We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee de la Civilisation

Musee de la Civilisation
85 Dalhousie | (At de la Barricade), Quebec City, Quebec G1K 7A6, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
+1 418-643-2158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 119 Attractions in Quebec City
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum is characterized by its innovative and daring outlook. It defines itself as a seat of knowledge and ideas, a museum endowed with valuable collections, an education centre and a living memory. It is located in the region's capital, Quebec City, in the heart of an historic district and close to Place Royale. Schedule and Fees available on our Web Site.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

There are many interesting exhibitions. You can easily spend the whole day there. In one of them, kids can dress up as fairy tale characters and play in the fairy-tale-themed playgrounds!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    206
    61
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Fascinating Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 NEW

On a December visit to quebec we decided to spend one of the mornings there at this museum. We were pleasantly surprised to discover that we had picked the one day a month that it is free. We started our tour in the basement which had a wonderful hands on section for children where they could explore earth science as well as physical science. My husband and I enjoyed all the activities and as an elementary teacher I thought this was a great place for kids to explore their world. While we were there the museum had a great visiting exhibit on the Greek gods. There was also a wonderful exhibit on animation which was not only interactive but also provided audio guides. We happily spent about three hours here enjoying the many exhibits and the friendly help of all the staff. Quebec should be very proud of this wonderful museum.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 NEW

This is a relatively small museum with an excellent exhibit on the history of Quebec and its people.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great way to spend part of a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

We spent about 2-3 hours in this museum. There was so much to see, in spite of a portion closed due a recent fire. The exhibit, 'Masters of Olympus' on load from Berlin were fantastic to see so far from Europe.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fun though it is a musuem of VERY broad topics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

I didn't know what to expect from a museum of "Civilization" and I was thinking about ancienct Civ class that discussed Mesopotamia and natives of lands. Well, I toured the exhibits and found items mainly relating to animation and Greek gods. I enjoyed the museum and I was able to go on a free day which was even better! Staff were very polite and informative. The main exhibit with Greek art including sculptures had a lot of items and descriptions. At times, it became crowded due to reading the information, but you also have the option to get an audio player/guide.

I didn't like the gift shop as it had a lot of random gifts. Some local and some made in China- these items that did not all fit the environment; however, this museum is a good way to spend time indoors in the winter and not be bored with typical museum paintings.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de la Civilisation also viewed

 

Been to Musee de la Civilisation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee de la Civilisation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.