We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent services and perfect room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent services and perfect room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at fairmont gold. We got a host to welcome you from the front door, escort you to the 14th floor private reception to checkin and show you the private lounge where you can get breakfast and complimentary snacks and afternoon tea for the whole day with a stunning river view. Room is very suspicious with high quality furnitures and river view. Services was efficient, all the staff was really friendly and nice. Wish we stayed more than 2 nights. Would definitely come back if I visit quebec in future.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    258
    102
    49
    23
See reviews for
296
575
35
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice Fairmont and unique hotel in Quebec City with fully services provide and in the central of city, easy to walk to many places around this area
This hotel is also marks as tourist place to visit and see

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Positives: Fantastic location, exceptional service (especially Fairmont Gold), amazing bed, thoughtfulness of staff.

Negatives: Very small bathroom, noise from other guest rooms, some aspects of the hotel appeared dated while others very modern

Would highly recommend hotel, overall excellent experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at the Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac-loved it- it was great for our family vacation. The staff is very accommodating- great amenities and a beautiful bar and restuarant. Perfect location.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I first visited the Chateau Frontenac during my 6th French trip. I remember being awed by its size and grandeur. Now, so many years later, my husband and I splurged on a last minute getaway and it didn't disappoint.

(Note: we opted for the Gold Floor, since we had a great experience with the Gold Floor on the Big Island in Hawaii. This review is takes this into account.)

The Positive:
-gorgeous historic hotel, beautiful views, iconic sites within and outside the hotel.
-excellent staff on the gold floor
-great perks in the Gold lounge---breakfast, snacks, coffee/espresso, canapés in the evening
-solid room service
-good gym
-perfectly situated to walk all around town



I can't really say much negative/constructive (which is rare for me) except for:
-The hotel is finishing renovations and the less formal restaurant is not open
-the spa and shops close somewhat early at 5:30 (though it is low season currently)
-there were multiple conferences and our second morning was slightly loud with slamming doors in the rooms next to us (though that was the only room noise we heard)

Overall, and excellent hotel experience and we will be back!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We travelled here after a stay in Montreal on the Orleans Express. Very comfortable journey taking about 3hrs..costing around 190 CAD for a round ticket back to Trudeau airport.
Chateau Frontenac is very imposing hotel that hovers at the top of Old Quebec city. We booked for four nights, a double room and on arrival upgraded to a recently refurbished room 3265 river view with extra space..our immediate thought when entering the room was...the original room booked must have been extremely small. Staying in many many hotels it is one of the smallest upgraded rooms we've stayed in. However, the decor and cleanliness was excellent. The river view was from the side so we did not actually overlook fully which was a little disappointing as we could only appreciate a small view, Comfortable beds and pillows.
Excellent bathroom and good size.
There was nothing we needed or had to ask for.
Reception staff were excellent. Bar and restaurant staff seemed mostly friendly once presenting the bill. We felt food was overpriced..many restaurants around offering better prices with excellent food. We ate at 1640 opposite..excellent food and excellent staff service very consistent.
However, we loved the hotel itself and the position was perfect. There is a cable car next to the hotel which takes you down to Petit Champlain..very pretty with lots of little shops. We went to Montmorency Falls..45mins on the 800 bus..stop drops next to falls and run every 10mins..cost 3.25 CAD one way. Went to the Aquarium on the 25 bus..less than 10min walk from bus top.
Old Quebec city is lovely with lots of shops, cafes and restaurants.
We went out of season...Loved it and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Join the Fairmount Presidents Club..it's free and you get free wifi in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When traveling near Quebec City we always make a point to stay at the Château. The staff are amazing, the hotel is gorgeous and the service is the best in the industry. It warms my heart that each staff member goes above and beyond to make our stay memorable. Small things like remembering my daughter's name, to sending her a child-size bathrobe are what make this hotel a real gem. I am now, and will forever remain, a fairmont ambassador.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic P, Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Sallymurph - Many thanks for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you had yet another memorable time. We are very luck to have such an amazing Fairmont Ambassador like you. Thank you again and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Frédéric Paré, Director of Operation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.