We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, great location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Clarendon to your Saves list
Hotel Clarendon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Ranked #45 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Halifax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is located right in the old Quebec City...walkable to any main attractions. Hotel has an historical charm to it, the lobby was beautiful.

The only thing I want to address is the staff at the hotel, except a few front desk staffs were great.
The bell person didn't even see us coming in with our big luggages, it was a raining and windy day and we had to carry in the luggages ourself with two set of stairs...well, half way he finally noticed and came to help us.

This hotel must have very little housekeeping help, as we had to wait 2 hours for our room to be ready. We arrived before 3pm, the lady at front desk said the room is not ready yet and tell us to come back at 3pm. No big deal, we understand the check in is not until 3pm so we went for lunch and walk around town for a bit. We came back at around 3:00pm, room was still not ready. We sat in the lobby area with a few other guests who are waiting for their rooms. We have asked the staff to let us know when it is ready as we are just sitting there. After two hours, the front desk lady left for the day without telling the other staff that we are waiting for the room. I went up to the front desk again to check about our room, and the room was ready. We could have sit there all night and no one knows we are waiting for the room. Other guests who were waiting saw what we did and went up to the front desk as well.

Also, our room was not done everyday until 4:00pm. I think it is quite late, and we usually are back around that time to rest before dinner time. It was very inconvenient for us.

i would probably stay at other hotel if I come to Quebec City again. This place is quite pricy but for the location I guess it is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate having echoes from our guests. We offer you our sincere apologies for the less than optimal service that was given to you and rest assured we will follow up to make sure this singularity does not happen again. We strive to give the best service we can, providing a free storage room for the luggage for our guests arriving before the check-in. We fully understand that dealing with the modern day transportation is sometimes chaotic and guests coming in before 3 pm is an occurence more common depending of the season. The Clarendon House is one of the oldest hotel on the continent, and we intend to honour our glorious past. We send you our warmest salutations, and bid your farewell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    318
    133
    58
    26
See reviews for
165
340
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel was great! We visited in May 2013 - the hotel has a great location and a great staff! It's especially a great hotel for walking around Old Quebec. The rooms were a bit small, but super cute and really clean and nice. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Greetings,
It is a pleasure to read such fantastic comments, we are glad you enjoyed your time at the Clarendon Hotel. Indeed, we are very well located, right at the very heart of the fortifications of the Vieux-Quebec. Our team is working hard to make sure you have the best time possible when you stay at the Clarendon, and we are thankful for great reviews such as yours. Thank you very much, and we hope to see you back in Quebec City soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The clarendon is a lovely hotel but for the 5 nights that we have stayed here they have hired out the next floor up to school children, midnight is the earliest we have been able to go to sleep and tonight being our last night with a 4am waking I do not see us getting much sleep for our forward travel. It is akin to rats running around in the attic very noisy. I understand that May is a quiet time however for the price one pays for the rooms i would expect value for money, it is not the case here we have spent the whole time tired.

Room Tip: Find out if school excursions are going to be on as there is no point incoming here if they are
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Bonjour,
Because of it's location and history, the Clarendon Hotel is a very popular venue during for schools during spring time. The spirit of the city sometime is very often so overwhelming that fun might take a little more time to dissipate, but usually the student groups are well aware they must behave. Our team is dedicated to make your time the best time you can have and I am sure solutions can be found if we are made aware of the annoyances you may encounter. We strive to give satisfaction to our guests, and your comments are an essential part of the process. For taking the time to lets us know about your experience, we thank you.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kruisland, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We visited the Clarendon in Quebec City during our trip through Canada and the U.S.A. in the summer of 2012. Since we arrived by car it would have been nice to have a private parking, but the hotel didn't have that. There was a parking very close to the hotel though.

The location is the best thing about this hotel. The hotel is located in the center of the old town of Quebec, so you can just walk out of the hotel and start seeing the highlights that this city has to offer.

The hotel was a bit old, but very clean. The rooms had enough space and were also clean. Also the bathroom was very nice.

The staff was very helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Greetings,
The Hotel Clarendon is a proud, august establishment dating back to 1870, thus precedating the arrival of the automobile. We are located within a walled compound of a 405 years old city, with all the charms you can imagine, but with the burden of limited space, especially for parking. That is why the Hotel Clarendon offers a valet service to make your arrival a simple as possible by relieving you from the trouble of finding parking. Should you choose to find a parking by yourself, we will be able to give you advice on finding one nearby.
We are dedicated to make your stay at the Clarendon Hotel as exceptional as it should be. Our staff is striving to offer the best service for you, and we are glad you appreciated it. We hope to see you back in the oldest hotel of Quebec City.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Fabulous and friendly staff, clean rooms, beautiful location in Old Quebec! I was visiting Quebec City for the first time in May 2013, to see a band at Theatre Petit Champlain. I chose Hotel Clarendon because of the good price, the CAA discount and mostly because of the close proximity of the hotel to the theatre (and everything else in Old Quebec). I had a fantastic stay in Quebec, and I hope to return soon! When I do, I will absolutely choose Hotel Clarendon for my accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, General Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Greetings,
This is a pleasure to read and thank you very much for such beautiful comments. We work very hard to make your experience at the Clarendon a "fantastic stay", and we hope to see you back very soon as well.
We offer a good selection of options to customize your stay here and we want to be as flexible as we can be regarding the different accomodations you may require while here.
Again, thank you very much for your time, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

When I checked into the hotel, it was obvious that this hotel had a proud history. The old fashioned uniforms worn by the staff, the classic style of the check in counter (complete with guilded cage at the front desk), the softspoken but elegant service.

Parking is available across the street but I recommend the valet service (easy and fast).

The hallways seem smaller and somewhat "haunted" given that this hotel has been open continuously since 1870 (making it the oldest hotel in Canada). The elevator is wood-pannelled (and old) but this only adds to the ambiance.

The rooms themselves are a little small (especially the bathroom), but they are surprisingly quiet and very well appointed with VERY comfortable bed (and linens) and beautiful fabrics adorning the windows (curtains). Again though, small bathroom with very little counter space (a niggle of mine from other critiques that I've made). TVs and other in-room service nice and modern (in great working order).

What makes this hotel great is the location! It is in the center of town and very close to cafes, shopping and many tourist attractions. You never need to take your car out (just walk everywhere or use the local buses or eco-buses).

Lastly, I'd encourage the hotel owners to freshen up the paint (fix the outer windows which are showing terrible signs of age) and give it a once-over. This hotel is worth preserving (and is a true heritage piece).

Thanks,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Greetings!
We are proud of our heritage indeed, and honored that you take the time to give us a very thorough review. As you mentionned, the Clarendon Hotel is one of the oldest in North America and currently we are under steadfast efforts to renew the glorious facade, halls and rooms of this august monument to an era predating Benz's Motorwagen.

We are glad that you enjoyed the time spent under our roof, and we thank you for the time you took time to write about it. We sincerely hope to see you again in Quebec City.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sfax
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here recently during a business tour and loved the place so much that I have decided that I will spend my next family vacations here only. Food, accommodation and services are perfect here. Room which I got was gracefully decorated with lots of fabric and it looked beautiful. Selection of pillows, curtains, furniture’s, towels …. All was great. Overall a nice place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you very much for such greats comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the Clarendon Hotel and we look forward to have you back with us for your next family vacations! We strive to make sure we are offering more than a roof -- we want to make this stay the one you will remember.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clarendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.