We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING AMAZING BEAUTIFUL AND AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING AMAZING BEAUTIFUL AND AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From start to finish our stay at Chateau Frontenac was incredible. Yes, it is a little more than we would usually spend on accommodation but we decided to treat ourselves and it was more than worth it. The building is stunning and you feel like you are living in a fairy tale! The staff are top notch, nothing is ever too much trouble. We were so well looked after and it more than deserves it's status as the most photographed hotel in the world!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    221
    90
    44
    18
See reviews for
227
491
31
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ATLANTA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Everything about this place was awesome. The staff are pleasant and professional; the room was clean and comfortable; and the location is just perfect... and given that, the price is quite reasonable. I've certainly paid more for worse accommodations ;-) .

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My Husband and I had a memorable experience and stay at the Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac! The Fairmont Gold is the way to go with added extras, access to the executive lounge, and a staff dedicated to making your stay magnificent! The location is superb for access to all shopping, restaurants and sights! The welcoming and helpful staff, beautiful interior and majestic exterior exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just stayed ay the Le Chateau Frontenac for 3 nights. All in all it was a decent stay - we stayed in a Deluxe newly renovated room, which was very nice and quite large for the price. My only complaint about the room was that it was very drafty. Granted, we were there when the temperature hovered around 0 F, but I am surprised that the windows are not more insulated. They were so drafty that a small amount of snow even came into the room and onto the interior window sill.

It's definitely seemingly the place to stay in Quebec City - great location, which, given the cold temps, came in handy in order to come back to the hotel for a lot of breaks from the cold.

We weren't very impressed with the amenities - ate at Le Sam the first night where the service was incredibly slow (ended up being about a 3 hour dinner for apps and burgers). Was also quite expensive, which is to be expected when dining in a high end hotel, but seemed like more than it needed to be for some burgers and wine. Also, the website clearly states that kids under 6 eat free from the kids menu, and, alas they charged us for the child's meal.

We enjoyed using the pool (especially with a 4 year old), but the temperature of the pool was very cold - they should consider raising it a few degrees. I did have a massage in the spa which was wonderful.

Overall it was a good stay, and I would stay again especially given the price we paid for a newly renovated room, but I thought the amenities (food and pool facilities) to be somewhat underwhelming.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is flawless. The building is obviously very historic and very well maintained. However, I would have expected some "luxury" touches to the rooms. I found them very basic and quite dated in decor. Someone mentioned a renovation, but I see none of that in the guest rooms. While the overall impression of the property is that of a luxury hotel, the reality is quite different. I would stay again because of the location, and was not so much disappointed, as simply underwhelmed vs. my expectations of a "Fairmont" hotel... I was expecting much more along the lines of a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons, when in fact it is much more along the lines of a Marriott or Hilton. We only stayed one night, however, so didn't have much time to explore the hotel or dining options.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlemont
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After skiing all day and into the night at Mount Saint Anne, we came to the Fairmont a little tired. We were met with the valet which was not super helpful. Got your bags out of the car ourselves while he was helping a nicer looking car than ours. Went to check in. Front desk was not super pleasant, but she did her job. We got to our room, which was beautiful. Showered and got ready to go out to dinner. We wanted something from our car so we waited outside while the valet seem to help everyone around us, but did not even ask us if we needed help. Eventually (due to the cold) we just grabbed our keys and walked ourselves to the parking garage to grab what we needed.

The nighttime was nice. Wonderful bathroom amenities. Kind of loud in the hallway. Internet was $14 dollars a day which seems absurd. We we only there for one day so we didn't bother. Bed was super comfy, but nothing out of this world.

Dont touch the minibar stuff. Everything is on a sensor, which is written very small.

Checkout was easy. We called ahead about the car so it would be ready, so we didn't have to wait like we did the previous night. Again not super pleasant at the checkout, but we were leaving so we didnt really care.

Overall it was a comfortable stay. Not extraordinary service like I would have assumed a 5 star hotel would be. I will not be staying there the next time I am in Quebec. I am sure there are hotels around that seem to have more value.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a beautiful place to stay,felt like being on top of the world. So much to do and see within walking distance of the front door. Old Quebec city has so much charm and beauty. A horse and carriage ride a must. The hotel itself had beautiful large very clean rooms. Breakfast outstanding and staff all very helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic P, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Allymacklin,
We are delighted you had such a great stay and enjoyed the location of the Chateau. Thank you for sharing this great feedback and we hope to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Frederic Pare
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.