We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living fairy tail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Living fairy tail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just spent Christmas in a fairy tail castle in a magical city! Le Chateau Frontenac is beautiful any time of year but they pull all the stops out for the Holiday season. Constantly being updated & re-renovated keeps this beautiful hotel fresh. Spectacular views, incomparable service & extreme comfort make this our go-to, able to drive to, vacation destination. Holiday special packages available & Christmas (prix fixed) dinner a must!
Have been here twice before & intend to return again & again!

Room Tip: At least once in a lifetime, splurge on one of the "gold" rooms. Suites with additional am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    195
    80
    42
    17
See reviews for
182
427
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac during Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were fortunate to arrive a few days prior to Christmas when there was lots of snow cover and we could enjoy our sightseeing and surrounding activities (unfortunately, by Christmas Day, most of it had melted away in the rain). Our room was perfect, with a bay window overlooking the Terrasse Dufferin and park. With two teenage children in tow, we had plenty of room and used a sofa bed. The staff were always very helpful and we had no trouble speaking English with the check in and restaurant staff and porters. The restaurants, while expensive, were excellent and we enjoyed a very memorable Christmas dinner in the ballroom. Highly recommend.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went to Quebec looking for that Charles Dickens type Christmas picture and found it.
From the Fairmont to the streets of Old Quebec with everything decorated for Christmas (complete with Santa and carollers) was wonderful.
We were able to get a Fairmont Gold room for a reasonable rate which was the way to go. Free Wi-Fi with Gold (otherwise you pay), free non-alcoholic beverages in the lounge all the time, yummy free breakfast (with hot items), and free happy hour of sorts with hors d'oeuvres. Eating the hors d'oeuvres made us not as hungry for dinner later on. Which saved some money.
The hotel is beautiful with lots of good history, and service was perfect-truly wonderful say.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear michelle f,
We are thrilled you had such a great stay at the Chateau and enjoyed the Fairmont Gold amenities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Quebec City.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself the attraction. The beautiful lobby is glorious. As you walk to the back you will see the 2 restaurants. The view from our room to the city is was perfect. There were a lot of snow during the 3 days we stayed. The experience ware fantastic. The hotel staff is great and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Kelyn C,
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are thrilled you had such a great stay and we hope you will choose us again on your next visit to Quebec City.
Sincerely,
Geneviève Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Positives:
Great location.

Negatives:
Small room.
Everything cost extra: internet, parking, etc.
Entrance corridor can be extremely windy.
Heater was broken.

Bottom line:
I am happy to have stayed there once. But I will look for better value on my next trip to QC.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear LSY03,
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed the great location of the hotel within Old Quebec and we hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Quebec.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daejeon, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed 6days in a Chateau Frontnac.
I had really excellent and wonderful stay.
The restaurants and bar was very nice, and every staffs were very kind.
This hotel is located in the center of the place to see, actually this hotel is landmark itself.
It was great experience to stay in the historic building.

Room Tip: lower floor rooms has nothing to see
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear jeongheon_lee,
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the historic Chateau. We hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose the Chateau Frontenac for our 25th wedding anniversary get away. It was great! Stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms and it was great. Awesome shower and the best room service we ever had! We went in December so I am sure this is why the rates were reasonable. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear 212raquelt,
We are honored you chose to stay with us for your 25th wedding anniversary - congratulations! We are delighted you had such a memorable stay and we hope you will visit again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.