We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a quick trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Clarendon to your Saves list
Hotel Clarendon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Great for a quick trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stopped in Quebec City over night while driving from Ontario to the Maritimes. The hotel was located in a perfect spot, walking distance to all our favourite Old Quebec spots. We stayed in the express room since we were only there for one night and it was perfect for our needs. It was small but had everything we needed, was cozy and clean and had that beautiful old world charm that you expect from an historic building. I would probably even stay in that room for an entire weekend, such a great value! I would also recommend valet parking, especially in the busy summer months. It was only about 9 dollars more than public parking and definitely worth the convenience. Can't wait to stay there again on our next trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write about our hotel.

Even though they are smaller, the hospitality rooms are confortable. It is an ideal choice for a quick stay like you did because they are very economic.

We are glad that you appreciated our hotel and our beautiful city !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    318
    132
    58
    26
See reviews for
165
339
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband, daughter and granddaughter spent two days at the Hotel Clarendon. Our experience was great. Perfect location. Clean rooms and a comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Quebec City was beautiful. I would definitely stay at the Clarendon again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this nice review about our hotel !

Indeed, we have a perfect location for a great getaway stay in Quebec city. You will surely be more than welcome to come back here again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The oldest hotel in the old city but so accomodating We stayed in 2 double beds, so comfortable it was the best sleep I had n a long time but small and more lighting is needed in the rooms... It was within walking distance to everything! Immaculate . Valet parking was a pleasant surprise, we never had to wait more than a few minutes for our car. the only time we moved our car was to visit Saint Anne which should not be missed.

The hotel staff were helpful and so friendly. They were always available for questions and helped booking tours.

I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel.

We are glad that you had a good night sleeping on our new matresses that we have change a few months ago. We are constently changing and refreshing the rooms in order to make your stay the most comfortable.

The hotel has 143 years old, this is why all the rooms are not of the same size. For your next stay, I will suggest you to reserve one of our superior rooms that are bigger and are equiped of brand new furnitures.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great place to stay, Bus stop in front of the hotel, close to everything, walking distance from Chateau Frontenac, Quebec Carnival site, close to Via Rail Train Station. Many great restaurants around it, and close to La Grande Allée where you'll get plenty of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. It is true that we are close to everything ! Next time you come, maybe you can try our restaurant Le Charles Baillargé, which is very popular for its Jazz atmosphere.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel was very clean & neat. The staff always helpful in every aspect of our trip. The hotel sits perfect close to all tourist spots. You are walking distance to everywhere in upper & lower Quebec. Many restaurants & bars close by. This is one hotel I will come back to for sure. The cost is excellent value for the service in return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Wow ! Thank you for these very nice comments about our hotel !

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff were welcoming, very pleasant and helpful, and spoke English well. The lobby and entrance are breathtaking. The air conditioning worked perfectly, the high ceilings and the plates on the doorknobs are pretty, and we had a nice view. Did not smell smoky or musty as one might expect from a hotel that old. The hotel's location is fantastic, a short walk to everything, and not far from the funicular.

Not so great stuff: the room could have been better, given the price. It was small (though having never stayed in the Old City before, it might be average (compare w/ NYC)), not much storage space for toiletries or, for that matter, the suitcases. The finish on one nightstand was peeling, the paint on the windowsill and the drapery rods were peeling pretty badly. The TV stand/dresser looked like it originally had cabinet doors which had been removed. The nightstands and TV stands matched each other, but not the room. Towels were good but not exceptional. Having a separate set of taps for the shower vs the tub was amusing. Electricity was also amusing: the main switch also controls some wall outlets, so if you're recharging something, make sure it's still charging when the switches are off.

Room Tip: The hotel is a square ring, with rooms facing outward and rooms facing inward (I didn't have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review !

The employees will be very happy to know that you noticed their customer service skills. They are working very hard to make sure that every guest has a good stay. We are glad that you also appreciated the location and the view.

You can be assured that all the comments you left about the room will be considered.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you back in our wonderful city !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The last time I stayed at a reasonably priced hotel in Vieux Quebec, it turned out to be Spartan and unimpressive. I was attending a class at a local university and this was the assigned hotel, so I stayed here but low expectations. The hotel easily surpassed them. The hotel has a real lobby behind an Art Deco interior, so the entry made a positive impression on me. Although petite, the room was recently renovated and comfortable and clean, as was the bed. The desk was tres petite as was the bathroom, but both were sufficient for my needs and neither felt Spartan. In fact, the bath featured “designer” soaps and shampoos. The hotel has a great location—across the street from City Hall on one side and Chateau Frontenac on the other, and facing Simon’s (a block away). It’s an easy walk to most of the upper city of Vieux Quebec, and not too far from some of the nice areas immediately outside the walls. But the best part was the view from my room at night; moody and historic. The only drawbacks are (1) parking; at $25 a night for valet. Seems a bit high but not atypical for other hotels in the area; and (2) proximity to food stores—bring with you because they’re quite a hike away. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for this nice and constructive review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful city.

We hope to see you again !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#35 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clarendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.