looking forward to seeing you in the near futur.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this hotel. The room was lovely and the staff went out of their way to assist guests. Great location. Loved the comforter and wish I had asked for the brand name. I would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review about your stay at the Clarendon.

I appreciate that you took the time to share your good experience with everybody. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sincerely happy to know that you would stay with us again the next time you are in Quebec City.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. On arrival the reception area was in character for the era of the hotel when it was built. We were booked in by a pleasant young man. We asked for a quiet room away from ice machines, lifts etc. When we arrived neither of the door cards worked and right next to our room was an ice machine... We returned to the reception and were re allocated a room at the back of the hotel. Very quiet position away from major building works at the front of the hotel.The room had two queen beds and also two comfy chairs, which is a bonus in hotels these days. There was coffee/tea making facilities but the machine was desperately slow.

Negative points - The bathroom was OK. It desperately needs a coat of paint particularly around the skirting boards. They looked very grubby. The grouting in the tiles needs replacing and also the sealant around the bath. The shower was like a stand pump - the water gushed out and took an age to drain away.
The noise of the plumbing in this hotel is appalling. Toilets, showers, whining taps which seemed to be continuous from 1a.m. until 10a.m. In the morning. It is a dreadful racket. Also hearing people using toilets in the next room is not pleasant.

It is a pity as this hotel is well situated to explore Quebec City. The young men on the Concierge desk ranged from very helpful to patronising and unhelpful. The front of house seems to be run by a lot of young people with no senior member of staff apparent. There may have been somewhere in the back.

I wouldn't visit here again and I am sure there are better deals if you are prepared to walk. Sad really as we were really looking forward to our stay in Quebec. The Clarendon was not for us I am afraid.

Room Tip: There are major building works at the front of the hotel so if you need quiet would recommend one on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It will be very useful for us in order to improve.

As the oldest hotel in Canada, we always are in constant evolution. Throughout the years, we invest in the hotel and we try to modernise regularly our facilities.

There is a director or a supervisor from 8AM until 8PM. It is always a pleasure for them to listen to the guests and solve their problems. The clerks are young and dynamic, but also very responsible and do everything they can to make customers happy. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the service at your arrival.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope you will give us a second chance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just returned from a delightful trip to Quebec City, Canada.
The Clarendon Hotel in Quebec City made our trip memorable.
From the helpful check in staff,absolutely great concierge,restaurant,rooms
etc. ! Located right in the middle of the "action". Great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment.

It is always a pleasure to see that our hard work to improve the quality of our services and product is appreciated.

You will be surely more than welcome to stay with us in the future.

Thank you so much and we hope to see you back in our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#33 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clarendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.