We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel on a great location !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Clarendon to your Saves list
Hotel Clarendon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Kruisland, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good hotel on a great location !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We visited the Clarendon in Quebec City during our trip through Canada and the U.S.A. in the summer of 2012. Since we arrived by car it would have been nice to have a private parking, but the hotel didn't have that. There was a parking very close to the hotel though.

The location is the best thing about this hotel. The hotel is located in the center of the old town of Quebec, so you can just walk out of the hotel and start seeing the highlights that this city has to offer.

The hotel was a bit old, but very clean. The rooms had enough space and were also clean. Also the bathroom was very nice.

The staff was very helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Greetings,
The Hotel Clarendon is a proud, august establishment dating back to 1870, thus precedating the arrival of the automobile. We are located within a walled compound of a 405 years old city, with all the charms you can imagine, but with the burden of limited space, especially for parking. That is why the Hotel Clarendon offers a valet service to make your arrival a simple as possible by relieving you from the trouble of finding parking. Should you choose to find a parking by yourself, we will be able to give you advice on finding one nearby.
We are dedicated to make your stay at the Clarendon Hotel as exceptional as it should be. Our staff is striving to offer the best service for you, and we are glad you appreciated it. We hope to see you back in the oldest hotel of Quebec City.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    327
    134
    58
    27
See reviews for
166
356
32
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Fabulous and friendly staff, clean rooms, beautiful location in Old Quebec! I was visiting Quebec City for the first time in May 2013, to see a band at Theatre Petit Champlain. I chose Hotel Clarendon because of the good price, the CAA discount and mostly because of the close proximity of the hotel to the theatre (and everything else in Old Quebec). I had a fantastic stay in Quebec, and I hope to return soon! When I do, I will absolutely choose Hotel Clarendon for my accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, General Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Greetings,
This is a pleasure to read and thank you very much for such beautiful comments. We work very hard to make your experience at the Clarendon a "fantastic stay", and we hope to see you back very soon as well.
We offer a good selection of options to customize your stay here and we want to be as flexible as we can be regarding the different accomodations you may require while here.
Again, thank you very much for your time, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

When I checked into the hotel, it was obvious that this hotel had a proud history. The old fashioned uniforms worn by the staff, the classic style of the check in counter (complete with guilded cage at the front desk), the softspoken but elegant service.

Parking is available across the street but I recommend the valet service (easy and fast).

The hallways seem smaller and somewhat "haunted" given that this hotel has been open continuously since 1870 (making it the oldest hotel in Canada). The elevator is wood-pannelled (and old) but this only adds to the ambiance.

The rooms themselves are a little small (especially the bathroom), but they are surprisingly quiet and very well appointed with VERY comfortable bed (and linens) and beautiful fabrics adorning the windows (curtains). Again though, small bathroom with very little counter space (a niggle of mine from other critiques that I've made). TVs and other in-room service nice and modern (in great working order).

What makes this hotel great is the location! It is in the center of town and very close to cafes, shopping and many tourist attractions. You never need to take your car out (just walk everywhere or use the local buses or eco-buses).

Lastly, I'd encourage the hotel owners to freshen up the paint (fix the outer windows which are showing terrible signs of age) and give it a once-over. This hotel is worth preserving (and is a true heritage piece).

Thanks,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Greetings!
We are proud of our heritage indeed, and honored that you take the time to give us a very thorough review. As you mentionned, the Clarendon Hotel is one of the oldest in North America and currently we are under steadfast efforts to renew the glorious facade, halls and rooms of this august monument to an era predating Benz's Motorwagen.

We are glad that you enjoyed the time spent under our roof, and we thank you for the time you took time to write about it. We sincerely hope to see you again in Quebec City.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sfax
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here recently during a business tour and loved the place so much that I have decided that I will spend my next family vacations here only. Food, accommodation and services are perfect here. Room which I got was gracefully decorated with lots of fabric and it looked beautiful. Selection of pillows, curtains, furniture’s, towels …. All was great. Overall a nice place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you very much for such greats comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the Clarendon Hotel and we look forward to have you back with us for your next family vacations! We strive to make sure we are offering more than a roof -- we want to make this stay the one you will remember.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The ambiance was very nice, and the location was hard to beat! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our only issue was the extreme overpowering smell of air freshener and no way to open the windows.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you very much for the great comments you have posted. Indeed we are lucky to be located in such a great location, right in the heart of the OId City.
You are mentioning the smell of air freshner and the locked windows. We apologize for the inconvenience and be rest assured we will see to it. Some of the rooms have windows that can be opened, but very often in April, the windows are still closed for winter time. Wishing not to be cavalier, please make sure to stop by the desk when such annoyances are disturbing your stay. We are more than encline to provide you with the best we can provide to our guests.

Again, a very sincere thank you for you comments.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Hotel Clarendon is a wonderful older hotel with a charming personality and a lobby filled with Art Deco details and comfortable charm. It's located in the heart of Old Quebec, within walking distance to everything. We walked ALL over the city, never touching the car until we left. (We did take a taxi to see Cirque du Soleil, but it was such a nice evening we walked home via low town and up the funicular.) The room we had was small with two double beds and a large, nicely renovated bathroom. It had a beautiful little dormer window looking down at the city. Like other reviewers have mentioned, the mattresses are hard. Parking is on site, either park yourself or valet. The staff was polite, smart, charming and very helpful, even offering tips for planning our return trip. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: This is an older hotel and the rooms, although nicely renovated and very clean, are small. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you had a good time in Quebec City, very often having smart, polite and charming guests will give a good synergy for our devoted staff. The time you took to fill the review will not be lost to us, many thanks!!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a 3 night stay recently for the Red Bull Crashed Ice event.

Found it easily and someone came out to take care of the car. CAN$25 per day, with drive in /out all day. Check in was very quick. Room was a good size for the three of us ( but why do they not put 3 cups , 3 coffees etc? Why just 2?) View was lovely, looking out at the Fairmont and over to the river from the other side. And the corridors on floor 5 were VERY narrow. This is an old building which means rooms etc will not be uniform. But this also made it easier to hear noise from other rooms.

Staff very friendly and welcoming. Booked it primarily for it's location. We could walk to the event within a minute or so, and were surrounded by many restaurants, bars and shops.

The lobby was very comfortable, although we were unable to get room service one night as they had closed. Room service menu in the room said they were serving until 10pm - this was at 9.40pm - so a walk to the sign of the Golden Arches it was. And we were also unable to get a drink from the bar as a jazz evening was ongoing. No problem with that. The audience did not want 3 very cold and scruffy people interrupting their evening, but it may have been useful to have been able to get a drink from somewhere in the hotel. ( don't forget - room service was closed).

All in all, a pleasant enough stay.Staff were lovely, location is excellent, hotel has car park, which in Quebec City is a bonus.Would I stay here again? If I had a car, and it was a good price , probably. If I came on the train, no. Would try one of the little boutique hotel around the old town.

PS Try the revolving restaurant on top of the Loews hotel on the edge of downtown. Go at night and just have a drink. Takes around an hour to do the circuit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi!

This a very thorough review, thank you very much! The Crashed Ice track is indeed very close to the Clarendon Hotel, so it is very convenient for all of the spectators who want to stay within walking distance of the track.

The Clarendon Hotel is one of the oldest establishment in North America, dating back to 1870. To put it into perspective, the Motorwagen was exposed to the public only in 1885. With this in mind, we are working steadfastly to bring the Clarendon to a renewed standing. Your comments are the key to our success.

It is critical that you take time to talk to us when you encounter annoyances such as the situation with the bar. Very often there are possibilities available to make sure our guests are given the best options available. We believe that communication between you and us will guarantee you have the best experience as possible here at the Clarendon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#42 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clarendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.