We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Carnival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Great location for Carnival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We came down for Carnival and chose to have a romantic stay at the Chateau. It was a little challenging because the hotel was under construction but the staff were extremely accommodating. The amenities in the room were great, as was the pool and fitness area.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    273
    106
    54
    25
See reviews for
324
620
38
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchendon, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Chateau experience begins as you leave your car for the valet. They take care of making sure you have all you need and are very careful drivers. When you ask for your car, it is waiting for you within five minutes. The lobby is huge with lovely lights and magnificent elevators made of gold. The front desk was not particularly busy when we arrived, so we were greeted promptly. When we departed, there was a line of people checking in and there was someone at each of the computers at the front desk assisting. Our room was on the Fairmont Gold floor (12). There are 18 floors in the hotel. The 14th is reserved for Gold, as well, and there is an excellent lounge. The view from all areas of the lounge is really nice. But, the view from our room was awesome! We were in a turret. You could see the St. Lawrence River, the battle sight, and the city. So very lovely! We had two queen sized beds, a desk and chair, a sitting chair, a huge closet, a fireplace, five windows, and a lovely bathroom. The beds were so very comfortable. Hors d'oeuvres and snacks were available between 5 and 10 PM. The continental breakfast was between 7 and 11 AM. Breakfast included eggs, bacon, four different kinds of breads for toast, yogurt, different types of juices, oatmeal, sweet breads, cereals, and coffees/teas. The apple juice, made in Canada, was outstanding! Wi-Fi was free here, as well as in our room. There is a turn-down service available in the evening, and cookies are brought to your room. You can also get homemade cookies in the lounge, along with soda, juice or water. Alcoholic beverages are available at a cost. There are restaurants downstairs for 4 star dining. The lobby area has a number of high quality stores. You are close to lots of great restaurants and the funicular, which is an elevator to take you to the many, many stores in the Basse Ville, the lower city. The staff made you feel like a queen! The concierge was very helpful and had excellent maps to help us get to Ile d'Orleans and St. Anne de Beaupre, both close-by. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Top floors have the best view; tower/turret rooms are large and lovely.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel practices conservation by not changing towels unnecessarily. Beds are only made with fresh linen if requested.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimouski
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Best place to stay in Quebec City ! Mr. Mercure Team is wonderful. This hotel is unbeatable and the best I have seen so far. Try the Sunday Brunch; one of the best Worldwide. Very nice fitness facilities !



  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited Quebec City at the beginning of winter carnivale this year and this could not have been a better choice for a hotel. It truly makes you feel like you are in a castle. The room we were in was not big but it was quaint and enough for two. Our friends stayed in a slightly bigger room that is appointed different which is nice to see the variety. The location is central and is a short walk to everything even in the -15 degree weather. We spent a good deal of time at the hotel bar (it was sooo cold out!) and really appreciated fabulous food and our bartenders. When we couldn't decide what we want for drinks, all we had to do was tell them was a general description of what we liked and they went to town to make some fantastic and yummy drinks. Definite my hotel of choice next time in Quebec City, although hopefully when it's a bit warmer.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you are looking for a hotel oozing with charm, history and scenic views, this iconic hotel located in Old Quebec is it. It was refurbished about two years ago and has a fresh, clean feel to it, despite being 121 years old. It has a charming quirkiness to it in that some of the rooms are tucked away and need two separate elevators to reach, the result of additions to the orinigal building.

Note that most of the rooms are quite small but if you are a Fairmont Presidents Club member, you can be upgraded to a deluxe room, which is a very nice size with a large bathroom. Also, being a member provides you with borrowed fitness gear, meaning you won't have to pack your bulky runners.

The hotel is walking distance to the famous Petit Champlain area and all the sights of Old Quebec.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just spent two nights and three days in Old Quebec, which was very enjoyable! We try to do it at least once or twice a year, and there is plenty to do within walking distance. The choices for cafes and restaurants are almost unlimited! The bakery we went to each day was outstanding! We try to do different restaurants each time we go there, and the choices are many. Also, if you like to shop, you will have a great time! The Chateau Frontenac is massive and very impressive, with a lot of history. If you want class and luxury, the Chateau is your choice. We will continue to stay there!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for and it is a luxury resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This a big grand hotel - wonderful, tasteful; the room was updated and modern. A great city view which was both panoramic also giving us a wonderful close up view of cafes and people. Attentive and polite - while we didn't have time to take advantage of the spa and pool, we would have - they both looked great - restaurant and bar are also first class.

Room Tip: Get the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.