We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Quebec, in the middle of the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Clarendon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Laval, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Old Quebec, in the middle of the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great place to stay, Bus stop in front of the hotel, close to everything, walking distance from Chateau Frontenac, Quebec Carnival site, close to Via Rail Train Station. Many great restaurants around it, and close to La Grande Allée where you'll get plenty of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. It is true that we are close to everything ! Next time you come, maybe you can try our restaurant Le Charles Baillargé, which is very popular for its Jazz atmosphere.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    304
    121
    53
    24
See reviews for
145
298
29
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel was very clean & neat. The staff always helpful in every aspect of our trip. The hotel sits perfect close to all tourist spots. You are walking distance to everywhere in upper & lower Quebec. Many restaurants & bars close by. This is one hotel I will come back to for sure. The cost is excellent value for the service in return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Wow ! Thank you for these very nice comments about our hotel !

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff were welcoming, very pleasant and helpful, and spoke English well. The lobby and entrance are breathtaking. The air conditioning worked perfectly, the high ceilings and the plates on the doorknobs are pretty, and we had a nice view. Did not smell smoky or musty as one might expect from a hotel that old. The hotel's location is fantastic, a short walk to everything, and not far from the funicular.

Not so great stuff: the room could have been better, given the price. It was small (though having never stayed in the Old City before, it might be average (compare w/ NYC)), not much storage space for toiletries or, for that matter, the suitcases. The finish on one nightstand was peeling, the paint on the windowsill and the drapery rods were peeling pretty badly. The TV stand/dresser looked like it originally had cabinet doors which had been removed. The nightstands and TV stands matched each other, but not the room. Towels were good but not exceptional. Having a separate set of taps for the shower vs the tub was amusing. Electricity was also amusing: the main switch also controls some wall outlets, so if you're recharging something, make sure it's still charging when the switches are off.

Room Tip: The hotel is a square ring, with rooms facing outward and rooms facing inward (I didn't have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review !

The employees will be very happy to know that you noticed their customer service skills. They are working very hard to make sure that every guest has a good stay. We are glad that you also appreciated the location and the view.

You can be assured that all the comments you left about the room will be considered.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you back in our wonderful city !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The last time I stayed at a reasonably priced hotel in Vieux Quebec, it turned out to be Spartan and unimpressive. I was attending a class at a local university and this was the assigned hotel, so I stayed here but low expectations. The hotel easily surpassed them. The hotel has a real lobby behind an Art Deco interior, so the entry made a positive impression on me. Although petite, the room was recently renovated and comfortable and clean, as was the bed. The desk was tres petite as was the bathroom, but both were sufficient for my needs and neither felt Spartan. In fact, the bath featured “designer” soaps and shampoos. The hotel has a great location—across the street from City Hall on one side and Chateau Frontenac on the other, and facing Simon’s (a block away). It’s an easy walk to most of the upper city of Vieux Quebec, and not too far from some of the nice areas immediately outside the walls. But the best part was the view from my room at night; moody and historic. The only drawbacks are (1) parking; at $25 a night for valet. Seems a bit high but not atypical for other hotels in the area; and (2) proximity to food stores—bring with you because they’re quite a hike away. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for this nice and constructive review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful city.

We hope to see you again !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having never been to Quebec I didn't know the difference between the Old City and the New City. The Clarendon is located in the Old City which mean that everything is within walking distance. There are great restaurants, a giant park with entertainment in the band shell, artists on the street, the Funiculaire, rhe Citadel, the Parliment and great shopping in little shops. The streets have little auto traffic which makes walking easy and safe. The hotel is 143 years old and the rooms are small, but immaculate and the beds are comfy. The staff is very helpful and attentive. There is a restaurant which serves 3 meals and I had a delicious buffet breakfast there. Because of the excellent location it is a less expensive alternative to the fancy Frontenac hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice review !

Even if our hotel is the oldest one in Canada, our young but experienced employees give the best of themselves to make your stay unforgettable. We are very happy that you have enjoyed our wonderful city and we hope that you will have the chance to come back again !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We (my wife and I and two boys 12 & 10) had the opportunity to stay at the the Clarendon for Canada Day this year. The location is fantastic, walking distance to just about anything. The bellhops / valets were the best we have ever come across. They knew everything about the city and as nice as you can get.

The hotel is a beautiful old hotel and well maintained. We stayed for 3 nights and were very comfortable.

I would definitely (and have already) recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful reviews!
We really appreciate comments about the employees because they work so hard to give a good service to all guest. I will let them know for sure !
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you (and your friends) soon !
Thanks for your stay in our hotel!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My mom, me and a friend stayed here June 2013 and had a wonderful time. This hotel is the oldest in all Quebec and is located 2 minutes walking to the Chateau Frontenac. It is within walking distance to everywhere and has great restuarants nearby. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great (think hot croissants) and plentiful. I just loved this hotel. I must say in all truthfulness the rooms are small, and I mean small. But beds are comfy and great views. Try to get a view toward the back overlooking the Frontenac. I also loved sitting in the lobby because this hotel is so "old school" you want to just sit there and take it all in.

Room Tip: see my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review !
It is a pleasure to see that you had a nice stay with us and that you had enjoyed the facilities around the hotel. Next time you come, do not hesitate to ask for an upgrade in one of our large and beautiful superior room for a very small fee !
We hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#33 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clarendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.