We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Musee de la Civilisation

Musee de la Civilisation
85 Dalhousie | (At de la Barricade), Quebec City, Quebec G1K 7A6, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
+1 418-643-2158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 119 Attractions in Quebec City
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum is characterized by its innovative and daring outlook. It defines itself as a seat of knowledge and ideas, a museum endowed with valuable collections, an education centre and a living memory. It is located in the region's capital, Quebec City, in the heart of an historic district and close to Place Royale. Schedule and Fees available on our Web Site.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Lisbon
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

For me, european, this museum was a disappointmen but the entrance was free. We had not any reasonable map or someone to explain something. Perhaps very interesting for Canadians, but for me was a waste of time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    207
    61
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were all looking forward to the exhibitions featuring the native people of Quebec and Canada in this museum, but were rather disappointed to find that it was not open when we were there. There was not any warning of this when we were getting our tickets, which was poor.

Of the remaining galleries, only one was really of interest (we didn't go to Canada from the UK to learn about Paris!), so it was a much shorter visit than anticipated.

Luckily they did give us free access to the Musée de l'Amérique francaise, which was absolutely brilliant, and I would recommend be your first stop! We were wary, not being French speakers, but it was a brilliant set of exhibitions and there were few problems with the language

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I came to the Museum of Civilization around noon and left when it closed at 5. The Exhibits, especially the main exhibit about Paris, were incredible. I don't like Video Games, but was entranced by the exhibit about the history of the games including a host of working historical games. Wow! The building is very cool and there is a nice cafe to have lunch. This is well worth the $15 entrance fee.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Exhibits!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Who says museums aren't fun? The first exhibit was actually a History of Video Games.. and of course, we stopped to play almost all of them!

The permanent exhibit on Quebec was very interesting, with many things to see.

We thoroughly enjoyed the exhibit on Paris though - the audio guide was extremely well done and we both loved it.

The cafe was a great spot for a quick bite of lunch too! Try the creme puffs!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Differents expositions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I liked this museum. They have different expositions in different rooms, so the variety is interesting.
The price is good too.
We went there around 10h30 on a Wednesday (during summer vacations) and we did the right thing because when we left, lots of families arrived and there was a big line-up at the cash.

The only minor negative point for me, is that I thought the expositions didn't really have a 'path' so the visits seemed a bit messy and for the bigger ones, it was sometimes a bit hard to remember what we saw and which way we hadn't gone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de la Civilisation also viewed

 

Been to Musee de la Civilisation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee de la Civilisation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.