We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the centre of everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Clarendon to your Saves list
Hotel Clarendon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“In the centre of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel prior to embarking on a cruise from Quebec the following day. Although the bedroom was small (boutique style) the bathroom was a good size. I would have liked a larger room if we were staying any longer but it was comfortable and had all we needed. Breakfast was good and reasonably priced. The hotel was so well located in the old town and close to restaurants and bars that it was worth staying for all its advantages. Very little traffic noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed the benefits of our location and it will be a pleasure for us to make you visit and discover our larger rooms. Personnaly, I recommand you the queen superior room which has a sofa and little lounge part. Very confortable room for a longer stay as you mentioned.
We hope to see you back soon and thanks again for your stay!!!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    399
    159
    65
    31
See reviews for
213
430
40
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

As others have said, the location is great. Close to many restaurants and shops and one block away from the Chateau. We booked a superior queen room and requested a street facing room rather than the tiny interior courtyard. Having booked a year in advance we were disappointed to have a room that literally faced a wall a few feet away. The room was tiny despite being advertised as a "large room". The bathroom was also tiny but with all the usual hotel amenities. Everything in the room is very old including the bed linens and drapes. The mattress was very worn and not comfortable. The walls were paper thin and you heard noise from your neighbors late into the evening. Positive points were the cleanliness and the staff who spoke English as well as French.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you've come up with the view request issue since a lot of guests ask to have rooms with a view. However, views are never guaranteed in our hotel. The fact that you have reserved a year in advance guarantees you the best rate and the type of room that you have reserved. In your case, all the rooms in superior class with a queen size bed are facing the interior court. When we assigned the rooms, we prioritize first the type of room reserved then the special requests. Next time, you can either reserve a regular queen (smaller room) which (some of them) have a view or a king size room, located on the corner of the hotel which gives you a panoramic view (very nice). You will be happy to learn that all the linens have been changed recently in all the rooms and that the plans of the new administration for the renovations and refurnishment of the hotel rooms are starting to take place. I hope that you will come back in the future to see how critics as you did help us to improve the quality of our product!! Thanks again so much for your stay in our hotel!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you plan to visit Old Quebec, The Clarendon couldn't be in a better location. At the top of the hill a stones throw from Chateau Frontenac. Easy walk to anywhere in Old Quebec. We stayed here two days in advance of joining our cruise ship. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is european style with small rooms that are comfortable and more than adequate for tourist accommodation. Avoid rooms on the first floor on the east side which are over the restaurant. Probably OK most of the time but we were there during a Jazz Festival and had to listen and fell the music till they quit playing at midnight. Staff apologized and said they would relocate us but the hotel was completely booked because of the Jazz Festival. They gave us a generous credit on room rate as compensation for our inconvenience. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on first floor over restaurant if they have live music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
What a wonderful review!! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others.
Effectively, each Friday and Saturday night we have groups coming in to play Jazz music at the bar. We are sorry if at the beginning of your stay you were assigned a room on the first floor. Those rooms are actually the last ones that we assign. However, when the hotel is fully booked, we do not have the choice. Giving you a credit was the least we could do since relocation was not an option. For the moment all the rooms on the first floor are not accessible since we are making renovations. Those renovations are especially to make sure that music will not be heard anymore in the rooms. Thank you so much again for you review and your stay with us!!
We hope to have you will be back with us anytime soon!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Clarendon hotel is quaint, rustic, typical of the Old Québec, but it desparately needs to be revampt! The check-in is very efficient and the hotel staff curteous.

The room we had was on the 7th floor and I believe there are only 3 rooms on that floor so it was very quiet! The amenities were what we expected, but the room lacked the Old City cachet or feeling that we had hoped to find.

There are lots of things to do places to see and restaurants to eat out at around the hotel so choices won't be limited!

Interesting note: we had booked a stay which included a visit at a musuem, only we stayed there from Sunday to Monday and the musuem was closed on Monday.. When we informed the hotel staff about this they informed us that they were not aware that the musuem would be closed... But it is every Monday!!!! Not a big deal, but dissapointed in how they mis-handled the situation.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the 7th floor, very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel!!
You are right. There are only 3 rooms on the 7th floor and those rooms have been recently renovated. Actually, since you were looking for the old and rustic charm of the hotel in the rooms, you were not assigned the right one. All the other rooms have the Old City cachet that you were looking for. As I mentioned, the rooms on the 7th floor have lost a little of this cachet since they are a little bit more modernized. You will be happy to learn that the new administration is presently investing in the ''revampt'' of the hotel. New plasma television and duvet are already set in the rooms and it is only the beginning. For the museum problem, we are really sorry. Front desk agents should know that kind of information as well as concierges and they should provide our guests with the right information. You can be sure that a follow up is going to made with them.
Thanks again for your review and your stay in our hotel!!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference from September 28 to October 5th. As many have mentioned, the location is great - walking distance to many shops, restaurants/pubs and historical sites. Approximately a 10 minute walk to the convention centre. The hotel itself is quaint and yes, it's old. But I really enjoyed the exposed woodwork and the quirks of the historical architecture/layout. Do not expect the space and layout of a modern hotel because you will not find it here. We stayed in a regular queen room and there was not a lot of extra room, but it was clean. The shower was adequate. There is no fridge in the room, which I found odd and also frustrating since we often had early mornings and wanted to have food on hand in the room. We didn't have any problem with noise as has been mentioned in other reviews. There is no pool nor gym.

The best part of this hotel, and the reason why my rating is 4/5 and not 3/5, is the staff. Everyone we encountered was extremely friendly and accomodating. Particularly the staff in the bar - we spent several "happy hours" there and the service was excellent, including very helpful recommenadtions for restaurants and night clubs.

Overall, I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the old city. Some rooms open over an interior court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for you stay in our hotel and for your comment.
As you mentioned, a lot of restaurants, boutiques and activities are walking distance from our location. You have actually stayed in the oldest hotel in Canada and the rooms are not of all the same dimensions. If you ever come back in our hotel, make sure to ask to visit 2 or 3 rooms of the same type so that you get to see that even though it it the same size of bed, the dimensions of the rooms are not necessarly equal. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your ''happy hour'' times in the bar and at the restaurant. You will surely be more than welcome to come back!!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

David, the concierge, was welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The reception staff was efficient and everyone spoke very good English. I had no trouble with the internet. The hotel is "mature" but I'm not picky. I just want a clean, safe place to sleep. The location is great as we were able to walk to restaurants, shops, and "soak up the atmosphere".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your comment! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your experience in our hotel!! Come back to see us whenever you want!!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed for three nights before we went on a cruise. Good location. Easy to walk around old Quebec. Our room just right for our needs and housekeeping kept it clean each day. The breakfasts in the restaurant were ok. One morning there had been a large tour group in and it tooka while for a table and the food to be replenished. The other mornings were fine. A good place to stay to see old Quebec.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for you review of our hotel!!
Your comments will be transmited to the restaurant so that it does not happen again.
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here!!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#29 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#6 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#27 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#41 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#4 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#14 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#33 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#43 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clarendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.