We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau Frontenac” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chateau Frontenac”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It is a fairy tale castle in the middle of Quebec City, it's like walking in the past century. The vastness of this hotel and the elegance and beauty of it is amazing. The city of Quebec is a history buffs dream come true. A few minutes from the hotel take a right down the stairs to the many artisan shops of blown glass, jewelry, candle shops extrodinaire. Just a beautiful place to spend a week or four.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    263
    104
    51
    25
See reviews for
308
593
36
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romeoville, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

By far the most amazing hotel I have stayed in. 5 star service from check in to check out. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in this area. Loved this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic P, Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, yesterday
Bonjour Jennifer M - Thank you so much for providing your comments regarding your stay with us in April. I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Frédéric Paré, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location...nice hotel with caring staff. Rooms are comfortable. Great beds, but room amenities are a little outdated. Bathroom amenities on the other hand were great. We were a medium size group (50) and the restaurant collapsed for breakfast ..this was the only major issue

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic P, Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Susan H - Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am thrilled that you & your family enjoyed your visit. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back very soon. Sincerely, Frédéric Paré, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A truly magical stay in one of the most beautiful hotels in the world. The service, food and amenities were outstanding. Cannot wait to stay here again!
My 11 and 13 year children thought they were in heaven!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic P, Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Susan H - I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful comments about your recent visit. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back very soon! Kind regards, Frédéric Paré, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ok, the positives - great location in heart of historic Quebec - the front desk staff very nice and welcoming - that is about it.
The downside to this iconic Chateau - it has simply lost its charm in today's world of providing a unique or memorable hotel experience. The most important was the value (price verse accommodations and services) was not at all worth the price for this hotel (Chateau). You pay for all small services (wifi, coffee).
You can receive many more services for free (or fraction of price) at more updated hotel chains in historic Quebec that are also central. The hotel room styles (while some rooms have been renovated) are too dated (old feeling, not a good redesign), the lobby and small shops make you feel like you are back living in the 1970's. Also, for the high price and the name (Chateau) you expect to walk into a castle / enchanting place and say WOW. But the truth is, the outside is beautiful and the inside fails to be memorable and actually disappoints your anticipation of grandeur. We recommend you take a tour of the Chateau during your Quebec trip but spend your money at a more stylish, services provided in price hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure your rooms are high and not facing inward looking at hotel entrance / parking spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic P, Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Jake H - Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us last January. I am disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations, but am happy that you did enjoy some aspects of your visit. Thank you again for the feedback. Sincerely, Frédéric Paré, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Two nights in Quebec City, and we decided to stay at the Chateau. It proved to be a very good choice. The location, the atmosphere, the service and the room quality left nothing to be desired. Touring the hotel was in itself a rewarding experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic P, Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear David155003 - Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your time in Québec City and at Le Château. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Frédéric Paré, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are still enjoying our stay at the beautiful Chateau Frontenac and so far we are very pleased with the accommodations, the staff, and the great on-site restaurants. I purchased the Gold option through whatahotel.com which afforded us an upgrade to a corner signature room with amazing views (#1201) and a $100 food credit we applied to a room service dinner from Le Sam's bistro. The 14th floor lounge is lovely, along with the Gold perks of gratis beverages (there is a charge for alcohol) and gratis and delicious hor d'oeuvres (5-7 PM). Breakfast is plentiful and satisfying. I probably would have rated 4.5 due to some minor issues with room temp and having to call up for an additional blanket and toilet paper. All requests were promptly and courteously responded to. Overall we are very comfortable here and loving our holiday. Usually we opt of a small boutique hotel, but we decided to stay at the Frontenac given it's iconic allure and wonderful location. Although it is huge and attracts hoards of visitors, somehow there is a sense of privacy and quiet. Also- the nearby ferry in the lower town to Levis is an added perk.

Room Tip: #1201 has stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic P, Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Sheri H - Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our Fairmont Gold category - truly a boutique hotel inside the Château Frontenac. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Frédéric Paré, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.